We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a mediocre setting”

Bavaria German Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: If you are looking for fresh cooked food at moderate prices or just want to enjoy a drink - BAVARIA Restaurant is the place for you ! Choose out of 50 Craft beers and taste traditional German food in relaxing atmosphere at the beer garden or inside the air conditioned restaurant. Good food and friendly service is guaranteed !
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food in a mediocre setting”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We went looking for good German food and that's what we got. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Radisson. The service was a bit rough but friendly nonetheless. The food was prepared with care but still lacked the visual quality you get in many other restaurants in Aruba.

Thank Albee0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“German food not so much.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We found this place when looking for great restaurants. Based on reviews we decided to go for dinner. First they were out of premium German beer. Then they were out of several menu items. We ordered potato pancakes for appetizer then got them they had no flavor. Then got our chicken and pork, they were both terrible. I told the owner they brought me back bratwurst which was just as bad. Skip this place..

Visited December 2013
1 Thank Autumnwhitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAruba, Manager at Bavaria German Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Knowing what one is talking about - not so much

Just some backround info for a better understanding.
-We did NOT run out of Premium German beer. We still have 10 different German beers available and will get another 30 end of this week.
-After a busy day it may happen that our fresh baked Brezel or our special of the day are finished for that night. We don't use frozen food that we can warm up quickly !
-Potato pancakes are our most sold appetizer because they are so delicious. They taste like Potato with onion, don't expect something else !
-Don't blame us that Schnitzel are breaded. Wiki says: A Schnitzel is a boneless meat, thinned with a hammer, coated with flour, beaten eggs and bread crumbs...
-One of you ordered the wrong dish and the other did not like breaded Chicken. We took back both dishes even it was not our mistake.
We prepared without extra cost the new dishes of your choice but these could not find your approval as well. Thanks for spare us with further visits !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful German food - sorry Omi. I had the Jagerschnitzel. It had a wonderfully creamy mushroom sauce and was fork-tender. The spaetzle was cooked just right, sorry again Omi. They had a nice selection of German beers as well. I would definitely go back, and I would definitely recommend this place.

Visited November 2013
Thank SunnSandChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great portions, good food!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The owner made this visit special. He came to our table and told is about the food, and shared stories about Germany. He was extremely friendly and nice.

The food was very good, but not the top in German cuisine. Perhaps if we hadn't have visited when they were out of many staple foods (one of the downsides of running a business on an island dependent on the Fatherland for supplies), I would have been able to give that 5th star. Still, don't let that dissuade you from visiting. What they did have, was good. The prices were reasonable. The decor was simple, yet mildly homie, and the music... Well, the music was German. What more can I say? Great sauerkraut. And get the potato pancakes... Serving comes with 5 and could feed a small army. Very yummy.

Parking seemed chaotic, so I'd suggest a cab.

Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Delightful German Surprise at the beach”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It may seem strange to have German food when you are vacationing on an island with plenty of fresh seafood but we were intrigued and love German food and beer so off we went! We were pleasantly surprised as the food was abundant and delicious. We have traveled many times to Germany and this food was authentic and tasty. Make sure you try the large pretzels with your German beers, yummy! We could not pass up the apple strudel with ice cream for dessert and were not disappointed by the size of the serving or the taste. Don't be put off by the shopping center location; the owner has tried hard to re-create a biergarten atmosphere with the tables, posters, shelves with beer steins and beer crates around the room. We were welcomed by the owner who stopped by our table for a chat. When in Aruba again we plan to return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Nanosecond70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavaria German Restaurant also viewed


Been to Bavaria German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing