We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in the newer section with a room facing the sunset. You need to be on a higher floor or the restaurant in the middle would block your view of the water. The one bedroom suite has two bathrooms, a large kitchen and living room and a small washer/dryer. Still looks fairly new except our bed in the couch was broken so one side of the couch sank down when you sat on it. It would be great for a family vacation. The place is mainly a timeshare but we are not owners and so just rented for 4 nights. Nice beach area and you can use the palpas with no charge(which they do at the Westin) It is the farthest one on the south end of Palm beach so a bit of a walk to anything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mplstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

After an extremely difficult year, my husband and I were in a position where we had to use an air credit on American Airlines or lose it. Our vacation fund balance was zero. My sister-in-law graciously offered us to use her time share in Aruba. Never having been to Aruba, but absolutely loving beach get-aways, we graciously accepted. She booked us at the Divi Aruba Phoenix in one of the newer units. While the trip there was extremely long (we left home at 3 a.m. and arrived around 3 p.m.), I can say that the treatment we received at the airport in Aruba was top notch. I have late stage cancer and--while I don't look handicapped--needed use of a wheelchair. The airport staff could not have been more gracious. We hopped in a cab and headed for the Phoenix ($25 standard fare).

Upon arrival, we were met by a rather long line at check-in. A steel drum was playing and they were handing out rum punch to make the wait more palatable. We were somewhat surprised when a man and his wife--obvious frequent guests--whizzed past everyone in line and brazenly cut. That was one of many instances whereby "regulars" were given obvious preference over everyone else at the resort--not a great sense of hospitality in my book.

Our room was ready and we headed up to the fourth floor in the updated Beach Tower. The room was absolutely wonderful and had a beautiful balcony view of the ocean and pool area. We had two bathrooms--one with a Jacuzzi tub--full kitchen, and cannot commend the Phoenix enough for the room. There is a store on site that sells basic necessities, and we had brought some "must haves" from home (like my tea bags). All in all, it was an extremely comfortable spot.

The resort warns patrons that palapas and chairs on the beach cannot be saved, and any area left unattended for more than two hours will be reclaimed. Total hog wash! If you do not get up at 5:30 am and claim a spot, there will be no palapa for you. Not wishing to spend our brief vacation waking up so early, we took our chances. The nice thing about the beach at the Phoenix (vs. other hotels in the high rise area), is the fact that there are numerous palm trees. As such, we were able to bring lounge chairs to a shaded area each day. The sun is VERY strong and I would not recommend sitting on a beach in Aruba all day without shade. The water was absolutely glorious! Note: if you wish to swim, enter the ocean in front of the PureOcean restaurant. The first day, we entered closer to where we were staying and found it to be rocky and full of seaweed. A few feet down on the beach, and it was all sand. There is a steep decline a few feet after you walk in--beware. Bring your own blow up rafts/floats and you will delight in the water and sun!

The Phoenix has two restaurants--PureBeach which is more casual and adjacent to the pool bar and PureOcean which appeared to be a fancier restaurant. They also have a deli area which serves sandwiches, light breakfast fare, etc. We enjoyed several Happy Hours at PureBeach (though at one point I was horrified to have a server yell at another server who was taking care of our order because a guest behind me was the "Big Guy" and should have received service first. That's the kind of treatment that surprised me...to be blatantly treated as second class is not something we are accustomed to). There was music on several occasions at PureBeach, and it was quite enjoyable. We did not have the occasion to dine at PureOcean, but the site was beautiful. We would get breakfast each morning at the deli and bring it back to the room (Warning: while the deli opens at 6 a.m., the actual breakfast food is not delivered until 7 a.m. or later--when catching an early flight home, we were not able to grab a quick snack before departure). They also serve ice cream and give a very ample serving.

As the Phoenix is at the end of the High Rise Resort area, a brief walk down the beach brought us past many other resorts. We traditionally would stop at the DePalma pier. It appeared to us that the beach at the Phoenix offered a bit more room than at the other resorts, but all looked delightful. At the end of the pier, we were fortunate to find on our first night there what is our interpretation of paradise--Bugaloe beach bar. An outdoor restaurant/bar surrounded by water on three sides, we frequented Bugaloe each day for lunch (and LOVED it! The grouper sandwich was my hubby's favorite, while I adored the warm goat cheese sandwich). Across from the pier is a pathway that leads you to the main road, and many different restaurants, stores, etc. We did not rent a car for our trip, and found most things within walking distance.

We've stayed at many Caribbean resorts, and I will say the majority of the staff at the Phoenix was warm, friendly, and helpful. The main negative was the feeling that, since we were not owners who stayed for weeks at a time, we were not entitled to the same level of service. The pools were impeccably kept and very clean. Leaving on an early flight, we checked out the night before. There was a slight discrepancy whereby we were charged $100 for beach towels, but they finally cleared that off. We were told we would just need to drop off our keys the next day and leave. I was unpleasantly surprised when I went to drop off the keys, and was kept at the desk for almost 20 minutes, told we were going to owe more money for "taxes". We did receive an additional bill of almost $50, which I will dispute (it was taking so long and we had to get to the airport, so I gave up).

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying at the Aruba Phoenix. I would like for the workers to be reminded that ALL guests are important and deserve top notch treatment and service. The rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis, but we were given clean towels each day and they were very clean upon our arrival. Everything I had read raved about the drinking water--and it was quite good! The shampoo, soap, etc. was all environmentally sound, which was a nice touch. The people of Aruba are warm and friendly, just like their island.

Room Tip: The renovated Beach Tower offers very nice rooms. The higher up the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just returned from Aruba.
Stayed at Divi Aruba Phoenix; great room (1 bedroom in the beach tower). Room 963 - the 2nd last in the building, closest to the water. Great room - 2 bathrooms, king-size bed; great views; nice & quiet in the morning. Only complaint about the room - hard, pillows.
Full kitchen was great - we visited the grocery store & stocked up on breakfast foods & drinks. Enjoyed breakfast on the balcony.
Spent most afternoons on the beach - we had no problem securing a hut - may not have been "front row" to the water every day, but we weren't interested in racing down each morning - the huts toward the back provide more shade in the mid-late afternoon. Enjoyed a couple of meals at Pure Beach restaurant; did not visit Pure Ocean restaurant.
Hotel location was great - last facility in the "high rise" area; downside - poor to non-existing lighting on the sidewalk (out front) between Divi Phoenix & next resort (Westin). Made for an uncomfortable walk home in the evening from the restaurants.
Enjoyed the stay and would visit again - maybe even bring the family!

Room Tip: We stayed in Beach Towers - 1 bedroom, room 963 - it had a great view, although room 964 would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just back from the Divi Phoenix. While the resort itself was lovely, our unit was old and disappointing. We were in the old section, in the three story outbuilding. The unit was dark and well-worn. The mattress on the pull-out couch was just plain awful. Very uncomfortable. We asked to upgrade to the new tower units, but unfortunately, no units were available. We were quite surprised to see a couple with two small dogs - the resort had made it clear that no animals were allowed.

The kids loved the pools and the local iguanas provided entertainment. The beach was very nice although all the huts were all taken by 7am. We had lunch at Pure Beach and the food was fresh and the service was terrific. The pool bar was slow - only one bartender working. The resort staff were all friendly and helpful.

Divi's location is great - walking distance to Paseo Herencia where you'll find shops and lots of dining options. Grocery stores are close by too. We were disappointed that there were no kids activities or childcare options. Should have researched that before we left. Overall, a nice vacation.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room in the new towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marciap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was a nice hotel and a perfect location.
This is the first time we have visited the Caribbean and did NOT rent a car. So glad we decided on R and R for this trip, didn't need the car.
You can walk the beach for a couple of miles and find many places to have lunch, dinner, casinos, water sports. You walk into one hotel, out the front and there is plenty more to see - restaurants, shops, etc. Like I said, Car not necessary unless you wanted to tour the island.
It lacked nothing.
We enjoyed our stay and would definately go back. The people were pleasant and very accommodating.
We took a cab from the airport. Tips: buy some liquor at the airport for your room, you'll be glad you did. Also, have the cabbie stop at the local grocery store - charge $3 for 5 minutes. I buzzed through the store in 20 minutes and got groceries ...don't forget the Amstel Bright.
Pure Beach - on premise, has a pool bar and a food menu. The food was very good but the menu is limited. We would have eaten there more often but it's alway the same stuff.
Pure Ocean, is their other restaurant. We only went there for breakfast buffet once. I would not recommend it. It was expensive and the food was awful, YUK. Needless to say, we never went back. Couldn't tell you if their lunch or dinner menus was any better.
Other than that, this was a great place and we do plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sand088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We like the divi phoenix because they are on the water and have great sunset views from the balconies. We also like the kitchenettes since we can have breakfast in the room and save some $$ for dinners out.

Only thing I don't care for is the way the time share owners "reserve " the beach huts. Every morning at 7 or 8 am they would come down and put towels and bags on the huts and then keep them for the day. We would go down at 9 or 10 and 80% or more of the huts had stuff on them but no people. The staff said there was a two hour limit for keeping your stuff there but not being there, but it was never enforced.

So yeah I guess if you can't beat 'em join 'em so bring one of those reusable shopping bags and go down as soon as they open and reserve yours right away before they are all taken!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hotel is ok. Pretty clean. Location is nice. check in average. there are better hotels in the area that are nicer. I stayed for free so I cant complain. most people are owners and very nice. beach is awesome but crowded. I would go further down the beach next time. pay a little more and go to riu or pay a little less for holiday inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian021833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,655 reviews
1.9 mi away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: £184 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing