We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family vacation with teenagers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just got back from a week (Nov 23-30) at the Marriot Aruba Surf Club and every aspect of our trip was fabulous. My husband and I took our 3 boys age 14, 16, and 22 and we all had a blast. The resort was clean and well maintained with a lot of amenities. The size of the 2 bedroom unit was large enough to accommodate all 5 of us with plenty of room. There is a gift shop in the lobby with small grocery area and the best Dulce de leche ice cream. The items in the shop are expensive as is the food at the Marriott, but that is kind of expected since it so convenient. Super Foods and Ling and Sons are grocery stores that are near by and have a wide variety of Americanized products. We spent a lot of time just relaxing by the pool, floating in the lazy river and walking on the beach. In order to get a chair by the pool you MUST be up around 6:30-7 to put your tags on chairs to claim your territory for the day and cannot leave the chairs unoccupied for more than two hours. The fitness center is great with many machines for strength training and cardio. We rented paddle boards one day and had a lot of fun on them. They were $25 an hour and you can pay extra for have lessons. I recommend the lessons because if you paddle board properly it is so much more enjoyable. We went snorkeling with Jolly Pirates, which was one of our highlights of the trip. Not just because of the beautiful fish and coral reef, but the guys on the Jolly Pirate are hilarious!! Our favorite restaurant was Madame Janette's. It was expensive, but well worth it. I would recommend this resort to anyone for an enjoyable vacation, with or without kids.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,808 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our family's 10th visit. Our children are now 5 & 7 and absolutely love Aruba. We normally visit in mid September. Our schedules didn't allow for travel at that time, so we decided on the week prior to Thanksgiving. I was worried about it being overcrowded. Though it was a bit busier than we are normally used to in September, it was not nearly as crowded as I expected.

Check in was a breeze this year. Less than 10 minutes in line. Our room, however, was not ready until almost 5pm. We're used to this, so we come prepared with swimsuits & sunscreen in carry on bags. We changed after check in, dropped our bags and hung out at the pool until our room was ready.

We were in rooms 2804/2803 2bedroom villa in the spyglass tower. Great high floor room. We hear most people don't care for this building. We actually prefer it. It's convenient to our car and walking to dinner. Seems to be quieter than the other towers. And every room above the trees is a great view. No parking lot views in this building!

This was our first time, however, dealing with non surf club guests trying to hang at our pool. One of them stole one of our towels. Another tried to steal a float, so I said something. Security kicked them out.

We had no issue getting pool chairs. I do go down at 7am and get them. But we were always front row of the pool. Likewise with Palapas. I waited in line for them 1 day. I got the free one and then purchased 2 days. All 3 days spent at the beach were front row palapas. The rental fee is nominal and worth not having to get up early or wait in line.

This was our first time venturing off to other beaches. Rent a car. Go explore. So worth it. The other beaches are so much cleaner. Water is much more clear and a more vivid azul color.

We had a great time. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

When we arrived the ac seamed warm the thermostat was set at 72 so I lowered to 70. my wife and I went to sleep waking up at 2 am very warm. So I lowered the AC again to 68 went back to sleep. The next morning it still seeemed warm so we call maintenance. They checked it out and said the AC unit needed to be replaced. It took them the whole day to remove the Ac system from the ceiling. I complained at the front desk about the lack of no Ac for two days ..They offered me 100.00 discount as credit off my bill. Went to sleep the third night woke up the middle of the night again warm in the room.We called maintenance at 2am the tech came to the room in about 15 mins and check the thermostat.After talking with this guy for 10mins I find out all the thermostats are pre set at 72 degrees and can not be adjusted with the up and down arrows that control the temp. So no matter how much you change the temp it never adjusts. The readout on the thermostat reads the set point not the temperature in the room. So people think the temp is 68 but it's still at 72 degrees. They had to reprogram the thermostat to get it to go to 68 degrees.
What a trick to play on people that are paying $300.00 per night at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyl46468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Marriott’s Aruba Surf Club. We can understand your frustration with not having reliable air conditioning in your villa and apologize for any inconvenience this caused your family. We will share your comments with our engineering leadership so they may review the situation with their team.

If you would like to speak with us further regarding your stay, please feel free to contact our Customer Care team by email at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again at Aruba Surf Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We came to the Surf Club to "check it out," we were there 5 nights and are not owners. Check in was no problem. Our room was on the 9th floor near the front of the building. It was called an ocean view but my view mainly included the roof of the Marriott Ocean Club. It was noisey on the balcony because the delivery trucks were below us and the sound echoed off the buildings. Rooms was clean and adequate. It included a microwave and a mini fridge. It was the smaller half of the two bedroom units they offer. The only problems were that there is a lot of sound between the connecting doors and their one bay window in their living room faced our balcony. That was awkward.
The nice thing about early November was that for a mega resort it was not that crowded. All four days we went to hut and asked for a palupa and received one. One was even in the 3rd row which is the free row right behind the $15.00 ones. I've read some complaints about the long walk from the hotel to the beach. I didn't think it was far at all. Of course you have to walk past the pools and around the corner... but then poof there you are.
We took one lap around the lazy river. Nice. As you'd imagaine a fair amount of kids. All the staff we encountered were pleasent. We enjoyed our stay and would consider going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice resort on a great stretch of beach. Good gym and exercise classes The catering to family is obvious

I have had enough of the blasting yelling person on a mic in activities tent and bingo blasting for 2 hours a day. Can be heard everywhere even at the so called serenity pool which is adults only. Kids in the pool still at 8 pm can be heard all throughout the resort and I just want a quiet drink on my balcony
It is a great location but not very relaxing
Food is very average

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingcanucks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Marriott’s Aruba Surf Club. Your feedback regarding the recreation activities is important to us and will be shared with the resort leadership team. It is our goal to provide a relaxing and fun environment for people of all ages and we apologize if the activities hindered your enjoyment. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have been owners at Surf Club since 2005. This year we stayed at Surf Club the week of November 17 - 24, 2013. It was awesome as it always is.
Check in: We arrived at the hotel at about 3pm. The check in line was short and it moved quickly. Prior to our arrival I had requested a high floor (11+), the check in staff told me it was not ready yet since they were just finishing cleaning and they asked us to wait about 30 min. I did so and we were taken up to our villa at about 330. Check in staff has always been friendly and willing to accomodate any requests within reason.

Villa: Villa was very clean and smelled fresh. About 10m after we entered the cleaning supervisor arrived and told us that maintenance will be up to fix two problems in the room (a broken drawer in the bathroom and new light bulbs). Maintenance arrived within 30m and fixed issues.

Restaurants: Of all the times that we stayed here we've hardly ever used the kitchen to cook. Ussualy we eat out. On Marriott property one of my favorites is The Vista at Stellaris. Great buffets for breakfast and dinners. Ruth Chris Steakhouse I think is over priced. Simply Fish is on the beach and very good. Off Marriott property, for a nice dinner, several of my favorites are: Amazonia (don't fill up with the salad bar), Tony Romas, Chalet Suisse, The Flying Fishbone in Savaneta, Smokey Joe's ( great ribs), El Gaucho. There are several fast food chains on the island, Pizza Hut, Burger King, KFC, Dominos Pizza, Wendy's...We only tried Dominos Pizza on our first night...not bad three large Pizzas was $30 US.

Supermarkets: There are several supermarkets in the hotel area. Great to stock up your refrigerator. Expect higher prices but they are much lower than at the Marketplace in Marriott. Your on an island where everything has to be shipped in and hauled off.

Pool: Always clean around the pool. Even though they give you tags for your chair we never had any problem finding available lounge chairs near the pool. On the beach yes.

Activities: Surf Club at check in provides you with a list of activities offered on property, plenty to fill your day.

Scuba Diving: I personaly like water activity: Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Fishing. Surf Club contracts with Red Sail. They have a hut on the beach in front of Ocean Club. On our first visit to Aruba I tried them and was not impressed. The staff in the hut are there to only book trips. If you ask them a technical question such as what gear they have, or how much for a specialty course, they need to always call someone. very frustrating. I went on one of their scuba diving trips and felt very rushed since they needed to get back to take the next group out. Their gear was worn but ok not too impressed.
After some research I found a great scuba shop in St Nicholas called "Jads" A great crew of instructors. Prices are very reasonable. I've been diving with them since. They have my loyalty. Its about a 40 min ride by car from Surf Club to the other end of the island...well forth it.

Touring the island: The concierge at Surf Club can arrange a variety of trips. We like to rent a car and explore the island on our on and at our own pace. The concierge will give you a map!!!

Currency Exchange: All Arubian buisnesses take US dollars and Arubian Florins. Most of major buisnesses will give you a fair exchange since their registers will properly convert, however others (taxi drivers, gas staions, out door vendors..) will round up in their favor. As of November 2013 Aruba Bank gave 1.8 Florins for a $1 US. On the street you will get between 1.2 and 1.5 Florins for $1. So for all those who need a calculator for each $100. US you will get 120 -150. Florins on the street or 180. Florins at the bank. For all frugal travelers you can visit the Aruba Bank and convert your US dollars. You will receive the best exchange rate and you won't have to deal with rounders.

Enjoy the island

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psmu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Marriot Surf Club is a great hotel if you like mega resorts. Everything clean, friendly staff. Sometimes felt like we were at a retirement home, but people were very friendly. Lazy river gets very crowded. Extremely long walks to beach from Spyglass Tower. Lots of walking, but there are golf carts if you can find them. DO NOT LOSE YOUR TOWELS are you will be charged. They are very strict about this almost to a fault. Best restaurant by far was Simply Fish on the beach. Lobster was excellent. Skip Ruth's Chris. Overpriced and lobster was so much better at Simply Fish. If you'd like an excellent and relaxing snorkel trip go to the left of the resort and book with Robertson's. They are a family from Holland and so friendly. 3 hour trip on a catamaran with about 15 people to two snorkel spots, sandwiches, fruit, open bar for $30 - $35 per person including all equipment. Definitely take a cab ($9) one way to the Super Food down the road. Excellent prices and variety. Separate liquor store with great prices. Had never been to Aruba and really enjoyed the island and the people. Would go back again, but would like to be closer to the beach.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the lazy river, stay at the ocean club. Spyglass Towers are the furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooter315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: £239 - £574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing