We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort over the New Years weekend and we were pleased with the hotel. We rented a 2br through redweek which was a timeshare. The hotel was clean, beds were comfortable. We did get the maid service once as a complimentary through the resort and once again for $23- which was basically making the beds and emptying the trash. We stayed in the compass tower which is a little further from the beach and had a garden view room ( even side is the side on the ocean club and odd side is the pool side). Our room was even and on the third level so you basically don't see much. The lazy river was worth it and we purchased a few tubes/rafts but noticed that people leave them so we did the same at the end of the stay. The beach reservation system to get a straw umbrella (palapa) has to be done before your arrival or when you get down there you have to get up early the morning of the day you want and goto the "hut" to reserve it at 7am. Believe it or not I got up at 545a and was 5th in line already. - this was annoying but I quickly realized you can just get to the beach early and don't really need one. I found a tree next to "jolly pirates" each day and parked the beach chairs there so it was fine. - I had a great view of the ocean too. Overall it was a great experience and I'd go back. The only thing is that the hotel doesn't have any restaurants so if u want Ruth Chris you have to goto the stelaris ( 2 resorts away)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We truly appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Aruba Surf Club! Your great insight will certainly be helpful to other travelers interested in coming to stay at our resort. Please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    901
    273
    120
    72
See reviews for
1,276
852
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have been owners for 9 years now and every year they take away things that we have paid for. Every time we check-in, they try to give us a room that is not on par with what we paid for. For example, this time they call this room ocean view when all I see is parking lot. To make it worst, the staff was not only unable to help, they were rude and said nobody was around to help because its Sunday. Too bad, this place all up is beautiful and the beach is gorgeous... just sad that they scheme you to buy a time share and then don't deliver on what you bought.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. As an owner, we take your feedback seriously and apologize for your disappointment with the view from your villa. Your comments regarding the service provided by the front desk will be forwarded to the appropriate managers for review. We would welcome the chance to personally respond to your concerns and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We took a week's vacation at the Surf Club on one of those Time Share "try it out" specials. That meant that we had to take a 90 minute tour in order to get the special price. It was totally worth the time of the tour out of our vacation. We did not purchase a time share, but it sure would be tempting.

The Surf Club is next door to the Ocean Club and very close walking distance to shopping, restaurants (Smokey Joes, our favorite because they are huge Red Sox fans and we ate waay too much while watching Red Sox games), and practically next door to Stellaris Casino.

Our room was clean and fresh (non smoking) and had a little kitchenette with a dining area. The hotel is near a market where we bought things to make for snacks, small meals and breakfast. The best part was the washer/dryer so that we could keep up with sandy, sweaty clothes. Our room didn't face the ocean, but if we sat on the small balcony, we had a nice view of the ocean. The gift shop sells the much-needed water tubes (although it's easy to inherit one from someone leaving). The tubes are a must for the beautiful swimming pool with a slow lazy river and waterslide. You can also sidle up to the bar at happy hour and get a Chocolate Monkey or daiquiri with the kids, or play water volleyball with other guests. The beach is just lovely, and you can walk for miles. Staff is fun, accommodating and very friendly. My daughter had her hair braided and beaded downstairs near the pool by professional hair braiders. Getting a taxi is as easy as walking to the front door. We also rented a Jeep for the day and explored the island.

We would definitely go back to the Marriott Surf Club.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lazy river are a little louder than rooms on the opposite side, but have a nicer vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a beautiful resort. It is clean and spacious. However, it is very big. There was a long walk to the beach as well as our room and it is difficult to get lounge chairs at the beach and around the pool. One has to be at the pool by 7am to get a chair. This is not for someone wanting a quiet vacation. We love Aruba, the weather and the great restaurants but I would stay at a much smaller resort next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Aruba Surf Club! As a frequent traveler to Aruba, we appreciate your positive review of our resort. We can understand how some of our villas may provide more space than you may need. On your next visit, we would suggest one of our Deluxe guest rooms that is similar to a normal sized hotel room, but still provides extra amenities only found at Marriott Vacation Club properties. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been to Aruba about 8 times in the past but this December stayed for the first time at the Marriott Surf Club for a week. We love Aruba but thoroughly enjoyed the staff and hotel accommodations at the Surf Club. The beach and pools were terrific and we felt right at home as to how friendly everyone was. For those who like to play slots/cards the Casino was right next door. We would like to go back next December for a week.

Richard J.

Room Tip: Make reservations far enough in advance to get an Ocean front or Ocean view room. Sitting on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Our dedicated team is thrilled to read your five-star review of Marriott’s Aruba Surf Club! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words for our associates. We look forward to your next visit to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We vacationed here in November and met some family there. We had a two bedroom suite with two baths, as we brought our nanny to help with the kids. The rooms were just as they looked online. Clean, we'll kept up, and the beds were very comfortable (which is very important to us on vacation).
They had a well stocked gym, grocery store in the hotel, lazy river, and waterslide that the kids loved. There was tons to do, and we had an amazing time. We did go to a local store when we got there to get some daily essentials, but it was pretty expensive. Everything was a little pricer then we had anticipated for food, but was worth it everywhere we ate the food was spectacular! Luckily our friends recommended since we had kids to pack a small suitcase of snack type foods and bring it with us.
The hotel is walking distance to a mall with movie theater, shopping, and some great restaurants and a short walk to the main downtown area. It was a perfect location.
They do provide tags to reserve lounge chairs at the pool which kinda sucked as people went down there at the crack of dawn, put there tags on and then would occasionally show up Just so tags weren't removed. Kinda annoying to be on vacation and get up early to reserve lounge chairs, but if you can't beat them you need to join them. Also cabanas at beach, you have to wait in a line an hour ahead of time to actually be able to reserve them to get a spot. Needless to say we didn't go to beach.
Overall the vacation was fantastic. We would definitely recommend this hotel and Aruba, and we will definitely be going back there. The weather was very consistent and gorgeous everyday(very windy, but kept it from feeling too hot). Five stars for this hotel it was awesome!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This resort is perfect for families and couples. It is adjacent to the Marriott Stellaris Hotel and it has a beautiful beach. The rooms are condo style and you can a have a two bedroom apartment, with a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer combo large living and dining area and two balconies. Also, the condo can have a locked off studio apartment and/or one bedroom full size apartment. The pools are beautiful, and there is a lazy river that is fabulous. In addition,, there is an adult only Serenity pool, which is quite lovely. Aruba has great restaurants and there is no limit to type of cuisine. There is something for everyone. Great spa too.

Room Tip: Request upper floor facing Oranjasted (downtown). Great beach , lazy river and distant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svtanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing