We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The section in which we stayed didn't have the best oceanview, but we were mainly outside enjoying the beach and the pool.
Our kids loved it here, and if we ever book another trip to Aruba, this resort will be one number one choice.
There is really nothing to complain about here. Service was excellent, reasonable prices although the hotel rooms were on the small side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, Chris! It's great to hear the kids loved their time at the resort and the many activities we offer. We hope you will return to see us again soon at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    882
    268
    119
    72
See reviews for
1,250
830
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice resort, beautiful view, fun, relaxing week. Good beach, good pools, good room. The middle of May was an ideal time to go as there were fewer people and almost no children. Took a fun afternoon snorkeling trip to a reef and a wreck -- clear water, beautiful fish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Congratulations on your wedding, John! We are excited you chose to spend your honeymoon at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club and thank you for your positive review. We hope you will return soon on your next vacation in Aruba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice pools and beach area. Excellent service bar and reasonable restaurant prices. Vacation Club location so limited room service, but more than adequate for a weekly stay. Only thing we didn't care for was the limited water pressure in the showers and the size rooms feel small compared to other properties.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review, Carl! It is great to hear your family had an excellent stay at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. We hope you will return to see us again soon in Aruba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time to Aruba and our first time staying at the Marriott Aruba Surf Club. This is an excellent resort with everything to offer. We traveled with 3 other couples we have known for over 30 years and everybody had a great time. The beach was a 5 minute walk from our suite and we spent a lot of time there. Our wives loved participating in the water aerobics classes everyday, while the guys hung out at swim up bar. The Lazy River is so relaxing.

The Soul Beach Music Festival had activities everyday right down the beach. We must go again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your five-star review, Tony! We are glad to hear your first time at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club was enjoyable and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilton head island
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just returned from Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. We actually traded our 1 bedroom unit in Cabo for this Marriott unit. I admit my expectations were high for this resort and I was a little disappointed.

The service was not even mediocre it was bad! They don't offer maid service without a hefty fee. I called down and asked for 2 more washcloths and was told it would be $15.00. So I sought out the laundry room (not what I want to do on vacation) and washed our towels and washcloths so I could wash my face.

I HATED the system they had in place for pool chairs and palapas and I mean HATED. They had more staff patrolling and monitoring the beach chairs than necessary. I would suggest a few more housekeepers and people cleaning up around the pools than monitoring the little red tags on the pool chairs.

The front desk and concierge was useless for any information. I wasn't sure if they were just too lazy to answer a question more than yes or no (usually no) or if they were just ignorant and didn't know what was going on around the resort or Aruba.

We were in the Spyglass building and it was at least half of a mile to the beach, I was recovering from a surgery so that was not fun. We asked for a closer option but they said "no", Also, this is a REALLY crowded beach, very loud, not much relaxing going on. It was very busy in the water so much so the water was murky, I couldn't see my feet. The color of the water was gorgeous, but there were so many boats and jet ski's coming and going it was just a little bit dirty. I will say the bar drinks were DELICIOUS!

If I want a vacation where I take a lot of family and children, and I want to wash clothes, grill and cook all of our food, get up at 5:00 to get the day started and secure us a palapa over our head then Maybe I'll go back...wait, that sounds a lot like real life NOT a vacation. huh....

Room Tip: Light house is closer to the beach, but the rooms are not renovated. Spyglass is the furthest walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bugtussle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club! We are disappointed to hear the resort did not exceed your expectations and appreciate the feedback you provided. Marriott Vacation Club resorts offer housekeeping services on an as need basis for our owners and exchange guests. We apologize if this was not advised when your reservation was made through Interval International. Your feedback on chair tagging and concierge services is also appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers. Thank you again for your TripAdvisor review and for visiting us in Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved this property. Our family of 5 had 2 adjoined rooms. It was so spacious--2 full bathrooms, living room, kitchen & laundry. Everything was clean & maintained. The resort has a some activities--we only attended the iguana feeding, which was ok. There was lots of food for only a handful of iguanas.

The only reason I give this property 4 stars is because of how you have to reserve your pool chairs. Someone from your group has to go down before 7 AM & tag the chairs then remain with the chairs until "dismissed" by security. It wasn't exactly fun getting up at 6-6:30 just to make sure we could get chairs. On top of that, if no one is using the chairs for about 2 hours, security removes your tags. This makes it difficult if you have a morning activity & can't reserve chairs at 6:30 AM. There aren't a lot of open seats available throughout the day (at least over Spring Break).

We ate at the pool bar a few times--it was good (not over the top, but good for a pool bar). We loved having our own kitchen so we usually ate breakfast and a few lunches in our room.

The pools were nice--enjoyed the adults only pool a few times, also. The kids liked the water slide, lazy river & zero entry pools.

We used the concierge often--they were VERY helpful.

Room Tip: I think the best rooms go to the owners, but our 2 rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shery211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Shery! It sounds like your family had an excellent vacation and enjoyed the many amenities the resort has to offer. We also appreciate your feedback on the chair tagging and will share your comments with our recreation managers. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our first problem was that we arrived a day late due to flight delays. We telephoned but were not able to get a response at the hotel that night, so when we appeared the next day, they had cancelled our pre-paid reservation. Thankfully, they did find a room for us.

Our reservation printout showed a king-size bed, arranged through FunJet Vacations. This place has no king size beds. There was one queen size bed and one sofa sleeper in the room. Both beds were comfortable. The problem was that there was a heavy comforter that was too warm, considering that the thermostat moved itself up three degrees at some point during the night. Maintenance came in to set it up, but then the thermostat kept setting itself back at the lower temperature during the day. It would be nice to be able to control the temperature in the room! Our room on the fourth floor of the Spyglass Tower overlooked the pool and was very quiet for sleeping.

This resort might be wonderful for a 10-year-old who enjoys floating down the lazy river. That got old fast, and I felt like I was at a crowded ocean theme park. The third day we were abruptly ordered out of the river because the tubes we brought exceeded the maxiumum size. My husband voiced his objections, and they provided us with tubes at no charge. The situation for getting a chair involved someone getting up before 7 am to put tags on chairs by the pool. Drinks in the pool could be had at 2 for $15 during happy hour.

To get a palapa on the beach you had to get up early and get in line. Our palapa was behind a sales tent and we had a nice view of beach chairs. We did not snorkel in this area because there were boats moving back and forth just outside of the designated swimming beach. It cost $15 per day to rent snorkeling gear.

The day before we were scheduled to leave, our keys quit working. At the desk we were told we were schedule to check out that day. After looking at our paperwork they extended us one day. We don't know why they had our check-out day wrong.

I would never stay at this hotel again. This place was a cross between Las Vegas (high rise hotels in the desert) and an ocean theme park. It's not my idea of a beach vacation.

On the positive side, the staff that you passed on the pathways always greeted you. I enjoyed the lady singing as she cleaned in the hotel lobby. Our room was clean and in good condition. The property seemed clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Janice! While we are happy to hear you enjoyed the villa and the associates you encountered, we apologize for not meeting your expectations when it came to water activities and check-in. We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and will share your comments with the appropriate department managers. Thank you again for staying with us in Aruba and for providing your TripAdvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing