We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf Club Was Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surf Club Was Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've read some of the reviews and i was shocked.Our room was clean,maids were there every 2 days.They start you out with 30 towels,not including beach towels which they give you 4 of.We never rented a palapa and always got one up front.Beach was busy,but being from long island,were used to alot of people being on the beach.Never heard loud music that people claimed to hear.No drunks or rowdiness seen by me after hours.If your the type of person that wants to sleep till noon and go downstairs and find a seat up front by the pool,or have a palapa in the first row,its not gonna happen.With the palapas,either rent one or wait on line to get a free one,theres only so many,so instead of complaining about the system,adhere to it.We never sat by the pool,were in aruba to use the beach,we swim in a pool in our yard at home.But the pool is 50 ft from the beach,so if the kids wanted to swim,they walked to the pool,then walked back to the beach,again its 50ft.Beachside food was never served in a basket.Its from a restaurant so its delivered in a to go container,but was fresh and delicious(fish tacos),i was expexting the usual fast food,but was shocked by the menu and freshness,very good.Our roon wasnt supposed to be ready until 4,but was ready when we arrived at Noon,4hrs early.I've never had a room ready at any resort that early.If your expecting to be waited on hand and foot by your own personal servant,like Mexico resorts,where they will do anything for a $3 tip,this isnt the place.The beds were very comfy,and i hate hotel beds,this was the best hotel bed i've ever had in my 50yrs.That said every request we made was fullfilled in a timely manner,with a smile.Its a 100 yard walk to many restaurants.We rent a car to do a food shopping.It was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the lighthouse,high number floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doublewide420 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club! We are thrilled to hear your time with us was excellent and appreciate your feedback. Our team looks forward to your next vacation in Aruba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    874
    265
    118
    70
See reviews for
1,239
817
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Marriott Surf Club is a great hotel at an amazing destination! The lazy river and multiple pools provided hours of entertainment for our family. The hotel is located on the beach as well. I recommend that you bring a suitcase with groceries if possible as that would save you a lot of money on meals.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My family had a great visit to Aruba and our accommodations were clean, comfortable and centrally located. The staff was extremely friendly and always aiming to please. The activities center did a nice job of planning fun activities to keep the kids entertained - bingo, movies, etc. There were plenty of adult activities too like Zumba, water aerobics, karaoke, and watching the World Cup games on the jumbotron on the beach or poolside. The hotel is a short walk from shopping and a multitude of restaurants. Although we used our full kitchen often, we did have dinner at some fantastic places - Simply Fish and La Vista were delicious and right next door at the Ocean Club. The beach directly in front of this hotel is a bit rocky/pebbly and the water a bit cloudy. However, just a few feet to the left (past the Hadicuri restaurant), it is so much nicer.
We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliamorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdivosr review, Elia! We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I own a week at this time share and love it. We stay there about every other year, usually in November or January. We love the pool and the beach. Our unit has always been very good.
The only big negative... There was a power failure our last visit that lasted almost a whole day. The staff tried to be helpful, but they were not prepared for it.
Between the 2 time shares and the hotel there are many good options for eating and an easy walk for more food, shopping and entertainment options.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. A pool view on a high floor offers a view of the coast all the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have noticed that Surf Club ratings dive during holiday weeks so this is my attempt to offer an explanation as to why....

First: The Marriott Surf Club is a beautiful timeshare resort with all the amenities one could need on a vacation. If you are new to the Surf Club you need to know that holiday weeks are busy and crowded. The timeshare staff do the best they can but if you are here on a holiday week it will take time to get what you want/need. If you want full-service hotel response you can book next door at the Marriott Stellaris hotel or the Ritz-Carlton.

Second: The Surf Club has a few perks that typical timeshares don't have (I know b/c we own at a few other Marriott resorts as well) such as a swim up bar/restaurant and well stocked, albeit small, market, full list of beach activities available just steps off the property, easy walking distance to shopping and great restaurants, as well as proximity to full service Marriott and Ritz.

So why do ratings take a dive on holiday weeks?! I think it is because the resort is crowded with "Surf Club regulars." We are families that LOVE to travel here in large groups. My family has been coming to Aruba for 4th of July week for 8 years now and we see the same families year after year. This year we travelled with three families and occupied 2 suites. We have a routine for tagging chairs promptly at 7am and we rotate among family members so that our chairs are tagged daily. We tag chairs near other "regulars" and the staff expect to see us in our regular places each day. I imagine that this would make it difficult for people new to the equation to figure out the inner-workings of how to get chairs or to get the service you want. As I said, if you want full-service book next door at the Stellaris or Ritz. On the other hand, if you want to be a part of an annual family tradition and get to know the people you are in the pool/activities with then book a holiday week at the Surf Club.

Room Tip: High floor anywhere on property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dacassara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice Property... Excellent activities for all ages.. from swing sets to Bars to Restaurants to ( ah!) the beach. Went July 4th week. (low season down there) Had no problem with getting a hut, a seat by the pool or a dinner reservation. There is a lazy river (for all ages) as well as an adult ( quiet) pool for those who prefer that. Everything nicely appointed from the beach to the hotel...clean and inviting. Front desk personnel was very accommodating... Had a couple of younger interns that we especially capable and professional. Lobby is nicely appointed.
The Marriott points plus program presentation ( for buying a timeshare points program) was very good with our initial sales person (Joey is excellent) , but they then tag team and send in their "closer"-- Like a ninth inning closer.(nothing but fast balls) she was very pushy this year.. Note to Marriott: Folks you will not get anyone to buy the program using this method ... Go back to your old ways of letting the program sell itself The program is excellent, it does not need to be pushed on anyone

We will be back.....

Room Tip: Every Room has its benefits....If you come in looking for something bad, you will find it... Chill o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Doug! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear your recent visit was a success. Your comments about the sales presentation are appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers at the resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed, for the third time, at the Surf Club from June 29-July 9. We are a family of four with two teen/preteen children. My only complaints from this trip were 1) the room is in dire need of a makeover/update and 2) the ice machine on the 9th floor of our tower was broken the entire time we were there. Customer service was great....especially Emmanuel! What a gem he is to the property! The food was good...I highly recommend the Sunburst Salad for a healthy lunch option. As during our previous stays here, the resort is crowded and the beach portion in front of the resort is slammed with people and water sport activities all day long. It's not a resort you want to choose for a quiet, serene environment. However, we stay here because it is family-friendly. There are plenty of poolside activities for children and the pool and lazy river are nicely sized. There is an adult-only pool but we have yet to visit that. When I peeked in during trips to the beach, it looked very peaceful. We will continue to visit this resort as our children enjoy being there. If you're going as a couple, I would probably recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing