We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy river + Marriott quality= great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lazy river + Marriott quality= great vacation!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stay at this Marriott or Rennaissance in town!
Plush Marriott Vacation Club, with great pools, spas and lazy river!
Great sunsets from the surf club and a club on the beach with loud music tilk 2am-if thats your thing.

Room Tip: Most are water view...we were ocean front for our Anniversary! 69 steps to the water !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Nothing beats a lazy river and Marriott quality! Thank you for your review Jennifer and we look forward to seeing you floating down the river again soon at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    908
    278
    120
    72
See reviews for
1,291
861
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Another great stay at this timeshare resort. Family oriented - not the place to go for romance. Suites are equipped with full kitchen incl washer/dryer. Sofabed was pretty comfortable too. Stayed in Spyglass tower - amenities were in good condition.

Resort:
1. large pool in back has a slide (monitored by staff for safety). zero-entry. tends to be very windy here due to wind tunnel from buildings. connects directly to #2
2. lazy river. highlight of the resort. bring your own float/tube, but write your name on it - they may blow away, and they all look the same. there is an automatic air inflator next to the towel hut. gets crowded, but still enjoyable!
3. large pool closer to beach. zero entry. has pool bar, volleyball net. good afternoon sun.
4. 2 very small kiddie pools (mostly were empty)
5. serenity pool for adults - small, next to beach.
6. not yet open, but they are constructing a small kiddie water spray park.
7. misc: chair tags are distributed to each guest, and required for any lounge chairs or palapas you want to use. admittedly, kind of annoying to do this, but we were always able to find seats.
8. beach is nice, but tends to be crowded @ marriott. if you want more space, go left towards other hotels.
9. multiple gas grills, easy to use.
10. small playground located on beach (towards right), with grills/picnic tables nearby.
11. both kids & adult activites scheduled throughout the week.


Food/drinks:
1. overpriced groceries @ Marketplace (1/2 gallon of milk cost $8 !!), but convenient if you don't want to have to go off property.
2. nearby grocery stores include Ling & Sons or Super Foods (cab ride is $10 each way). Can purchase alcohol @ Ling & Sons also.
3. Captain's Galley is the only surf club restaurant. located next to pool. they have waitstaff which take orders from beach. happy hr 3-6pm with 2 for $15 drinks. $15-20 price range for food like chix tenders w/ fries.
4. on the beach next to Marriott property are 2 NON-marriott restaurants - Hadicurari (seafood restaurant) and Moomba. Moomba has a full breakfast buffet incl coffee for $12 pp from 8-11a. Kids are 1/2 price or free depending on age.
5. favorite restaurant we visited on the island was Barefoot - cabride was nearly $20 each way, but totally worth it for the amazing ambiance. restaurant is on the beach, btwn Oranjestad & airport, lots of sailboats in the water. food & drinks were excellent.
6. Within a 5 min walk (follow the signs to go out the back entrance, near the Kids Club) are 2 adjacent shopping centers with many restaurants & movie theatres - Paseo Harencio & Palm Beach Plaza. (Both have websites w/ listings. Paseo has a water fountain show nightly. The Plaza isn't quite as fancy as it seems from the outside.)
7. If you walk past Paseo Harencio, there are MANY restaurants within a 15 min walk - this is along the high rise hotel road, and it is safe to walk - it is crowded with tourists walking to/from dinner at night.

Transportation:
cabs accomodate 4-5 people. if you ask, they may be willing to transport more, but may charge xtra. prices below are for Mon - Sat. $3 xtra for Sundays.

1. cabride is $25 to/from airport
2. $11 cab to downtown Oranjestad
3. $10 cab to Ling & Sons
4 Arubus is public bus, safe for tourists. $2.30 per trip, or $4 retour card. bus stop right next to parking lot next to SpyGlass towers - schedule/routes online.



ENJOY : ) !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank i-like-vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great property, great time. The weather was perfect at the start of August. It wasn't too busy. It was relatively quiet. Great poolside service at the adult pool and lots of great walks on the beach. Many restaurants walkable along the beach. The unit was huge and far bigger than I thought it would be. Lots of activities for kids.

Room Tip: Ocean view or high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ninn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thanks for sharing the love for Marriott's Aruba Surf Club! We appreciate your five-star review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was the third time we stayed at the Surf Club. It's a great location -- and always nice to have extra space when traveling with kids. We had a 2 bedroom, ocean side. Plenty of room for 3 children (ages 7, 11 and 14) and two adults. Prefer a view on the Ocean Club side (this year we had Pool Side -- which still has an ocean view, but has more noise). Only complaint is the system for tagging chairs (reserving them) and reserving palapas on the beach. It seems to me that lots of people "tag" chairs around the pool but then don't sit in them (either they go elsewhere on property or are in the fabulous lazy river and just reserving chairs in case they want to come back to them). I think the standard "if there is stuff on a chair" it is occupied. Way too hard to know if a chair simply has a tag and a towel whether it is really being occupied or not. And the convoluted palapa policy is also a bit ridiculous. No matter, we end up going to other beaches most of the time as Palm Beach is very crowded. On another note, we did call for maintenance twice about a tub faucet that broke off, creating a geyser in the master bedroom. No one came to fix it or clean up the mess. Perhaps because it was our last night in the room? There were also a few very minor issues with the room (6919) that hotel might want to attend to (door to living room balcony and door to dishwasher stick horribly). All in all, though, another fantastic time! Make sure to bring rafts/tubes for lazy river (or place your luck in finding a discarded one near elevator banks -- especially on Saturdays/Sundays which are busiest check-in/check-out days).

Room Tip: Lighthouse Tower is closest to beach. Higher floors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first trip to Marriott Surf Club and our first time to Aruba. The property is well maintained and very accommodating for families. We were in a 2BR/2BA villa and it was fantastic. Would be great if we could have cleaning service everyday, but that comes at an extra cost. The housekeeping staff came only 1 day of our trip (we were there for 8 days/7nights). The pool and lazy river is FANTASTIC for kids, along with the slide. Beach was well-maintained, but renting the palabas is a chore. The process needs to be altered and better maintained. Getting chairs by the pool needs to be enforced as well. The policy is to be there by7am to reserve your chairs, but if you are no back within 2 hours, your chair tags are removed. Well, there were chairs sitting there FOREVER and no one ever came to remove the tags. When we asked about it, the staff did not have much of an explanation. All in all, it was a great trip and we will be going back to this property again next year. We purchased a vacation investment into Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoTravel877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club! We agree, the pool is pretty fantastic for kids and adults alike! Your feedback about the chair reservation process is appreciated and will be shared with the resort leadership team as we continually look for ways to improve. Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to your next vacation in Aruba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have timeshares in Hawaii and this island compares very favorably. We found the island delightful and interesting. Bert, our DePalm Tours driver/guide was very good and informative. We would recommend the bus tour as soon as you can on arrival if this is your first time on the island.
The beaches are beautiful, but snorkeling seems somewhat limited. The best was off the Pirates boat, and the nearby beach is accessible by car. The Baby beach was beautiful, but not ideal for snorkeling.
We were in the Compass building with a room directly over the lobby on the second floor(lowest floor for rooms). We were privy to most of the noise of a lobby, mostly crying children. BUT, offsetting that was Violette's beautiful singing as she did her cleaning in the lobby. The staff says most customers enjoy her voice while she works. In fairness, there was a poor communication of our preferences when the website did not actually send them through. That very well may account for our poor room selection. We had a great view of a parking lot next door and the taxi lane. Thankfully it wasn't ugly, but we had hoped for a better view of Aruba. This was our only disappointment, and we aren't prepared to blame the staff. The staff was universally great.
The onsite 'pool park' was the highlight for our 7 year old grandson. It starts with a pool with a water slide that transitions into a lazy river. Then, to a pool with the swim up bar. Continuing on is the path to the beach and ocean. The activities for the kids are great. Take full advantage of them.
We found Lings to be a good place for groceries, but the closer Super Market is good also. The in store little cafeteria has quite good food for a very good price.
The horseback riding is not for beginners as the horses seem somewhat independent minded.
After the first three days we turned in the car and used taxis. The car was about a $100 a day and taxis are $25(per car, not person) from the airport and less for closer locales. The drivers will return to pick you up at your destination if you give them a time to be there. Our experience with the drivers was very good all around. We could do what we wanted for less than the car rental costs.
Overall, we really liked the island and especially the Marriott Surf Club. It is adjacent to the Ocean Club, and then the Casino. All the restaurants and shops are within walking distance for all to use.
Last thought, give the recommend time for customs and it will be fine. The agents responded well to courtesy from the traveler and having the needed paperwork ready for them both entering and departing. Do give at least 2 hours or more when leaving.

Room Tip: Start early to ensure they have your preferences. If asked for your preferences a second time, it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We've been coming for the passed 5 years and couldn't be happier. The staff is always on top of they're game and couldn't be friendlier. Our housekeeper Hermelinda is one of the nicest people you will ever meet and does a spectacular job. And on top of her high quality of cleaning it was nice to have conversations with her and talk about the island and other things. Anything we ever need is just a phone call away and they will accommodate. The concierge is very very helpful with anything you need reserved whether it is dinner or some type of excursion. If you're contemplating purchasing a timeshare in other resorts around the island like we did when we first bought I would suggest you go for the surf club with all of the great amenities. LAZY RIVER!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Ryan! We are happy to hear your recent stay was a success and appreciate your kind words for Hermelinda. We will share your comments with the resort leadership team so she may be recognized for her efforts. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing