We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel; Ritz-Carlton Level Service will be challenge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just back from five nights at the brand new Ritz-Carlton which opened late November 2013. Great location on Palm Beach. The positives include a nice wide beach with lots of frontage means a measure of privacy while sitting on the beach. The water is warm, shallow and gentle, with a powdery soft sand bottom once you step past the first 8 to 10 feet. Service on the beach is great as friendly servers on segway scooters zip around bringing drinks and food to your lounge chairs. Two separate pools (family and adults only) are nice but pretty standard. The lobby area is not overly opulent, but is nevertheless tasteful. Rooms are ample size and bathrooms are high finish you would expect of a Ritz-Carlton. Bed was very comfortable. TV was a good size Samsung, with HBO, ESPN and a range of other channels (but no on demand movie access). Ocean view is best view by a fair margin over others; our room was partial ocean facing north and I probably would pay the extra for the ocean view if I had it to do over. Housekeeping was provided twice daily. Nice terrace off of the room. Coffee maker in room was a brand new Nespresso maker. We were interested to try it but the coffee it made was not good, unless you like super strong espresso-like coffee. One glitch on our first night was the absence of hot water throughout the hotel for the entire evening. This was pretty surprising and we were a little disappointed that the hotel didn't make a small gesture to the guests for the inconvenience.
The hotel was pretty empty during our visit; we heard that occupancy was under 25 percent. This meant that staff had plenty of time for us and we enjoyed interacting with them. The staff was very friendly and kind, consistent with Arubians that we met everywhere on the island. I am concerned that when occupancy moves up to over 80 or 90 percent, the staff will be overmatched. Many of the staff members we met were still going through training and I think it will take a while before a level of first class service is uniform. As nice as the members of the front desk staff and concierge team are, they seemed like newbies that are not ready for the demands that will follow once the hotel has higher occupancy. The concierge was supposed to look into setting up some tennis for us but never got back to us after promising she would. It seemed as though she was not knowledgeable about tennis options. The concierge staff also did not seem familiar with some of the popular restaurants that we inquired about.
We ate at Les Crustaseus ( the upper end restaurant) and it was expensive but we enjoyed the seafood and service was attentive (albeit somewhat inexperienced).
The hotel should also consider opening a shop in the lobby where guests can grab coffee, fruit, croissants, etc. Most people don't want a sit down breakfast everyday. We asked for takeout coffee at Solana (main restaurant) after the maid had not restocked the coffee in the room and were surprised when the hostess provided it to us complimentary.

Room Tip: Consider ocean view. It is spectacular. Also, hotel is pretty wide with some rooms requiring very lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JGC844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,057 - 2,063 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Perfect setting, wonderful staff- Orlando, Helen, Erik, many more, very comfortable rooms. Lobby too sparse and bare for my taste- but spacious beach was so much nicer than the crowded areas by the other hotels-- great kayaking and paddle- boarding.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Audree10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I usually go to Aruba for the pleasantly predictable weather. Yet most cookie-cutter high-rise hotels are showing their wear. But the exceptional, newly-opened Ritz Carlton Aruba is, or course, tres luxe, and a great cut above the others. Magnificent accommodations, exceptional decor. What surprised me most, however, were the on-site restaurants. Most Arubian eateries are middling, with rare notable exceptions. Yet the Ritz's Les Crusteces was spectacular. Decor was fresh and contemporary, with earth tones enhanced by black and orange. This is an international seafood restaurant with decided French overtones, thanks to French chef Gilles. Freshly-caught fare, including whole fish caught that day in nearby waters, shellfish, and Maine lobsters flown in by the Ritz jet, were displayed in an artful ice display. Presentation and eye-appeal were essential here. After a tasteful amuse-bouche of tiny crustaceans and vegetables, we were treated to a perfectly-reduced Maine lobster bisque and a mouth-watering wahoo ceviche. Most impressive, however, was the salt-crusted silver snapper, sealed in its own juices. The fish was deboned at table side; and to say that it was the most tender, delectable seafood I've ever eaten would do it an injustice. Dinner was topped off by a mouth-watering molten chocolate cake, with warm lava ganache.
This was the best meal I've ever eaten in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Aruba and boy was we wowwwwwed!! From the minute we stepped out of our cab William the bell boy received us with a smile took out luggage and placed it on a luggage cart while we checked in, as we checked in he went and got us a "welcome drink" which was awesome. When he delivered our bags to the room he told us about things we can do and also good restaurants to eat in and man did he do a good job. The Hotel was spotless the pool amazing the beach gorgeous and overall the weather unreal!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GEO3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Ritz for 5 days at the beginning of December 2013. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are incredibly well appointed. Each room has a beautiful balcony, super comfortable bed, and a gorgeous bathroom. The pool are was very well designed. It was never a problem to get a spot by the beach or the pool. The food at Madero (pool/beach bar) was awesome.

That said, the hotel is still working out some "new hotel" issues. One evening there was an emergency update that needed to be completed and we did not have running water for a whole night. Another afternoon they were testing the fire alarm system for two hours. The shops are not yet occupied and the sundries boutique is not yet very well appointed. Each morning we went next door to the Marriott to get breakfast from there take away shop in the lobby - we just didn't want a big heavy breakfast before sitting on the beach all day. I would imagine that the plan if for the ritz to eventually have a shop like this as well. Takes a bit longer than other hotels on the island to get a taxi - seemed like taxis were never waiting on hand. I imagine this will change as the resort has a higher occupancy and the drivers think it makes sense to wait there.

The service was spotty. Half the employees were amazing and the other half need some work considering they are working at the ritz. Antoine and Stefano from the beach and Nilo from Madero were absolutely amazing. They made sure each of our needs were taken care of each and every day. We cringed when these gentlemen were off as not all of the others were as friendly or tentative. The housekeeping services were done very well. Alisha (concierge) was very helpful and gave great suggestions. Her back up was not as good and forgot to make one of our dinner reservations - I needed to keep following up. William at the door always greeted us with a smile. In general, everything was very good, just hope that some of the standouts named above rub off on some of their colleagues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I made our first visit to Aruba right after Thanksgiving. Like so many others, we were impressed by the kind, helpful people, overall positive living conditions, and sunny climate. However, this is meant to be a review of the new Ritz Carlton hotel and not of the nation as a whole! Just a few weeks after its "soft" opening, the hotel presented a pleasant and serene façade with warm and professional staff. Like a majestic swan whose feet are rapidly paddling under the surface, the Ritz team is very busy completing the finishing touches on the hotel, but not at the expense of current guests. The occasional minor glitches (uneven service, loud drilling early in the morning, overly perfumed lobby) will no doubt disappear very shortly. During our stay we visited several other hotels in the high rise area, and while all seemed nice, the design of the Ritz Carlton takes the best advantage of its seaside location, with an expansive open lobby with a central bar overlooking the pool and oceanfront. We look forward to going back to the Ritz Carlton next year and having an even better time!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth it, though we wondered if those on lower floors might be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I are on our 20 plus plus visit to Aruba,have had several bad experiences with taxi drivers this trip first time EVER,which certainly cast a bit of a bad feeling for us on this beloved island. However,last night we visited the Ritz Carlton for the first time after watching its progress for several years we went for cocktails for our wedding anniversary,and Bonnie and Jarris at the bar made us feel very welcome,the view was spectacular,and the hotel is just beautiful. Very impressed by the treatment that we received,even as "non hotel" guests. On the way out after a wonderful experience we encountered yet another rude taxi driver,and HATS off to the young lady (from Holland,should have gotten her name but failed to)who stepped forward immediately and handled the situation with ease and grace. This woman is a definite asset to the organization,and we were quite impressed with her intervention and kind assurance that she could handle the situation and she did,allowing us to continue the evening with our anniversary plans. It was about 8pm,or just before,on Monday the 9 December,and we will follow up with a letter,but this young woman was so competent and smooth,we just wanted management to know immediately that they are lucky to have her!
Beautiful property,best of luck.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annemarie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,700 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,715 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba

Address: LG Smith Boulevard, 107, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: £371 - £1,507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba's 320 stylish guestrooms, including 55 suites, all boast private balconies with sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea and design elements that blends the island's relaxed aesthetic with incomparable Ritz-Carlton character. Two Ritz-Carlton suites deliver panoramic oceanfront views with outdoor showers, while the expansive Club Lounge sits atop the building on the seventh floor with 34 rooms and an endless array of cuisine, beverages and personal service throughout the day to a backdrop of Aruba's extraordinary seascape framed by floor to ceiling glass windows. For an unrivalled retreat of relaxation and pampering, The Ritz-Carlton Spa will be the largest on the island revealing a 15,000 square foot tranquil oasis complemented by 13 intimate treatment rooms, salon, boutique and a variety of naturally-influenced indigenous services. Signature island-inspired treatments incorporate the natural elements of Sky, Water, Earth and Fire, infused with locally grown ingredients native to the island of aloe, coconut and cactus, all enhanced by the healing components of herbs and rich earth minerals. The hotel's culinary offerings display a selection of four savory fine dining experiences that reflect Aruba's oceanfront backdrop coupled with authentic dishes and rich flavors. Madero Argentinian Grill features an assortment of specialty cocktails, light bites and poolside seating overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Solanio offers an all-day trattoria with outdoor terrace seating or dramatic open-air kitchen views, Les Crustaces pays homage to impeccably prepared seafood in a fine dining setting, while hand-crafted cocktails and flavorful small bites are presented at Divi Bar & Lounge, the resort's lobby lounge bar named for Aruba's wind swept Divi Divi trees unique to Oranjestad and the island. The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba introduces exceptional meeting, corporate retreat, and special event space with a selection of indoor and outdoor venues, including a 7,500 square foot ballroom divisible into three salons, three meeting rooms and a selection of outdoor locations, including poolside decks, manicured lawns and a beachside reception area. The beach resort also features a 24-hour 15,000 square foot vibrant casino in an island paradise paired with an assortment of casino games ranging from traditional table favorites to over 300 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing