We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffam's Tropical Haven
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive way to visit a new island and at the same time feel at home because originally I was going solo and most places charge an outrageous price for just one person. A friend recommended Buffam's Tropical Haven, she had already been there twice and was headed for her third visit, had nothing but great things to say. I had surgery and decided to bring my daughter along, Sherrie was so accommodating with changing my original arrangements a month prior to our arrival. We read a bad review before we left and didn't know what to expect. Please don't believe a word of that review, we had the best time and felt right at home, included even when Sherrie and Rick had island friends visit their home. They were knowledgeable about the island and gave us many helpful hints. Breakfast served as two meals, we weren't even hungry until mid afternoon. I can't say enough for this B & B and will return, that is if they have space available, they have many happy returning customers, we had the pleasure of meeting them too.

Room Tip: Sherrie and Rick have 4 units, we viewed all of them and stayed in 2 of them......I would say whiche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAD1955MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Is not Bed or Breakfast. The pillowcases smell like sweat. The coffee seems like the wash from the coffee machine. People were rude. First day breakfast was an egg sandwich, very bad, and the next day were two pancakes, an inch thick, not cook in the middle. Maybe i am used to the Bed and Breakfast at US, but this was too short of any thing. Very dissapointed. Many people that stay there write great reviews because they are their friends from Massachussets, the reality is very different. After the second day there we only used the facilities to sleep, they asked us to keep the ac off, the lights off, the Wi Fi did not work the entire stay, they asked us in a very vulgar way to keep quiet because someone was sleeping until 9:30 am. I went to relax not to be worried about their utilities.

Room Tip: Do not stay there if you want to enjoy your vacation. The owners apologized for being rude by buyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colombiana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Staying with Rick and Sherrie have allowed us to truly experience Aruba, which would not have been possible in the hotel districts. The accomodations are clean and very well-appointed...ours had a large bathroom and a kitchen that allowed us to prepare meals when we did not feel like a restaurant. The grounds are absolutely stunning...complete with tropical plants of every kind, a rarity in the area given the arid climate. Rick is attentive and listens to guests' interests and helped steer us to activities that suited us perfectly (and with perfect directions on an island with no street signs, mind you). We rented a car, a must in my opinion, but it allowed us complete flexibility to cover the entire island at our own pace. And the breakfasts were a real treat each morning...Sherrie makes special recipes each day, and if you are lucky, the meal will include samplings of fresh fruit growing on the property. We can't say enough good things and will be coming back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We loved the apartment with the kitchenette that is adjacent to the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clair37742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We rented three of the four suites at Tropical Haven, so we had the place mostly to ourselves and it truly felt like a home away from home. None of us were interested in the nightlife scene, the casinos, or the downtown action, so it was an ideal spot from us as it is located in a quiet neighborhood. The next door dogs and roosters provided wake up calls, so we didn't need to set an alarm clock once. We rented a car for the five of us and were able to get wherever we wanted quite easily. It was just a few minutes to drive to the beach, the butterfly farm, the restaurants, and shops. Rick and Sherrie were absolutely wonderful, friendly, and attentive. They even had a cold Diet Coke waiting in the refrigerator! We plan to go back next year!!

Room Tip: Room 266 opened directly onto the pool patio, which made it very convenient to swim every few hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyawilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

First let us start by saying to Sherrie & Rick you made our brief stay the highlight of our 18 day stay in Aruba. We are giving fellow travelers a hint if you book Saturday to Saturday take few extra days in front or in back of your week and stay at Buffan's you will not be disappointed. You will save money on air fare give you extra time on One Happy Island.

Room Tip: Buffan's location is not a problem if you rent a car it works for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArubaSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Sherrie and Rick are the best. Place is cozy and quaint. Clean. Breakfasts "Chefs" choice is great. Best Coffee!!!! It definantly is a home away from home!!! They Welcome you when you get there and give the send off wave when you leave!!! I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Wow what can I say about this place. It is out of this world. First of all, Rick and Sherrie go out of there way to make you feel like you are just at home. They are the most accomodating and gracious guests one can ask for. The fact that they were able to put up with my wife and I for eight days is a testament to their good nature.

This property is immaculate due to Rick and Sherrie's hard work. The rooms are perfect for your vacation needs. There is a full kitchen, bed, air conditioning, pool, etc. They have all the amenties that you would see in a high rise hotel at the fraction of the cost. The best part about Buffam's is that you never feel rushed. Every morning I would come out of the room to hear the sound of wind chimes, the smell of Sherrie's home cooked breakfast, and the allure of the soothing, cooling swimming pool. We even got to meet the Prime Minister of Aruba with Rick and Sherrie.

If you are looking for a laid back relaxed, off the beat and path bed and breakfast, then look no further. What a gem!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeMangesAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.6 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
874 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wonders Boutique Hotel
Wonders Boutique Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oranjestad
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
775 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
#2 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffam's Tropical Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffam's Tropical Haven

Address: Pos Abao 34, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Haven is conveniently located near Aruba's finest beaches, shopping, casinos, supermarkets, golf courses, and restaurants. Close to the action yet far enough away to allow you to retreat to calm relaxation at the end of the day. Our apartments are situated in the residential area of Pos Abao, offering you an authentic Aruban experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffam`s Tropical Haven Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Buffam's Tropical Haven Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing