We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another stay at the "Haven"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffam's Tropical Haven
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another stay at the "Haven"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got home from a 13 day stay at Buffam's Tropical Haven and as always it was just WONDERFUL! Great weather, Great hosts, (Sherrie & Rick) And a GREAT location! Rick & Sherrie treat us like family and bend over backwards to accommodate their guests.We had the BEST bunch out there: "Italian" Frank, jack of all trades,(really Spanish but looks Italian! lol (Miss you Frank!) Tom, aka "Mr Nesbitt", and Jack & Nancy who had GREAT stories from their night before activities.
I could go on & on about Buffam's but as you can see by their GREAT reviews, so could everyone else. If your a snooty, high rise hotel person, this may not be the place for you. But if you like the REAL Aruban ambiance of an Aruban neighborhood, would like to meet different people and see how different cultures operate, and just come home at night to a nice place and have a bunch of GOOD laughs, then THIS is the place to be!
Before finding Buffam's, we have stayed at the low rises AND the high rises and they just were not for us. And to the ONE person who gave a bad review and said most of the people who write good reviews are their friends I just have to say, "ARE YOU KIDDING ME"!! Just while we stayed out there (and this was our 5th time at Buffam's) we've met people from ALL OVER the States, from the U.K., Spain, Venezuela, and countless other countries. So that "1" person who complained should have been up at the Hyatt or the Radisson paying at least 5 times more than they paid at Buffam's! Some people are just born "complainers" that no one can make happy.
They have 4 units that are ALL nice. We always try to get the back unit as you step out the door and your 2 feet away from that beautiful, warm pool. And Breakfast is also included! If your lucky one morning Sherrie may make you her "Aruban French Toast"! The BEST!!
Their rates are "UNBELIEVEABLE" and there are no hidden fees like a lot of these other places. Soooo, if your NOT a high rise person and are on somewhat of a budget and looking for a nice, CLEAN, place that's NOT crowded and you want some good laughs, Buffam's tropical haven is the place to be. As i'm 61 years old and my spouse is 49 my dream would be for her to take a month off work in the winter and spend 4 or 5 weeks in Aruba. Anyone need a travel partner look me up, lol.
Just to end this review, if your high maintenance, and HAVE to have the best, maybe the high rises are for you. Butttt, if your down to earth, would like to be in a REAL Aruban neighborhood, and want to meet new people from ALL over the world, and get pampered by Sherrie & Rick. Tropical Haven is THE place. Any Questions feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: 4 rooms. 2 smaller and 2 large. All great rooms. We get large room in the back as we step outside an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jicky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
99
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very nice rooms. Have stayed there twice in the last year. Planning to go back in November if they have space. Sherri makes a wonderful different breakfast every morning. Good wifi conection. Not on the beach so having a car is a very good idea. Rick and Sherri make sure you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

WE really enjoyed staying, The room was very nice and clean! Rick and Sherri were very friendly and helpful on dinner plans and directions. Sherri can cook a great breakfast!!
I would recommend this place to anyone, We will be back to stay again very soon!
Ken & Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Crest, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great place to stay if you are traveling and you are on a budget. Sherry and Rick were very accommodating to us and even upgraded or room for us free of charge and helped us rent a car to get around and made dinner reservations for us. We stayed for six nights from Tuesday until Monday morning, and had daily room cleaning and a light breakfast when we were able to wake up early enough most mornings. The ac wifi and appliances all worked fine. Location is good because you are close to all the action and since aruba is not big of a island its fairly easy to get around would stay there again. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in aruba this is a good place to consider.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drt82583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Sherry and Rick were both attentive and answered all questions, but the stay was not that great. Rooms were average, like an ok old clean motel. Appliances were old, bed was not really a queen but two beds pushed together. Was asked to keep quiet during the middle of the day. It was more like staying at an older Aunt and Uncle's house that you didnt know than it was a bed and breakfast. It is inexpensive, but not really a vacation type rental. You definitely need a car as there is nothing of interest close by. They are nice people, but I just could not recommend this to a younger couple unless they were only looking for a cheap clean place to crash. I normally stay in these types of B&B when I vacation as well and I realize that my review is different from most people, but it just doesnt deserve the unbelievable ratings that it gets in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freddy4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive way to visit a new island and at the same time feel at home because originally I was going solo and most places charge an outrageous price for just one person. A friend recommended Buffam's Tropical Haven, she had already been there twice and was headed for her third visit, had nothing but great things to say. I had surgery and decided to bring my daughter along, Sherrie was so accommodating with changing my original arrangements a month prior to our arrival. We read a bad review before we left and didn't know what to expect. Please don't believe a word of that review, we had the best time and felt right at home, included even when Sherrie and Rick had island friends visit their home. They were knowledgeable about the island and gave us many helpful hints. Breakfast served as two meals, we weren't even hungry until mid afternoon. I can't say enough for this B & B and will return, that is if they have space available, they have many happy returning customers, we had the pleasure of meeting them too.

Room Tip: Sherrie and Rick have 4 units, we viewed all of them and stayed in 2 of them......I would say whiche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAD1955MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Is not Bed or Breakfast. The pillowcases smell like sweat. The coffee seems like the wash from the coffee machine. People were rude. First day breakfast was an egg sandwich, very bad, and the next day were two pancakes, an inch thick, not cook in the middle. Maybe i am used to the Bed and Breakfast at US, but this was too short of any thing. Very dissapointed. Many people that stay there write great reviews because they are their friends from Massachussets, the reality is very different. After the second day there we only used the facilities to sleep, they asked us to keep the ac off, the lights off, the Wi Fi did not work the entire stay, they asked us in a very vulgar way to keep quiet because someone was sleeping until 9:30 am. I went to relax not to be worried about their utilities.

Room Tip: Do not stay there if you want to enjoy your vacation. The owners apologized for being rude by buyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colombiana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffam's Tropical Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffam's Tropical Haven

Property: Buffam's Tropical Haven
Address: Pos Abao 34, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Haven is conveniently located near Aruba's finest beaches, shopping, casinos, supermarkets, golf courses, and restaurants. Close to the action yet far enough away to allow you to retreat to calm relaxation at the end of the day. Our apartments are situated in the residential area of Pos Abao, offering you an authentic Aruban experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffam`s Tropical Haven Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Buffam's Tropical Haven Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing