We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for families with children and older retired couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for families with children and older retired couples”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This Resort has a very good infraestructure for famiies who travel with children. We had a 12 , 3 & 2 year old who enjoyed very much the facilites and the pool. Great location with own beach front private area including service bar at the beach. The restaurant was very good: try the ribs!!..Also Las Ramblas restaurant has the best Chocolate cake I have ever tasted in my life!!! I would come back for that piece of cake anytime!!! enjoy this cake under the stars as it is an open terrace with great bbq food. Really romantic overlooking the ocean and the restaurant is casual enough that makes feel comfortable with children. Make sure if you eat at the local restaurant that you show up early or else you will be waiting in line for a while. There is very large pool bar with Happy hour 2x1 very nice drinks!!! Overall, this is NOT a place for young couples or party teenagers/younger adults!! you will find yourselves quite bored and surrounded by a large population of visiting but friendly retired crowd and families with children. It's a good combination as they are very friendly. Wireless is not free but they have a visitor office with free internet. Also there is a Cinnabon franchise..yummy yummy...!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1life4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    593
    172
    57
    32
See reviews for
452
748
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

La Cabana is a family resort. The rooms are newly renovated in earthy tones, very nice. Yes as some people have mentioned the walls may be a bit thin, there is constructions going on and the service is a bit slow (hello you are on VACATION you should not be in a hurry for anything) however he negative out weighs the positive. This was my third trip to the resort, the resort is immaculate, the security guards are very friendly and pleasant as well as the resort staff, especially "Nixon" the bingo man! The food was very good at the Islander Grill and modestly priced. The pool is great and the slide is fun. We had no problem getting a tiki hut at the beach each day (and did not put our towels down at the beach at 5 a.m.) nor did we have a problem finding a table or lounge chair by the pool. The work out facility is clean and has many machines to use. I would recommend this resort for families not so much for honeymooners or younger couples. A great time with friends and family!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My friend traded her timeshare week for a week at La Cabana. Our room had been recently renovated, and while the one bedroom unit was a little small for four people, overall, it was fine. Housekeeping does a good job. One day we blew a fuse--called for service and they came up immediately. My biggest complaint about the room was the hide-a-bed. It was the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE thing I've ever had to sleep on. The mattress was like sleeping on metal coils with fabric and a minute amount of padding. I probably would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor, which I considered. Be forewarned!
The resort grounds still need a lot of work. A lot of places looked downright ratty, with extensive peeling paint. It did not make a good impression. While the grounds at places like the Radisson and Hyatt seemed lush and green, La Cabana's grass areas were burned, and potted plants were placed here and there, but came off as a cheap alternative.
Beach area was fine--it was nice to have a beach bar nearby, and take advantage of the happy hour where drinks like daiquiris and pina coladas are 2-for-1.
Resort has poolside games and live music, water aerobics.
La Cabana is just OK as timeshares go. I prefer the high rise area, which is just more convenient for restaurants, bars, water sports, etc. This was my 4th trip to Aruba--and the trip that I enjoyed the most was the one where we stayed at the Radisson. The overall location is just more conducive to what we were looking for.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeniedog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Had a great time at LaCabana. Beautiful beach and pool. Weather was overcast alot of the time which surprised me since its usually always sunny in Aruba. It was nice in some respects because when the sun was out it burned thru you. I am a sun person and I coudlnt sit for more than an hour without getting in some shade.We got up at 7:00am to get our beach hut every day. From 4 to 6 they had happy hour at the pool and some days had bands. That was fun. Islander Grill was good but never ate at Las Ramblas. Took the bus to the high rise area 5 minutes away most nights. Cheaper than a cab and stops at the resort next store. Ate at Moomba Beach which was really good and right on the beach. Friday nights they have a band. Also ate at Matthews which was really good and Giorgios Italian. Lots of restaurants to choose from especially in the high rise area.

LaCabana room was adequate. New kitchen and bath but not luxury. It was fine. Small balcony and unfortunately ours on the 2nd floor overlooked the walkway so not alot of privacy. All in all I would return to this resort. Construction wasnt an issue as far as noise. I think when they finish it will be really nice. We would go back. Much more laid back than at the high rise area. Very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

After reading many of the reviews for this resort, I was quite concerned. We trade our week at Altantis through II for a week at La Cabana. I travelled with my wife and 11 year old son. Although, it is not a luxury resort, it has all you need for a fine vacation. We arrived on Saturday at approx. 1:30 p.m. As expected, our room wasn't ready so we had lunch at the Islander Grill by the pool and it was typical pool fare. Price was reasonable, food was good and service friendly.

Our room was ready before 4 and we were lucky to be in one of the newly renovated one bedroom units. I don't think more there were more than 2 or 3 occupants of the room before us. The 3 of us were very comfortable. The unit was probably a step below in decor than most of the Starwood resorts but absolutely nothing wrong with it. Very clean with daily maid service (a plus, as Starwood usually only has a mid week maid service in their vacation ownership resorts). The entire resort was very clean and although there is a lot of construction going on, none of it was bothersome unless you are particular about seeing boarded up areas.

I have read in many reviews about the problem with chairs by the pool and on the beach. First of all, there are plenty of chairs at both the pool and the beach if you don't mind the sun. If you want a shady spot, there were still many umbellas at the pool and beach @10:00 a.m. One day, I was down at the pool at approx 7:30, sat for a while and went up to the room for an hour or so. The security staff did tag my umbella to ensure that the spot wasn't being unattended for more than 2 hours, so there is enforcement of the 2 hour rule at the pool. We were at the beach for 2 days and secured palupas each day after 9 a.m. Someone told us that they installed additional palupas and additional chairs. Many of the chairs were rather new.

They have a wonderful bellman named John who assisted us in any way possible. He made reservations and secured us a rental car which made getting around a snap. We spent a day at Baby Beach and explored a bit. Ate breakfast and lunch in the room for the most part (had pizza poolside @ Sbarro's one day) but went out to all the usual suspects for dinner, El Gaucho, Flying Fishbone, California Lighthouse, Smokey Joes, Giannis and Wacky Wahoo.

A nice breakfast place (with reasonable prices) is Matthews @ Casa Del Mar.

In sum, not as luxurious as the Starwood or Marriot vacation ownership resorts, but all and all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gtedw_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We enjoyed our stay at La Cabana! We booked through timeshare. We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms (many renovations are occurring all around the property, but the workers are out of site and there is no noise). We were in a studio on the first floor, very convenient to walk out to the pool. We enjoyed the choice to either sit by the pool, by the bar, or walk across the street to Eagle Beach. We loved the serenity of sitting under one the many huts on the resort's private beach. We did go on the wave runners and loved cruising the blue ocean water! On site is a Sbarro's pizza, Dunkin Donuts (across the way), Cinnabon with Carvel Ice Cream shop, Grill (great for lunch) and an elegant dinner at sunset (need reservations). It was a quick $1.30 pp bus ride to Noord just north of our resort to enjoy restaurants (had some amazing meals), casinos, excursions or shopping. We loved Aruba in general, truly "the happy island!"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km88856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Here is best things about the resort:
- Close to Eagle Beach. There is a road that runs in front of the resort
- Maid service is daily, friendly, and efficient
- Room size efficient but not spacious
- Restaurants in area with a mini mart and Cinnamon near condo office

Drawbacks to the resort
- Check-in was a problem because they lost our reservation and we had to move in the middle of the week to another room. We were told this by telephone the morning of the move.
- Construction on site and some difficulty finding the small check-in office
- Walls of the condos are thin and you can literally hear conversations and noises from the next room
- Office staff may be overwhelmed and one of the most helpful clerks quit while we were there
- Because of construction, there is no "curb appeal" to the resort
- Internet weekly service is $35. However, we had to establish a connection every 15 min. with putting in a password. Very frustrating!
-

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
555 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Property: La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Address: J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service, mixed use 449 room hotel/vacation ownership casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Beach And Racquet Club
La Cabana Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Oranjestad
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing