We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked this thing on some timeshare web page and on paper it looked ok. We were four adults in a one bedroom suite. The sofabed was beyond horrible, I couldn't sleep at all in it, it was terrible. After two nights we got a spare mattress, I put it on the floor and finally I could get some sleep. We had booked for two weeks, and in the middle we had to change rooms... Quite annoying to have to pack your bags all in the middle and move it to another room. The safe was very small, a small laptop or a dslr camera wouldn't fit. You also got a ridiculous wristband which you were supposed to wear so you could enter the pool area and use the chairs on the beach. I took my wristband off the first day and no one bothered me at all. There's no free wifi on the rooms. The only good thing about the rooms was that the bathroom was quite good.

Room Tip: Don't try to sleep in the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsport79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    592
    171
    56
    32
See reviews for
443
739
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

La Cabana welcomed us from the beginning of our stay and helped us throughout our entire Aruba experience. The rooms are wonderful, remodel was completed in the rooms and gave nice updates. Rooms were good size and were equipped with everything you needed. Casino is still in progress. Housekeeping staff was amazing and kept the room clean everyday. They went above and beyond other Timeshare Housekeeping staff! Concierge staff helped book adventures on the island, were very knowledgeable about the island, and went above and beyond to set anything up for your trip you needed.

The resorts onsite pool, Bar, and grounds were pristine and the roaming Lizards/Iguana's made the experience even more enjoyable! I do wish they had service staff who came to the poolside to get drink orders. Onsite food was just Ok, The Islander Grill had good food, but limited things to order, price was not the best. Was excited to try Las Ramblas, but it was closed for the month due to low season. Many other nearby restaurants to choose from that were amazing experiences!

The beach in front of La Cabana was the best experience ever!!!!!!!! Chairs and Cabana's available to La Cabana patrons, beach side Bar (again wish for cabana side service for drinks), and the most amazing white sand I have ever seen! The sand is so soft and glittery, its like your in another world! The Turquoise, Green, and Blue waters of Eagle beach was a spa in itself! Crystal Clear waters where you can still see your feet when your chest deep in water.

Will Stay at the La Cabana every time I stay in Aruba, and suggest it to everyone! Its Community feel swamps the High Rise Hotels by far, and the beaches are so much more spacious. I recommend La Cabana to everyone!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjphillips00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Undergoing a full remodel, the suites are greatly improved. Final steps are outside paint, new restaurant and casino. Cannot beat the Aruba sand and water, both water and sand have great color and clarity. This location is good in that there are no high pressure beach vendors yet everything you need is a short drive or energizing walk away. Try the Arubus public transport. $1.30 takes you anywhere and often. Amenities are good, pool area very nice, beach is terrific. Timeshare presentations tend to be less offensive and pressured than others. 4th trip to LaCabana with no regrets, only plans to return again and again.

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor, close to the pool is OK as there is not too much late night "BOOMBOOM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stantiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The resort is in a great location and everyone on staff was fantastic. Checking in took a little bit of time but they took their time with everyone. They were in the middle of renovations that included building an onsite casino and they are going to turn a portion of the pool into a swim up pool bar.

To get to the beach you just had to cross the road and the resort had chaise lounges available. You could also rent non-motorized water sports or sign up for parasailing, jet skiing, etc, right there.

The rooms were clean and we had daily maid service which mopped everyday which was nice due to the sand we tracked in. Our patio was large and we had an ocean view. Unfortunately we had the road between us and the beach but traffic noise wasn't a problem.

The resort has the Pata Pata bar on site and they had happy hour every night. There were everyday activities - water aerobics, bingo, activities for the kids and even karaoke one night.

Not much is in walking distance so to get to a restaurant, grocery stores or downtown you would have to have a rental car or take the bus.

Overall great place to stay but not fabulous. If you want fancy and things all around you the High Rise Hotel section would be the place to stay. This is definitely family friendly and more relaxed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debducar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We went here for a family vacation in April. The hotel appeared full but we never had a problem getting chairs at the pool or on the beach. The restaurants at the hotel were fine. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice. The hotel wasn't near a lot of the restaurants but we just traveled via car into town or to the restaurants or sites that we wanted to see. There is also a bus stop right out in front of the restaurant. We did not use this but other guests did and said it was very convenient and the price was right. Bottom line, this was a nice hotel in a beautiful spot and a decent value. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Aruba. There was plenty for the kids and parents to do at the hotel and on the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

For those leary of other reviews, all units on the property are completely redone now. There is still construction on the side away from the beach for the casino but unless you are hanging out in the walkway area leading to your room, you shouldn't even notice it. The new rooms are very nice and modern. It is a 5-star high class resort, no not at all. But is it very nice, with great and helpful staff, getting nicer with every renovation, and located on one of the nicest beaches in the world? Yes.

We were on our honeymoon and had the best time we could ever ask for. The entire place was clean, friendly, and on a perfect beach. We enjoyed both restaurants especially Las Ramblas which overlooked a gorgeous sunset. The pool was very clean and never too crowded. The bus runs right out in front of the resort and often. You can pay $1.30 each way to get all over the island in an air conditioned ride. The beach itself is so gorgeous and we never had trouble getting one of the huts to shade us from the sun.

If you're looking for a fancy lobby(there's is nice now after the renovation but not "fancy") or a building that looks like the Taj Mahal, then you need to go elsewhere. But if you're like us, and want a nice, upgraded, and clean room with friendly staff and easy access to a super nice beach then La Cabana is for you. I've stayed at the Marriott's in Aruba and they overall had a "fancier" look but I had a much better time and was more satisfied with my stay at La Cabana.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view of the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wkupike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
286 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have now stayed at La Cabana in Aruba 12 or 13 times. We typically rent a unit from timeshare owners and have gone in January, February and December over the years. We started coming here because my inlaws owned a timeshare and knew a lot of people who came down at the same time every year and we would join them & bring our kids. This is a large resort that has just undergone a large (and necessary) remodeling project. All of the rooms and the lobby has been redone. The rooms are comfortable and the views for the Saturday & Sunday units face the pool, beach and ocean. The Thursday & Friday rooms may face the beach but they may also face a neighboring resort (complete with a view of air-conditioners, etc), an access road, a parking lot or garden area. The nicer, well-known resorts are on Palm Beach (Marriot, Hyatt, Radisson, etc.) and this is the high-rise area. Eagle Beach has some smaller, less-known resorts and this is the low-rise area. Palm Beach is more crowded and there is more to do. Eagle Beach is much larger and there is much more space for people to enjoy themselves. You can walk from resort to resort but they are more spread out on Eagle Beach. All of that said, La Cabana is not quite as fancy as the Palm Beach resorts, but with the renovation, the large pool, the great beach and the warm & friendly people who run the place, it's a great place to spend your Aruba vacation. There is a decent lunch spot on the pool deck (The Islander Grill) and there is an outdoor restaurant (Las Ramblas) that serves tapas. LaCabana has never really been known for its restaurants but there are SO many great restaurants in Aruba that this will not be a problem. There are 2 or 3 bars, 2 or 3 restaurants, a gym, a salon, tennis, a park, a large pool with waterslide and a small casino on the premises. The beach and ocean is great for sunning and swimming. You will see couples, newlyweds, families, retirees and everything in-between at LaCabana and we look forward to going back again. If you are used to staying at a nicer place, it may not be for you. But it's clean, newly renovated (quite tastefully) and has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Look for "Saturday or "Sunday" units for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenL60089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,997 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Property: La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Address: J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service, mixed use 449 room hotel/vacation ownership casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Beach And Racquet Club
La Cabana Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Oranjestad
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing