We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 years of weekly visits” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Hooksett
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“10 years of weekly visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We are owners of a timeshare and have been vacationing at La Cabana for the last 10 years. We have never had an issue with service or maintenance. It is a comfortable place to stay. Most of the day is spent at the pool or beach so all we need is a comfortable bed to sleep and La Cabana meets our needs. The beach is beautiful and the pool is clean and large enough for all guests. There is a Super Foods a walkable distance from he rear of the hotel. We usually buy breakfast and lunch food and then go out for dinner. Bus service to the high rise hotel or Oranjestand is about $1.60 per person and quite regular. La Cabana also has a casino. Las Ramblas restaurant is very good, island grill is OK for burgers and such, however dinner service is slow and food is average. Pata pata bar is well stocked with a 2 for 1 happy hour from 4 to 6pm. Try the "brown lady" frozen drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    576
    169
    54
    32
See reviews for
428
711
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Pros:The property was located very well and the hotel itself was very nice. I went with my family which consisted of four people including me. The room was well equipped with cooking utensils and kitchen ware. The room was very cold and the temperature would never go above 74. The beach was very well kept and nice to swim in. The staff was nice and helpful when needed. The rooms were big enough for everything to fit.
Cons: We couldn't originally find the hotel cause they didn't put their sign up where it was supposed to be. We wandered the island for almost two hours trying to find it. Second the staff was incredibly annoying when not needed. They would come and tell us to close our balcony door or to keep nothing on the balcony. A huge issue was the internet. It is possibly the worst thing ever. I have been to third world countries with better free wifi. The free wifi is purposely so slow they force you to buy the "fast" internet. The thing is, it actually isn't any faster. It is still slow, and frequently disconnects. It is impossible to do any work here. The hot tubs aren't very hot. They're just warm which is annoying, because sometimes the pool or beach is cold on windy days. This was also the first time I had a hotel tag us. They make you wear a wristband that is locked to you for the entire stay. If you don't have it on you they keep you from eating at restaurants and other amenities.
These were the pros and cons of our 5 day stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get higher up rooms even if it is a low rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This year we stayed for two weeks and had a great vacation. We were a little apprehensive because the first week was booked through a Bluegreen Sampler Package - Bluegreen had to do it with multiple reservations which meant we were going to have to change rooms 3 times during the first week!! That is crazy and not a great way to try to impress people with Bluegreen. We heard that was not uncommon with the Sampler reservations and fortunately my wife was persistent in addressing the situation.

After a few emails and finally going direct to La Cabana, they got us in one room for the entire week and we really appreciate that. La Cabana said it was a room downgrade because it was a garden view but we had a clear view of the ocean from the balcony and thought it was just fine.

The second week we exchanged through Interval and did not have a problem. We had a first floor pool view. We weren't sure about being on the first floor but it was really convenient to get to the beach! Would definitely do that again given a choice. Having the large patio was like having another room.

The beach was not overly crowded as we were there just before the Holiday rush. We walked by the high rises and, while more conveniently located to the kitesurfing, we felt the beaches further north on the island were really crowded. It was worth the extra commute time!

As with our previous two visits, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiteguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My family of 5 stayed here for 8 days. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which consisted of 1 studio (1 queen bed and 1 pull out couch) and 1 bedroom (1 king bed and 1 pull out couch). According to my cousins, the sleeper sofas were not very comfortable. Both units were pool side, but also had a view of the beach. The location was great as it is right across the street from Eagle Beach. The Super Food grocery store is located on the next street and is easy to get to by walking. The resort had a nice gym with a raquetball court and a studio for yoga or zumba. I was a little disappointed because the one night that there was supposed to be a zumba class at 7pm, the instructor did not come. There is a Cinnabon and Sbarro on the premises and a bar and restaurant. The pool is very nice and there are hot tubs too. There seemed to be plenty of chairs around the pool. All staff were nice and helpful (front desk, concierge, and bell men). They offered activities for the all ages everyday. The free wifi in the rooms is basically non-existent and you have to pay to get the better wifi service. I was disappointed to learn that each unit did not have it's own washer/dryer. Rather, you had to pay $1 each to wash and dry clothes in the community washer and dryers on each floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I felt very compelled to write a review of La Cabana since I was expecting such wonderful things but was SADLY DISAPPOINTED ON MANY FRONTS. There were some positives in my opinion, but most of them relate to the location and not the rooms or the staff.

Pros:
- Great location right across the street from beautiful Eagle Beach
- Nice pool and the outside of the resort was nice and well-maintained
- There is a small casino on site, which can be fun if you just want to have some fun at slot machines or on some tables.
- Very close to a good supermarket so food shopping was very convenient

Cons:
- The rooms were subpar, at best. The resort boasts of "renovated" rooms and posted beautiful room pics online. Don't believe it. We stayed in a 1 bedroom. I expected a bedroom, dining room, living room and kitchen - which is what I have seen at other resorts/timeshares. Instead, we had a bedroom that had no windows so it was like a cave. Then there was one small space that was the living room/dining room/kitchen all in one. It was so ridiculous we had the table removed by staff b/c there was so little space. Also, the rooms had a strange smell - not very inviting. We worked around the smell by buying some air freshners but overall, the room was terrible.
- The staff was not helpful. I think I am friendly and patient - and I try to be even more relaxed and patient when I am on island time, however the staff was neither helpful nor friendly . I even jokingly asked a lady behind the concierge's desk if she was unhappy on such a gorgeous day -- she finally cracked a smile and explained they only make money on timeshares so all the other work is essentially for nothing. Perhaps it is an issue with training the staff...the staff doesn't work to solve the problem. Often I asked questions and received "yes" or "no" answers. They made no effort to do anything more than what was asked of them. I have been to aruba before and stayed at other resorts and the staff was NOTHING like this. I was so shocked.
- Housekeeping was not the most efficient. We tip the staff everyday, however towards the end of our 7 day trip, we were cleaning the room ourselves and getting bath towels and emptying the trash ourselves. Bizarre.

I WOULD NOT SUGGEST LA CABANA FOR YOUR STAY IN ARUBA.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our first time to Aruba so we did not know what to expect and came with an open mind. La Cabana was definitely the perfect spot for us. It is right across from the beach making it very accessible and easy to go back and forth from the pool to the beach. We loved that we stayed in the calmness of the low rise section and could have a quick $8 cab ride or a 30 minute walk to the activities of the high rise section. Eagle Beach is amazing and beautiful. The concierge will book your activities for you which is very convenient. It was the perfect variance between action days and relaxing days. I suggest taking out ATV's, Snorkel cruises and relaxing on the beach. The only downside is that the hallways are very noisy when you a trying to sleep but that is it. We will most definitely be back to La Cabana and hopefully stay longer than 5 days next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our first time to Aruba & we weren't sure if the location would suit us, but it was great; close to most places we wanted to visit. The island isn't that big, so you can get anyplace in 30-40 depending on traffic. Very nice pool, beach is beautiful, good pool area bar with great happy hours & good food. Staff was top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room,otherwise you might be facing the parking lot if you are on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Property: La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Address: J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service, mixed use 449 room hotel/vacation ownership casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Oranjestad
La Cabana Beach And Racquet Club
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing