We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”

Charlie's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in San Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Description: Charlie’s Bar & Restaurant was founded on September 18, 1941 by a Dutch couple, Charles and Marie Brouns. They chose their location in San Nicolas as it was close to the large Lago Refinery: this provided a steady stream of clientele in the form of seamen, contractors, and oil workers.Over the years, Charlie’s Bar became a destination returned to by countless friends from the past, accompanied by new patrons anxious to visit what has become an iconic island institution…”If you haven’t been to Charlie’s you don’t know Aruba!”Today, Charlie’s Bar is recognized as one of the Top Ten Bars in the Caribbean; and is a must see destination for first time visitors who will undoubtedly encounter and enjoy the company of many repeat clientele from literally all over the world. Everyone comes for the ambiance; the real connoisseurs are here to enjoy the intercontinental cuisine offered by Charlie’s Menu. Everything from jumbo shrimp to fine tenderloin steaks and fresh local seafood are at your beck and call. The menu is varied and prepared fresh each and every day try our “Honeymoon Sauce” with your entrée (if you like things real hot) or tone it down with our Creole style of preparation. Daily specials and home made snacks round out the menu for the inquisitive diner.Presently, your host, Charlito (the third generation Charlie) says, “Everything we do is focused on one thing, creating an unforgettable memory that will leave you wanting to return.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The look of the bar is definitely it's biggest attraction. The main reason I don't think it's that great is because it's all inside. The drinks also seem quite expensive considering you should take whatever business you can get in San Nicolas.

Thank Mullen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montsy, Guest Relations Manager at Charlie's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Mullen89, thank you for your visit. We have been around since 1941 and have seen San Nicolaas in her glory days and now lesser days. It is true that we are not cheap but Aruba as a whole is not cheap. Why would the same cold Beer in the Oranjestad area be worth a value of 3,50 dollars and not in San Nicolaas? We buy it at the same price. Puzzling and sometimes sad because we have heard this before: San Nicolaas is rich in history, authentic architecture, real Caribbean flavor and also deserves a chance to prosper as the rest of the island. We should be judged by what we offer. We serve not only an ice cold beer but much more than that. Either way hope to welcome you back in San Nicolaas anytime. San Nicolaas is a gem, just needs polishing and Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I hadn't eaten at Charlie's for a number of years and was very pleasantly surprised on a visit there in April. The food has improved dramatically--in fact one member of our party said it was the best shrimp she had ever eaten anywhere. I had the Seafood Chowder and it was delicious--chock full of all sorts of seafood--shrimp, fish, scallops, etc., etc. We were there late in the evening and had the place pretty much to ourselves but we were not disappointed in any way. It is sort of a quirky place but I recommend it without reservations. If you are staying in the high rise area it might be better to go for lunch as it is quite a drive but do give it a try.

1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montsy, Guest Relations Manager at Charlie's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Nancy B, thank you for your great review. Surrounded by the sea we are fortunate to have fresh sea food available and it is a delight to have customers appreciate our effort and enjoy their meal. Hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This place is pretty cool to stop at. Lots of memorabilia from all over the world on the walls. Staff is very friendly.

Thank Stag556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montsy, Guest Relations Manager at Charlie's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Stag556, thanks for visiting us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Charlie's is quite the place. It's the kind of place you imagine Hemingway being - an expat bar. Sit's in downtown San Nicholaas not far from the refinery. The bar itself is quite unique with items from all over the world on the walls and ceilings. The beer is cold and the food quite - surprisingly - good. But it's expensive. Lunch with 2 beers and a glass of wine ran $68. Credit cards are not accepted. The last thing you should know is that, depending on the time of day, you're bound to run into a working girl, so don't be surprised. Still, we had fun and felt safe - we'd heard before to be careful. We'd go back there for lunch again.

1  Thank Jefe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montsy, Guest Relations Manager at Charlie's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Jefe52, thank you for your visit and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stopped here after making the drive to Baby Beach. Yes, this place is different, and could be seen as touristy. The thing is, while we were there there was only two other tables of people (so not over crowded), a nice local fellow on the way out talked to us about the menu, and the three guys working were all super friendly, and helpful. I had the ceviche, which I was different than other ceviche I have had, but still quite good, especially when I added more "honey moon sauce". My husband ordered the fresh fish, which was tasty, ant the eight year old just shared with him. We all left satisfied and happy, and enjoyed looking at all of the "stuff".

Bonus, we asked about a restaurant that we had visited several years back, and the bartender knew where we were talking about. He actually knew the owner who since passed away, and he used to work at Charlie's. Just a small world moment, that was kind if cool.

Thank getawaygirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montsy, Guest Relations Manager at Charlie's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear getawaygirlDenver, thank you for visiting us and also for your review. You totally understand our concept. Hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Charlie's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing