We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning cottage with fab amenities, in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old House Cottage

Old House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old House Cottage
Kitchen Sitting Room with Log Burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Old House Cottage
Kitchen
Sitting Room with Log Burner
Sitting/Dining Area
Family bedroom with Eu-suite
Double Bedroom with Jack & Jill Bathroom
Bathroom with Whirlpool Bath
Landing looking into Twin Bedroom
Hot Tub new for 2016
Play area
Woodland walk - Ponds
Llangranog Beach
Llangranog Beach
Part of Cardigan Bay taken by Helen McGreger
Llangrannog Beach 3 Miles Away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rhydlewis, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isobel S
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A stunning cottage with fab amenities, in a stunning surrounding!”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The cottage was beautiful, warm and inviting.
There was plenty of space for all of us, and the kitchen utilities are great and everything you need is provided, down to baking trays, pots, oven flies and dishwasher tablets.
There are 2 double beds and 2 sets of bunk beds which make up the 8. One of the bunk beds is in the same room as one of the double beds.
Merlin, (the farmhouse collie), is a welcome addition to the various animals in the locality, (sheep, birds, rabbits and chickens). He’s very friendly and loves a fuss, and to play catch up by the hot tub.
The hot tub is in the garden, through the barn and around the corner from the cottage. So if it’s raining you won’t get too wet heading to the tub.
The tub is clean, hot, and delightful. It is also covered with a wooden pagoda, which whilst it blocks the starry night sky, it keeps the hail and rain away!
A stunning weekend, a stunning cottage with fab amenities, in a stunning surrounding!
Massive thanks to John and Hazel who went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and practical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a beautiful place to spend a week. John and hazel have been really welcoming and have thought of everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark99992...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent stay and reception”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was exactly what I wanted - a clean, warm and well presented property with the space and amenities you could have wished for.

The property was located in a quiet courtyard of the host but privacy was assured.

I will DEFINITELY be making a return visit!

Thank you to John and Hazel (Merlin the dog and Mr Puss Cat, the cat)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not alot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adaliza B
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent - a hidden gem in the midst of stunning countryside”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've stayed at Hazel and John's spotless bed and breakfast, in the farmhouse, on many occasions since they moved to Nantbrenni 4 years ago The welcome is always wonderful and the accommodation cosy and comfortable. On this occasion we stayed at The Old House cottage with sun patio overlooking the old farmyard. It was absolutely brilliant - immaculately clean. The lounge is huge with plump comfy sofas and a massive wooden dining table to seat 8! The adjoining kitchen is well appointed though as we're visiting family in the village, we didn't need to cook anything other than porridge for breakfast. Upstairs, the original beams add character to all the bedrooms, of which we had a choice, as the cottage sleeps 8 and it was just the 2 of us. I loved the country cottage decoration and 2 of the bedrooms have doors leading outside to the side and back of the property which is a lovely feature. Open right up to the rafters with exposed beams, the rooms are large and airy. We chose a double room with ensuite though there was another double room with jack-and-jill bathroom to the adjoining bunk bedroom - again lots and lots of room in both. Both bathrooms had spa baths and overhead showers - luxury! The weather was amazing and we enjoyed breakfasts and evening drinks on the sun terrace every day. There's plenty to see on the working farm - Merlin the sheepdog, the family of ducks, chickens, sheep and lambs. John the farmer has created a series of ponds in the valley, fed by the stream which is a wonderful place to sit and wander around - quite a nature reserve. Red kites soar overhead all day - early one morning over 40 of them circled over the village of Rhydlewis, in the valley below. This truly is Red Kite Country. There's an amazing childrens' playground with castle, climbing wall, slide and swings in the top paddock with a picnic table for parents to enjoy the view while the children are playing. John and Hazel are excellent hosts - there if you need them, but not at all intrusive. Highly recommended - amazing views, magical countryside, outstanding local beaches, unusual corrugated tin village shop and post office (listed building). A great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage, the views, the welcome - everything!
Liked least: nothing to dislike here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
1 review
“Amazing property in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here with friends (4 Adults and 3 children) perfect location and a beautiful property. The children loved the sheep ducks and chickens and the farm dog Merlin is very friendly. The play area is awesome too. The local beach (10 min drive) is stunning good clean facilities and pubs and shop is handy. Lovely holiday will be coming back again soon!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dpf88
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is my first stay in a self catering cottage and I was not expecting a lot but I was very wrong, The Old House Cottage was wonderful, a "Real Cottage" on a real farm. The cottage was clean and very very well equipped, even tea bags, coffee, log burner, crab lines if kids want to go to the nearby quay to try and catch crabs, table tennis table, billiards, kids huge climbing frame and the list goes on ............... Our hosts John and Hazel were friendly, kind and very informative, all in all a very good experience that I hope you will all share soon. Thanks John and Hazel from all of us !

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleri H
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb cottage in a lovely area.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage was fantastic.It included everything we needed for the stay.It included all mod cons,the bedrooms were fab and the beds were very comfortable.It felt like home making it a very relaxing weekend away.We felt at home as soon as we arrived.The owners were very welcoming and we had a fab stay.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 'Old House Cottage'.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing