We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilbach Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pilbach Holiday Park
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at this site in a tourer. Drove into the site and was pleased to see well kept statics in nice grounds. Then we saw the tourers area, where we were faced with a lot of rubble! Luckily, our pitch was on grass (unlike some), but the caravans are crammed in, and the cars are packed in tightly, which gives a horrible claustrophobic feeling and leaves nowhere for the kids to play near to the caravans (fine if you have older kids who can go off and explore, but our kids were stuck in the awning).
Amusement arcade was pretty poor, shop poorly stocked, clubhouse doesn't provide cutlery if you eat their food in and disco doesn't appear to start until after 9pm (no use if you have young kids) - don't worry though, plenty of very loud people in caravans close by will play their music and shout until midnight if you want a disco (a large number of dogs will bark along too!)!
The final straw was that on several occasions when we had to empty the caravan toilet the Elsan was overflowing - delightful (although at least we had a toilet, I felt so sorry for the campers in the next field as they had a long, dark walk to the one and only toilet block)!
The appearance of police cars on more than 1 occasion really topped things off, and made us feel that this isn't a place we'd go back to again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MummyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    7
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at the site for a week and to be honest despite the awful weather we had a really enjoyable week. Arrived at tea time and were greeted by a friendly lady who explained where to pitch our tent (sorry didn't catch her name), first impressions were good clean camp site with clean toilet block and showers which were kept clean by the friendly cleaner who doubled up in the snack bar of a night. With the weather conditions we have to say the staff worked really hard with Nigel always having a smile and a friendly greeting going out of his way to check local attractions and making the evenings enjoyable in the clubhouse so many thanks to all the staff. Internet was slow but the price wasn't too bad at £7.75 for a week per device but is only good for browsing. Only drawback was a large family of thieves who were constantly "bumping" the machines trying to "fiddle" the bingo and broke into the launderette and stole money from whatever wasn't nailed down The campsite cant be held responsible for these sorts and added security one night to curtail the problems but I think the whole campsite will breathe a sigh of relief when they leave. The amusement arcade was disappointing as mentioned previously most machines were out of order mind you they were being constantly tampered with by the family mentioned as one kept the barmaid talking while the others bumped and robbed the machines. Overall if you are looking for a good cheap base to explore the amazing beaches we would recommend this site if money is spent to update the amusement arcade and a small toilet block adding by the tent pitches. M`aybe also a security guard adding in high season to keep an eye on the undesirables. Many thanks to all the staff you made a rainy week very enjoyable!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frazercoglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I just got home from a week at pilbach holiday park. Overall had an excellent week even with the unpredictable Welsh weather. The staff were all extremely friendly especially Nigel who runs the club's, got to know us all by name and found the song from Frozen for my little girl to dance to every night. My only criticism of the site is the arcades are quite outdated and most of the machines were out of order. I also feel the site could really benefit from a cafe or resturaunt with only a small fast food outlet open in the evening in meant either self cooking or driving to he local resturaunts a few miles away as the site is quite isolated. Evening bingo was a lot of fun and the the heated pool was very clean and useable. We will definitely be booking another trip here. Being only a short drive from places Like New Quay with crab fishing and dolphin boat trips was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

disgraceful behaviour by a family in the bottom electrical pitch swearing and doing things outside there tent ie peeing and other things. showers always cold after 0730 in the morning. bar mostly shut.. swimming pool murky..poor quality in the shop...would we go again answer is deffo no, i mean a big NO

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank micknmandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barkers_Leisure, Manager at Pilbach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hello ?
it's a pity we don't have customers names to respond to!

first of all we can't and won't be victimised or criticised for someone else's wrongful behaviour, if we knew about the people in question who were causing problems we would have them removed from the park, we don't accept bad behaviour we are a family park and thats the way we want to keep it

with regards to the swimming pool being murky? this is most defiantly a one off as the pool is always kept crystal clean, for every outdoor swimming pool operator the sun rays and suntan lotion can cause this type of situation but doesn't mean the water isn't fit to swim in as we have enough chemicals in the water to cancel this out

you mentioned showers always cold after 7.30am maybe the demand in people using the showers all at one time could have caused this to happen, however we have a large capacity of hot water to allow for the demand, as with any complaint you need to notify the office at the time in case there is a fault

you also mentioned the shop is badly stocked, well we don't carry a vast amount of items but just the bear essentials that most people need, if a larger shop is needed then the Tesco's down the road is where most people go to, it opens from 7am - 12am
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a long weekend camping trip to pilbach , couldn't fault the place , there was 16 of us 9adults 7 children ,, not once did anybody moan about anything , kids had swimming pool , park, playing fields , in the evening we all had the bar and pool room , kareoke which was fun lol , so all in all for the price of the site we all had a great time and will be returning , many thanks pilbach PS, postcode is SA44 5RR this will take you to the gates

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
7 Thank tony1wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were very unsure as we only read the reviews on the way to pilbach I think someone has ther knickers in a twist!!the showers and toilets were very clean well the whole sight was!! very friendly staff and people there we took a newborn baby and within a hour of arriving staff and residents rallied round and got us a heater electric and lighting will 100% be returning Tory went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed such a lovely place was like a big family only negative thing was the dog owners using the camping field as a place to walk ther dogs and not picking up the mess until we told them to but other then that no problems at all thankyou to everyone that made our stay even more comfortable and enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smithsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. The kids loved the pool and it was great to have the bar and snack bar. The site was cheaper or the same as most local ones but this has a bar and pool. We had a very enjoyable stay and will return. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay extra enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhydlewis hotels
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon Fendigaid
Ffynnon Fendigaid
#1 of 4 in Rhydlewis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pilbach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilbach Holiday Park

Property: Pilbach Holiday Park
Address: Betws Ifan, Rhydlewis SA44 5RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Rhydlewis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rhydlewis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilbach is a small family run Holiday Park that is ideally suited for families and couples alike.Enjoy our free heated pool with toddler's area, or just relax on the poolside with a drink, or for those who like the comfort - step into the Pilbach Bar and enjoy a drink and a snack, also an amusement arcade. Recreational field with swings, climbing frames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Pilbach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilbach Holiday Park Rhydlewis, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing