We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the grid paradise”
Review of Coco Point Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barbuda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coco Point Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barbuda
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off the grid paradise”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have traveled the Caribbean for over 40 years and have stayed in places from Andros to Petit St Vincent. If you prefer to go off the grid and have the refined luxury that the Caribbean is known for, look no further. Accommodations (my wife and I stayed in the very private Gravenor Bay side Hill House #12) are cozy and refined, keeping you connected to nature that has not been spoiled. They truly live up to their motto “no problem.” When we wanted a boat for reef fishing….no problem. When we wanted a boat for snorkeling off Pilasters Reef…no problem. Trap shooting…board surfing…no wait and no problem. Pat Kelly and his team are warm and gracious host of this island paradise. Staff are friendly and make you feel at home, if home was a beautiful private island. I am somewhat reluctant to write this review- wanting to keep this gem a secret. The beach is truly spectacular and very private. Cocktails and dinner are first class and done in a warm and collegial atmosphere. After dinner walks on the beach reveal the utter seclusion of this resort - peace and quiet looking up at the Milky Way while the only sound is the surf. My feet rebelled after coming home and having to put on socks and shoes! We were still talking about Coco Point MONTHS after returning and I am longing for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TateMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I visited Coco Point for the first time in February and loved it. It is truly a unique place. Coco Point has a perfect beach, excellent food, and a highly attentive staff, but there is also a sense of community that you don't find at other resorts. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The staff and Coco Point's wonderful owner make an effort for the guests to have the best possible experience- whether that is meeting new people at dinner, finding the best spots to snorkel. helping you catch barracuda, or bringing a delicious breakfast to the patio outside your room. And, the all inclusive nature of the Lodge allows guests to fish, water ski, snorkel, shoot skeet etc without worrying about the cost. Last but not least, the beach is spectacular and because there are so few rooms, you feel like you have the beach to yourself. We could completely unplug and relax. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carrollal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mermaid1
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed at COCO POINT about 8 times and having traveled the entire Caribbean, can say there is NO BEACH THAT COMPARES…the staff is amazing … yet it is low key and still has an elegance about it. I fully recommend it unless one is on a budget. HOwever it is ALL INCLUSIVE (food, most all you drink but champagne & cigars) so one should consider that point.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gilkesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's been 5 years since our visit to Coco Point Lodge and we think of it very often. We have been to many nice beaches but nothing compares to the beach at Coco Point Lodge...nothing! Simply the best. Great staff and good food too. It's a very special type of vacation! Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seasunjustright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The most beautiful beach and relaxing vacation spot. A great place to create a special memory. Our family is still talking about our News Years trip. Great fishing! Caught tarpon, barracuda, and manta ray. Softest Snow White sand, stone less beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We wanted to introduce our adult children to the best of the Caribbean, and we found it in Coco Point Lodge! Yes, the beach is surely the best--not one stone, shred of seaweed, or anything else on the soft, white sand that gently slopes into the leeward (no high surf) sea, as far as the eye can see, without any other signs of humanity to obstruct one's view. There is an ambiance about Coco Point which is indescribable in any one word--never taking out your wallet, incredibly friendly and helpful staff and management are all part of it. Waking up in the morning and deciding between reef fishing, sailing, water skiing, beach sitting, or a myriad of other activities is part of it. My husband's great success fishing, and the enthusiasm that staff and management shared helped! The house party atmosphere in the evenings, where you meet and mingle with guests from all over the world who are all just as happy to be there as you are...sharing your day's adventures...It's an experience that we are forever grateful for, and hope to repeat--year after year after year! A note to the "foodies": This is NOT a foodie's focused trip. The meals are fine, but not at the level you may find in other upscale hotels in less remote locations.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want! Windward side guests are treated to more privacy and beautiful sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andoversre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We’ve stayed at some of the nicest resorts in the Caribbean including Isle de France in St. Bart’s and Cap Juluca in Anguilla and neither can compare with Coco Point lodge in Barbuda. They’re more exotic, but their beaches can’t begin to equal that of Coco Point, which rightly says it has the finest beach in the Caribbean. And neither has as caring and attentive staff as Coco Point. The reason for the latter is the example set by Coco Point’s co-managers, Ray and Denise Doherty. If there were a heaven where every wish could be gratified, it would be at Coco Point. And the Dohertys make those wishes come true! Coco point is an all-inclusive club… but it is light years away from a Club Med. The lodge only accommodates about 60 people, but anything you would like to do related to water sports is available. Want to deep sea or bone fish? They’ll accommodate you. Want to water ski? Just ask and the boat’s available. Like sailing? There are Sun Fishes, paddle boards and wind surfers. What’s wonderful for sailors is that the lodge is on the leeward side of the island and the wind always blows perpendicular to the beach. So you can sail all day up and down the 2 mile beach and never have to tack! Like to have a private lunch on a deserted beach elsewhere on the island? Just ask and the staff will prepare a lunch for you and motor you to the beach… and pick you up when you’re ready. The bar is open all day and liquor will be replaced daily in your room. And the food is fabulous! Coco Point’s kitchen can compare with some of the best New York restaurants. What makes all of the foregoing even more enjoyable is that there is absolutely no tipping. The lodge simply adds a 10% service charge to your bill at the end of your stay.
A perfect example of the attentiveness of the staff is what happened to my wife and me one day as we went on a long bike ride. It was easy going…. the wind was strong and at our backs. But it was awfully tuff coming back with the wind in our faces. We’d left the lodge around 10:00 a.m. but when we weren’t back by 12:30, the manager, Ray Doherty, sent a van out to search for us. My wife was exhausted and rode back with her bike in the van and I continued to peddle home. When I arrived at our cottage, I found Pam sprawled on the bed, recuperating. Shortly thereafter, there came a knock at the door and Denise Doherty had sent one of the lunch room staff to ask if we’d like to have our lunch delivered to our room. What other resort has such caring and thoughtful people!
Needless to say, we’ve made our reservations again for next year and can’t wait to return.
Pam and Buck Wilson
Guilford, Connecticut

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PamW12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbuda
13.1 mi away
Barbuda Belle Luxury Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Nevis
Paradise Beach Nevis
#4 of 7 in Nevis
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Palm Tree Guest House
Palm Tree Guest House
#1 of 1 in Codrington
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coco Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Point Lodge

Property: Coco Point Lodge
Address: Coco Point, Barbuda
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Barbuda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barbuda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are a few special places that call you back time and time again. Coco Point Lodge is one of them. Secluded on its own 164-acre peninsula and surrounded by translucent turquoise water on three sides, Coco Point is limited to a maximum of 68 guests. A unique all-inclusive resort bordered by miles of pristine white-sand beach, Coco Point offers splendid meals, elegant accommodations, warmly hospitable service and total relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Point Hotel Barbuda
Coco Point Barbuda
Coco Point Lodge Barbuda, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing