We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & Excellent Food”
Review of Plas Morfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Morfa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanon
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Location & Excellent Food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just spent 3 wonderful days at Plas morfa. We stayed in room 1 which had sea views from both windows, the room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant each evening and the food was excellent, Jane was a great chef and the signature dishes were very well cooked and presented ,Breakfast was equally as good with plenty of choice. I can highly recommend this hotel great location, excellent food and very friendly hosts,

Room Tip: Room 1 had excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmoBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Can't disagree more with 731lady42's harsh review, but perhaps our expectations are lower than someone who is maybe accustomed to big city hotels. My wife and I booked this small 'restaurant with rooms' (exactly how the owners describe their offering) last minute, and we were looking for a quiet relaxing break away from a very busy work life. We hate crowds and noisy big hotels, and Plas Morfa looked to be just the ticket. On arrival at the Hotel, found only a few hundred yards off the main coast road and about 30 metres from the deserted pebbly/rocky beach, we were greeted by Jane (A very friendly lady who multi tasks as receptionist, bar person and cook), and George, the joint owner, who directed us to our room, Room 1, which has sea views in two directions, is very spacious and well equipped, and most importantly had a comfortable bed. I fired up my lap top to check work e.mails and was surprised to have a better download rate than I have in Cheshire.
We had booked a two night deal which included bed breakfast and evening meal, at £ 115 per night.
The three course evening meal, cooked by Jane, was of a very good standard, and we had no complaints, and our breakfast was cooked by Paul, George's son.
The hotel has eight rooms, but only two were occupied the first night of our visit, and three on the second night. This is a real shame as the location is really special and we had a lovely relaxing stay.
The location is only a short drive to Aberaeron, and New Quay, two small coastal towns that have many interesting features and plenty of things to do and places to have lunch or a drink.
Plas Morfa is certainly a place we would be happy to recommend and will undoubtedly visit again

Room Tip: All rooms have views, but rooms 1 and 8 have views in two directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We ate a meal in the restaurant,which we were looking forward to,but what a let down.The food
was unattractively arranged on the plates and were cold to begin with,what we ate did not taste
particularly pleasant.The cutlery looked very worn and not shiny.In fact a very exspensive meal.
As there were only four other people in the restaurant,it being a Saturday night,that says it all.!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 731lady42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Family used a total of 4 rooms for 1 night & we stayed 2 nights in early Dec for a family celebration. Very friendly,welcoming & accommodating hotel in an excellent location. Sadly we were unable to eat in the hotel, although family who live locally say it's very good. Breakfast was freshly cooked and of a good standard. I believe some rooms will be refurbished over the winter which will be an improvement, as the rooms I saw felt a little 'tired'. The linen & bedding was not of the highest quality but was perfectly clean. The rooms would be improved with bigger towels, possibly shampoo, a hair dryer, larger selection of coffee/tea etc. The beds were comfortable and the rooms of a good size (stayed in room 1). We will certainly use the hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a 3 windows giving lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at Plas Morfa hotel on the 20th & 21st of September 2013, we had an amazing 2 nights the room was well equipped and spacious with stunning views from two windows as the hotel is based right on the bay front, the room was clean and the bed was so comfy waking up to a truly fabulous view from your window, peace and quite was what the doctor ordered and that's what we got, how host Jane was a lovely lady very welcoming and had time to chat constantly making sure our stay was perfect, the waitress was lovely and friendly.. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and our evening meals were out of this world and cooked to perfection with a fab choice of wines, ourselves and other guests were all relaxed and happy and to me that's a sign of great hosting. Our room costing a £170 pound for 2 nights b&b and our evening meals were very well priced for a 3 course meal with a bottle or 2 of wine costing us £64 & £73 but was worth every penny.. For us the Plas morfa was a perfect base for our exploring of the surrounding area and we will be returning as we enjoyed our stay so much.. Thank you to our hosts and see you next year

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and opening doors to take in the breath taking view, we stayed in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiepanjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The location is fabulous, but the building in without charm or any hint of luxury, the room was functional but with very poor soundproofing, ie beware of the folk next door playing chess.
The breakfast was fine with a good choice and friendly service. The evening meal was enhanced by a very friendly waitress and the food was good,

Room Tip: Room 1 gives you a chance of wonderful sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myopinion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plasmorfa, Owner at Plas Morfa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for staying here at Plas Morfa, your comments are appreciated. I am sorry you did not find us as luxurious as you might have wished, whilst I remember speaking to you in the morning, I cannot recall the room that you stayed in. We are refurbishing again this winter, sound insulation between rooms is now even higher up the list! Check!! All your kind words are appreciated also. I always take special note of someone who has posted as many reviews as yourself, I will do all I can to reach the rating of your latest review! Once again thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Paul Pearsall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Was pre booked for 2nights did genuinely have a family emergency but was turn away on leniency. Was ordered to pay the full amount. I was told they could have booked out the room to someone else even though they had seven rooms available. So one night missed and one room one night £170.00. The man who served us at the end was rather rude and told us plane black and white thats the price. The room was nice from the off but later the cracks began to show like the terrible draft that shook the door to point it woke our daughter up many times through the night. The bed was hard and uncomfortable which has left me with backache. I feel very disappointed with the surrounding you are unable to access the beach is 4 star rating are very over rated and would rather see this as a respectful 2 star

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plasmorfa, Owner at Plas Morfa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Oh dear how did it all go so wrong for you? "Poor communication" , well try answering your phone, we tried to contact you several times when you failed to show up! As for the rest of your review well, I leave it to all the rest of our very happy customers reviews to tell the real story of this happy wonderful place. I think that you need to reflect on the ethics of posting such waffle. Now I don't know the nature of your family crisis, as you never expanded on it, but if you fail to show up for a hotel booking you will be charged! That is an industry wide reality. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy this beautiful place, all the rest of our guests this year did! The fact that use trip advisor as a form of retribution reflects far more on you as a person than it does us as an accommodation provider. You made no complaints at the time to us, merely bemoaning the fact that you had to pay for the night you failed to show up for. The room you stayed in has received a five star review on our website since your stay, and is still booked out every weekend, mostly to repeat customers. If your criticism had been in any way constructive, I would thank you. I am a polite person, but I will not tolerate lies and abuse of a website which is purporting to give an insight to fellow travelers.
Owner and manager
Plas Morfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanon
3.9 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Penrhos Park
Penrhos Park
#1 of 1 in Llanrhystyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Morfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Morfa Hotel

Property: Plas Morfa Hotel
Address: Heol y Mor, Llanon SY23 5LX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llanon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plas Morfa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers a choice of 7 individually designed rooms from standard rooms with twin or double beds , a family room sleeping max 4 and 2 premium rooms. All are centrally heated and have colour television, tea and coffee making facilities and en-suite bathroom or shower room. Go to sleep to the sound of waves and wake up to see the Red Kite circling overhead! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast, cereals and toast, freshly brewed coffee and tea, in our beautifully appointed dinning room, with stunning views out over Cardigan bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Plas Morfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Morfa Hotel Llanon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing