We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for an afternoon swim!”

John Smith's Bay Beach
Ranked #64 of 241 things to do in Bermuda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This family-friendly beach has a lifeguard on duty from May to September as well as bathrooms and changing facilities.
T&T
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for an afternoon swim!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Passed by the very crowded Horseshoe Bay and was relieved to find this quiet spot. Great for swimming and some snorkelling. Not in anyway crowded. Clearly a favourite of locals. Lifeguard on duty. Will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited 8 beaches in Bermuda. Clearwater was #1 with me but John Smith was #2. Beautiful beach! We hiked Tom Moore's Jungle and then took the bus down to here. There is a part of the limestone rock cut out on the right side so you can sit in the shade if you need a break from the sun. It was no crowded at all. Waves were not rough but there were swells. There was a guy renting umbrellas and noodles to float. Saw no bathroom. There was a place to buy some snacks at the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small but cute”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This beach is very close to town and is less crowded in the afteenoon. A more fun, relaxed crowd on the beach with people playing football and jogging back and forth the small bay. A wedding was taking place in the area but managed to sit on top of the hill under the trees to relax. It's worth stopping by and take photos :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachlovergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Small Beach, Family friendly, clean and uncrowded!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Having spent a month living west of this beach in 1996, we have fond memories of John Smith's. We returned in 2000 with one child and again in 2012 with 4 kids. The beach never disappoints. It is small, quiet and usually has local families enjoying it, especially on weekends. We visited 3 times during our week of vacation, and it was always nice.

There is usually a guard on duty during the day, so any time after 500 PM, be sure to check to see if its attended. When we were there, there were big waves and a bit of a tow, but we were not too worried. There was some seaweed, and guess what? It's an ocean!! The kids had fun making hair and such out of it. We weren't worried about the water, since they will mark the guard shack with flags depending on surf conditions. Lots were far out in the water.

For snorkelers, if you go around the rocks to the right (facing ocean), the small bay is called Gravelly bay, and we have encountered lots of different fish, beyond the typical parrot fish and such. We had to refer back to our "fish card" to find out exactly what we saw.

Beyond that, there is usually a food/drink vendor on site, and there are bathrooms which are usually pretty decent, since they are not over used. A great place to enjoy a stress free day with the family, or that special someone - or by yourself.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bigeyejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The locals know a good beach”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Tempted to keep quiet on this one as its a good swimming beach and family friendly but mostly it is the locals who use it, the tourists go elsewhere - and thats what keeps it nice! No facilities so best for dropping by for quick dip then back to base for change of clothes. Not really any good for snorkelling. Not fierce enough for surfing. Body boards and children safe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Smith's Bay Beach also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
St. George's Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to John Smith's Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing