We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery”
Review of Tobacco Bay

Tobacco Bay
Ranked #3 of 40 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 2016, 2017, & 2018 Certificate of Excellence Winner & voted as the #1 Visitor Attraction in Bermuda, Tobacco Bay's pristine beauty is only rivaled by her impressive cultural, historical, ecological and economic impact on Bermuda since 1609. Uncover the understated significance this local treasure has played in helping America during crucial periods via the infamous GunPowder Plot, timely Tobacco trade and shipping of survival goods to Virginia via the Deliverance. Truly a bucket list on any visit to Bermuda, Tobacco Bay, operated by a new local company of tourism professionals, Beach Boys Ltd., takes pride in executing a fun, attentive, friendly, full-service concession year round, day into the early evening.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were going to stop at this beach as it was recommended to us. However, when we arrived it was crowded with beach goers and we just took a quick look around and left. I would definitely go to this beach at a different time as it is in a lovely spot and looks like a delightful way to spend the day...sans crowds.

Thank Nashna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belcario T, Owner at Tobacco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nashna! Thank you for your review and than you for stopping by Tobacco Bay (even if it was brief). Tobacco Bay is very popular so it does tend to get crowded from time to time. The least busy days are Tuesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. We hope you come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fish"
in 153 reviews
"small beach"
in 56 reviews
"snack bar"
in 31 reviews
"great snorkeling"
in 26 reviews
"rock formations"
in 36 reviews
"snorkel gear"
in 22 reviews
"calm waters"
in 17 reviews
"beach chairs"
in 22 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 35 reviews
"favorite beach"
in 14 reviews
"chair rentals"
in 10 reviews
"protected cove"
in 9 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 9 reviews
"clear water"
in 12 reviews
"jump off"
in 8 reviews
"great for kids"
in 10 reviews
"water shoes"
in 9 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you like privacy visit clear water bay it was much better beach, sand was pure white and many reasonable price rentals.

Thank Malika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belcario T, Owner at Tobacco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Malika,

Thank you for visiting Tobacco Bay. We're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your experience. Going forward, is there anything we could do to better our guests' experience?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I visited the City of St. George's, I walked up Government Hill Road, saw the unfinished church and continued walking towards Barry Road to see Tobacco Bay, Fort St. Catherine and St. Catherine's. Tobacco Bay is small and relaxing.

Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belcario T, Owner at Tobacco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Andre! Thank you for your great review and thanks for taking the time out to visit our beach! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent several morning hours at Tobacco Bay last week. We walked from the ferry pier in St. George. It was nice .8 km walk..about 20 minutes. Though small the beach was nice. My wife rented a snorkle for $15 and enjoyed herself but there weren’t that many colorful fish. I just strolled out in the water about 100 yards. The stony bottom was a drag at first but smoothed out the further I went. Prices were high for food and drink. The beach wasn’t very crowded when we arrived ..much more so when we left.

2  Thank ricardomnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belcario T, Owner at Tobacco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ricardomnt,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Tobacco Bay. Sorry about the fish, they come and go ;) Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They usually have bonfires on Friday nights, but there was an event the Friday we were there. They had relay races which were really fun to watch. (We couldn’t participate because a company rented out the restaurant and played these games) they have a floating beach volleyball court. The snorkeling was great! Water is see-through!

Thank brookey1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belcario T, Owner at Tobacco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Brookey1088! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Tobacco Bay! Thank you for the fabulous review! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tobacco Bay also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Tobacco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing