We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful church” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral)

Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral)
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mother Anglican church in Bermuda, known not only for its religious, historical, and social importance, but also for its beautiful architecture.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very beautiful church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently visited the church while on a cruise to Bermuda.The church is very close to the ferry terminal, about 5 minutes walk.It is only a block or two from the main bus terminal so it is in a very convenient location.We visited early in the morning, the lady at the gift shop was extremely helpful and pleasant.The stained glass windows and the altar are beautiful, it is worthwhile taking the time to look at all of them. I really liked the little memorial for Bermudians who fought in the World Wars.I did not go up into the tower, it was a little too hot for that.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank novamom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    68
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
476 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently visited this beautiful church while in Bermuda. It is quite and impressive building. The stained glass windows are amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
They only thing to be aware of is that they have a food kitchen to feed to poor so be sure to use the main entrance to get to the sanctuary.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TooOldtoRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Take a deep breath, do the tower steps & great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a beautiful cathedral that is only a couple of blocks from the popular strip of stores and restaurants on Front Street. What a cool cathedral! There's a lot of history here and it's really a must see in Hamilton. The stained glass windows are great and you'll see a lot of history involving England since Bermuda is a British Overseas Territory. The best part, if you're not claustrophobic and are in decent shape to handle a lot of steps, is going up the tower of the cathedral. If the door to the tower is not open, just make your $3 donation and the friendly folks will open up for you to go up to the tower. It's a tight corkscrew of concrete steps winding its way up the first part of the tower. Hopefully nobody will be coming down when you're trying to go up. The good news is that there are two rooms about half way up and three-quarters of the way up in which you can take a break and pass each other on the way up or down. I think it was 155 steps if I am correctly recalling what the sign said.
So, even if you're huffing and puffing a bit by the time you get to the top, you will have a spectacular 360 degree view of Hamilton. You will be outdoors right on top of the tower and there is even a bench if you would like to sit and enjoy the nice breeze. We were visiting Bermuda on a cruise and we could clearly see the cruise ships all the way over in the Royal Naval Dockyard. This is a fun way to spend about an hour looking around and experiencing a beautiful panoramic view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TomOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“WOW how beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you are in Hamilton take the time to walk through this old and beautiful church. The stained glass and statues are worth the time to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iroquois, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Truly Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

While in Hamilton our family visited the Cathedral. It is exquisite and should be on every tourists' "must see" list. We met a gentleman who worked at the Cathedral. He did not identify his occupation - maybe the sexton but probably not the priest. He seemed a little less enthusiastic about the place than we were but was certainly most informative. We got amazing photos.We had originally intended to visit the Art Gallery, at the city centre, but a private event was taking place so we unable to get in. Seeing the fine artwork at the Cathedral was just as good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral) also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing