We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm mansion, faded rooms”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Old charm mansion, faded rooms”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has charm and character, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We paid for a "prestigious room" but since we had to postpone our trip at the last minute due to an emergency, we ended up in a regular "motel-style" room at the end. These rooms are very dated all around, however, the hotel makes and effort of giving guests a nice experience. For all these reasons, I find it above satisfactory. We particularly like their 4 PM "tea time", it adds a nice touch to the stay. The hotel is within walking distance to Hamilton, where you can catch a bus to one the beaches, do some shopping, and take advantage of the restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for this review. We are sorry that your room was not up to our normal high standard. I have emailed you directly to ascertain the room number. We do have an ongoing program of upgrading our rooms and want to ensure we have not overlooked this one.
So happy to learn that your found our services, particularly afternoon tea to be above satisfactory. Thanks again for your valuable input.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    82
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
75
290
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hospitality of the staff is outstanding. The lush vegetation around the pool is beautiful. Property is located on the west edge of Hamilton and only three blocks from bus transportation throughout the island. Breakfast is available promptly when requested. It is most pleasant when eaten on the veranda. The Tuesday night "Swizzle" is most enjoyable and gives an opportunity to meet other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for this positive review. We are pleased that you found our staff outstanding. As mentioned our location is perfect to get around the island as we are close to ferry and buses. Our Weekly Swizzle party continues to be a hit with many guests becoming life long friends after meeting each other.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The main hotel building is wonderful, with lovely sitting rooms & a large porch area. It has the intimate feel of staying in a country house rather than some impersonal hotel, & we found ourselves saying hello to many of the other guests we passed. The pool area is also very pleasant. We loved the breakfasts, found all the staff very friendly & helpful, & had no complaints whatsoever. Some of the staff will chat with you in a relaxed & amusing way about the island & anything else you / they might find interesting, which we found very unusual but enjoyed very much. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faffmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for this wonderfu review. So happy that you love the intimate, personal feel of Rosedon. Our staff are the cornerstone of the success of the Hotel . Their engaging personalities always add a special touch. It is a natural friendliness that comes with being a Bermudian.

We would sure love to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at The Rosedon and were very pleased with this inn/hotel. As others on here have said many times, the hotel itself is impeccably maintained and it is a five minute walk into downtown Hamilton and its many shops and restaurants. Breakfast is brought to you within five minutes of calling and is always well prepared. Having it delivered to wherever you chose to have it that day is a pretty nice perk. The grounds and pool are nicely maintained and give you the feeling of being somewhere other than a city. Everyone on staff there is friendly and accommodating and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and when we arrived there was a bottle of champagne and an arrangement of flowers with a card. Nice touch. We spoke with a number of guests who have coming back there for years and many on Rosedon's staff have been with them for many years, as well. Their honor pantry is well stocked and MIles Market is just around the corner in case you need a quick lunch or dinner.
The only negative is that their Wi-Fi connectivity in rooms is very spotty and in some cases, non-existent. You need to go down to their computer room or walk around outside or near the pool in order to get service. Maybe it's a matter of the room you get? If connectivity isn't an issue for you, then it's not a problem.
If your plans take you to Hamilton and you are looking for a place to stay that is not overrun with conventions, (Hamilton Princess across the street), and you're looking for personalized attention with a staff who cares about you individually, then you won't find a better place than The Rosedon.
PS......and if you come across Sissy, who helps maintains the rooms and has been doing it around the island for almost 60 years, take the time to spend a few minutes with her. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We sure try to do things the right way with no short cuts. Your comments have validated our efforts.
We are happy to share that our WIFI, which we did have connectivity issues with in certain rooms has been upgraded and gives great signal wherever you are on the property. We realised the importance of our guests being able to stay 'connected' and have ensured that it is no longer an issue.
I will be sure to share your comments with Sissy. She does a fine job with our rooms.
We are happy that you choose to celebrate this special anniversary with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Rosedon over the Cup Holiday. It was truly a wonderful experience! The staff were very friendly and could not have been more accommodating. In addition all visitors were delightful, sharing their experiences and offering tips that improved our stay. Although a restaurant is not found on site, it is impossible to go hungry since a truly amazing breakfast, afternoon tea and honor pantry and bar are available. Our room was well appointed with a king size bed, flat screen TV, free wi-fi and lovely furnishings. We had some trepidations reserving a superior room since no photos were supplied. Rest assured they were unfounded, we could not have been more pleased. The room was bright and very comfortable. The location is a short distance from the ferry terminal and bus stop that will take you all over the island. Shuttle service is supplied to Elbow Beach. I would recommend taking advantage of the resort there where , as a day guest,you can rent 2 chaises and an umbrella for $65. This will give you additional access to changing and restrooms, beach beverage service and Mickey's restaurant as well as a spectacular pink sand beach. We are looking forward to returning to Bermuda soon and again staying at the Rosedon!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review. You got to experience one of the favorite holidays of Bermudians, Cup Match. Two days of cricket with all of us supporting either the Somerset or St. George team. We are happy to learn that you found our food options plentiful. Also glad you enjoyed our lovely pink beaches.

We try to ensure all our rooms are furnished and decorated to a high standard, which is why you were pleased with your selection of a superior room.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I returned to Bermuda after many years and this is my husband's first time ! The beach resorts are a fortune so we thought we'd take a chance on a Hamilton hotel. I'm so glad we did! Room was lovely, clean and steps away from the pool. The outdoor shared porch is private enough . The breakfasts are full and delicious ! Eggs cooked as requested and delivered to your door in minutes! The entire staff was delightful! All smiling and helpful . We enjoyed tea each day and the rum swizzle party! Met many nice guests from all over ! The shuttle to beach was easy and a perfect solution to not staying on the ocean. Also loved being able to walk into town to eat shop explore or grab a cab easily ! The Princess is across the street which offers a lot too! All in all perfect :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for this great review. So happy to have been able to host your return and your husband's first trip to Bermuda. Thrilled to learn that you found our services to be 'top notch'. Our shuttle to the beach has been a winner for us as you mentioned it allows you to get to the beach without being 'stuck' there. Our location frees you to explore so much more of what Bermuda has to offer.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from 3 nights at the Rosedon. We had a great experience there and recommend staying there if you want a true authentic Bermuda hotel experience. The hotel serves afternoon tea with mini sandwiches of various kinds (the tuna is excellent) and also some sweets. One day included scones with a butter that was very good. The room fee includes breakfast which you can chose to have in your room, outside in front of your room, by the pool, or on their front porch. This too was great.

The pool is centrally located and great for kids and adults. The pool is also surrounded by a lush garden that provides some shade but also make you feel like you are not at an urban hotel location.

The staff was very nice, helpful, and fun to interact with.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower level with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your Uniquely Bermudian experience at Rosedon. Our goal is to give our guests a feel for what is special about Bermuda. Our afternoon tea is evidence of that. All of our baked goods are made by our staff who have shared their favourite recipes with us. My personal delight are the scones served with our clotted cream and jam, made for us by Lauren on our Front Desk.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Property: Rosedon Hotel
Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Breakfast, lunch or dinner can also be served to you by the pool, in your room or front porch. Traditional English afternoon tea is available in the main house between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. Dinner service will be available from our new restaurant opening April 15. 2017. Every Tuesday we host a Bermuda Rum Swizzle Party featuring calypso music. Our guests are offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Romance & Spa, Anniversary, and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing