We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rosedon hotel July 2013”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Charming and very English Hotel right in the middle of all the action.

The hotel rooms are spotless and cool with great bathrooms.The hotel is right behind the Fairmont in Hamilton and next to teh Bacardi HQ all the nice restraunts ferry and local scooter shop are within a few minutes walk

Room Tip: book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstoniNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. We truly appreciate your kind words about the hotel facilities.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went with Tripadvisor and booked this beautiful, charming hotel for my wife and I and we also got a room for our elderly mom....all the positive comments are absolutely correct- as this is an incredible place to stay with impeccable service and very close to town....all staff members were as helpful as they could be and went out of their way for you...the pool and grounds are absolutely beautiful as there are daily staff taking care of everything....pool is never crowded and very relaxing (during our 4 days)....although they do not have a restaurant- large breakfasts are brought to you every morning within minutes after you call in your order- you can also choose where you wish to eat (room, balcony, poolside, front veranda) and afternoon tea is a really nice touch....keep in mind, this is not the place to stay if you want a fancy crowded touristy place- it is simply a charming place that caters to your needs so that you can have the vacation you desire...a 5-minute walk to numerous Hamilton restaurants, ferry and bus station, and they also provide complimentary shuttle service to Elbow beach....we will definitely be back! almost forgot Tuesday night rum swizzle party was incredible!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjeff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review. What a joy to have you, your wife and Mom stay with us.

As we are a small boutique hotel, our aim is to spoil you and make you feel pampered. It sounds like we succeeded!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I just spent six days at the Rosedon for our anniversary. This was our first visit to Bermuda and we chose the hotel because we wanted to be within walking distance of shopping & dining in Hamilton and I was impressed by the reviews here on tripadvisor. If you're looking for a quiet getaway close to town with exceptional service you needn't look any further, and we are now among the many satisfied guests who look forward to returning!. We booked a 2nd floor Royal room near the edge of the property and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The hotel's small but well maintained pool is open late into the evening, it was never crowded during our stay and occasionally we had it all to ourselves. The included full breakfast served between 7:30 and 10:30 at your choice of locations (we ate ours on the porch outside our room) is outstanding, and the comment by an earlier reviewer that the meals must be mass-prepared in advance is groundless. There is a broad selection of menu items available every day aside from the "standard" meal and the staff is hard at work in the kitchen all morning cooking eggs to order -- I never had a meal all week that spent any time under a warmer. The landscaping on the hotel grounds is immaculate and the abundant tropical flora look and smell amazing. You can sign for self-service drinks and snacks any hour of the day or night, and there are light meals available for delivery to your room or the pool for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. They have a daily complimentary shuttle to Elbow Beach and will also fix you a very nice box lunch in a little cooler to bring with you for $12. Tea is served on the front veranda of the main building each afternoon from 4 to 5:30 and includes complimentary baby sandwiches. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay and we also became acquainted with some of the other guests, many of whom were long-time fans of the property. Really our only complaint is that the beach shuttle only leaves at 11 and returns at 3 each day, we would have liked the option of an earlier departure. The Hamilton bus station is a short walk if you want to use public transportation as an alternative, or of course you can call a taxi or rent a moped to get around if you're so inclined. Elbow Beach is one of the most beautiful we've ever seen, but be aware that renting two lounge chairs with umbrella & towels from the resort there will set you back $65! Easy walk from the hotel to half a dozen excellent restaurants and lots of shopping downtown.

Room Tip: Those who value quiet may want to request a room not too close to the pool, which occasionally gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeithFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for this amazing review. It is very gratifying to read just how much you enjoyed our many services. I too continue to be surprised that despite the hotel being busy, our pool can be quite private with no one else around. We are presently reviewing our shuttle times with a view to better serving our guests.
We look forward to your return and becoming a part of our very special 'repeaters' clientele. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has charm and character, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We paid for a "prestigious room" but since we had to postpone our trip at the last minute due to an emergency, we ended up in a regular "motel-style" room at the end. These rooms are very dated all around, however, the hotel makes and effort of giving guests a nice experience. For all these reasons, I find it above satisfactory. We particularly like their 4 PM "tea time", it adds a nice touch to the stay. The hotel is within walking distance to Hamilton, where you can catch a bus to one the beaches, do some shopping, and take advantage of the restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for this review. We are sorry that your room was not up to our normal high standard. I have emailed you directly to ascertain the room number. We do have an ongoing program of upgrading our rooms and want to ensure we have not overlooked this one.
So happy to learn that your found our services, particularly afternoon tea to be above satisfactory. Thanks again for your valuable input.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hospitality of the staff is outstanding. The lush vegetation around the pool is beautiful. Property is located on the west edge of Hamilton and only three blocks from bus transportation throughout the island. Breakfast is available promptly when requested. It is most pleasant when eaten on the veranda. The Tuesday night "Swizzle" is most enjoyable and gives an opportunity to meet other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for this positive review. We are pleased that you found our staff outstanding. As mentioned our location is perfect to get around the island as we are close to ferry and buses. Our Weekly Swizzle party continues to be a hit with many guests becoming life long friends after meeting each other.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The main hotel building is wonderful, with lovely sitting rooms & a large porch area. It has the intimate feel of staying in a country house rather than some impersonal hotel, & we found ourselves saying hello to many of the other guests we passed. The pool area is also very pleasant. We loved the breakfasts, found all the staff very friendly & helpful, & had no complaints whatsoever. Some of the staff will chat with you in a relaxed & amusing way about the island & anything else you / they might find interesting, which we found very unusual but enjoyed very much. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faffmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for this wonderfu review. So happy that you love the intimate, personal feel of Rosedon. Our staff are the cornerstone of the success of the Hotel . Their engaging personalities always add a special touch. It is a natural friendliness that comes with being a Bermudian.

We would sure love to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at The Rosedon and were very pleased with this inn/hotel. As others on here have said many times, the hotel itself is impeccably maintained and it is a five minute walk into downtown Hamilton and its many shops and restaurants. Breakfast is brought to you within five minutes of calling and is always well prepared. Having it delivered to wherever you chose to have it that day is a pretty nice perk. The grounds and pool are nicely maintained and give you the feeling of being somewhere other than a city. Everyone on staff there is friendly and accommodating and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and when we arrived there was a bottle of champagne and an arrangement of flowers with a card. Nice touch. We spoke with a number of guests who have coming back there for years and many on Rosedon's staff have been with them for many years, as well. Their honor pantry is well stocked and MIles Market is just around the corner in case you need a quick lunch or dinner.
The only negative is that their Wi-Fi connectivity in rooms is very spotty and in some cases, non-existent. You need to go down to their computer room or walk around outside or near the pool in order to get service. Maybe it's a matter of the room you get? If connectivity isn't an issue for you, then it's not a problem.
If your plans take you to Hamilton and you are looking for a place to stay that is not overrun with conventions, (Hamilton Princess across the street), and you're looking for personalized attention with a staff who cares about you individually, then you won't find a better place than The Rosedon.
PS......and if you come across Sissy, who helps maintains the rooms and has been doing it around the island for almost 60 years, take the time to spend a few minutes with her. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review! We sure try to do things the right way with no short cuts. Your comments have validated our efforts.
We are happy to share that our WIFI, which we did have connectivity issues with in certain rooms has been upgraded and gives great signal wherever you are on the property. We realised the importance of our guests being able to stay 'connected' and have ensured that it is no longer an issue.
I will be sure to share your comments with Sissy. She does a fine job with our rooms.
We are happy that you choose to celebrate this special anniversary with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,015 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £297 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, Rosedon Hotel is a charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. The main house is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with heated swimming pool and fountains offers a quiet place to relax. Each room features it’s own covered porch and private sitting area to take in the view. Rosedon renovated the entire main house inside and out in early 2017 and introduced a new restaurant called ‘Huckleberry’; a nod to Mark Twain. Some of our Hotel amenities include ‘Triple Filtered’ in room drinking water, a heated outdoor swimming pool, traditional afternoon tea and a Bermuda Rum Swizzle party every Tuesday evening by the pool. Guests are also offered daily transportation and access to a pink sand beach located on the South Shore. Our Rooms are individually decorated with European fabrics and feature different furniture and bed sizes. Some of our rooms feature baths while others have showers. We are also committed to being environmentally conscious through solar hot water, LED lights inside and out, waste reduction and recycling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available in our new restaurant ‘Huckleberry’, located in the main house and front porch. Room service is also available, served to the room, patio / balcony or at Pool side. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing