We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked the Royal Palms a lot”
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Northern New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“We liked the Royal Palms a lot”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The people were friendly and helpful. The location was convenient and walkable, and yet just far enough from the business district of Hamilton that it felt peaceful and serene. Our room was comfortable. We had a ground-floor unit in the detached building, with a galley kitchen (sink, counter, counter-height mini fridge, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, Brita, and dishes). The room was immaculate and comfortable.

I paid special attention to the breakfast, because of conflicting reviews I had read. It was fine. They offered cereals, juices, coffee, tea, pastries, cheese and cold meats, fruit, yogurt, make-your-own waffle, and boil-your-own-egg (which is something you also see in Western Europe) toast, muffins. Our needs were met. It is not the full-on elaborate Sunday buffet at the Southampton Princess. Royal Palms is not a major resort; it's a smaller hotel, and the meal is included -- you're not forced to choose between paying extra for the meal, or going elsewhere. For those who really want a meat-heavy breakfast, or eggs and pancakes cooked to order, there is Bouchee on Pitts Bay Road, and The Spot in town.

There are lovely outdoor sitting areas, and the pool is small but attractive. I would go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank WaterEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear WaterEnthusiasts,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We certainly appreciate your comments! I'm so pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    82
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
112
474
36
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC Metro Area
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What can I add that hasn't been said already! (Please read Reviewer Amanda G's review which perfectly described our visit.) We are going back to The Royal Palms Hotel next time we visit Bermuda. On our last day, we visited other hotels in Hamilton. We agreed that the Royal Palms was the best, even though some of the others were very nice.

The hotel management and staff are excellent, without exception. They made our stay even more memorable and pleasant. They are most solicitous, helping us with whatever we needed: directions, restaurant suggestions, taxis, laundry arrangements, local history, names of flora and fauna, and the story of the hotel, and more.

At breakfast (we slept in and arrived about 20 minutes before closing), John and the rest of the team made sure we had whatever we wanted - which included waffles, fresh fruit, yogurts, breads and cakes, cheeses and meats, jams and jellies, and more.

We are foodies, We had New Year's Eve dinner at the hotel, with a special menu and decorations. Most of the patrons were Bermuda residents - if the locals like it, it must be very very good. It was very very good. We are dinner twice at the hotel and were very pleased with the excellent cuisine and service.

We traveled by bus to visit St George, the Zoo / Aquarium, and the beaches. (Buy a 16 trip ticket at the bus station in town - $2 a ride anywhere on the island.) The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Best of all, holiday lights were hung on the trees and the tree frogs were chirping. Our late evening strolls were magical. If we had an estate in Bermuda, we would landscape it exactly like Royal Palms. We ARE going back to the Royal Palms Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "new building" in a second floor room with a king bed. The room was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeltwayRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear BeltwayRider,

Thank you for your review. What a fantastic start to the new year by bringing it in in Bermuda, and we're so glad you chose to stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My fiancé was fascinated with the frogs chirping in the tree and one night we decided to look for them. However, and though depicted on the Bermuda $20 bill, they are so small that they are very difficult to find. Walking by, a caretaker, Engel (short for Engelbert, I later discovered) offered to help. 'Still no luck. He said he would be right back, and we naturally thought he was leaving us to our search because he had something to do. None the less, he was back in just a few minutes with a large flashlight. He let us use it for the rest of the night, and we continued our search for the elusive frogs - we eventually found one. Thank you Engel!

Like the tiny Bermuda frog, the before mentioned is just one tiny example of the attentiveness of the staff. They are outstanding!

Nightly, from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm, the hotel served complimentary wine. A wonderful touch.

The attached restaurant, called Ascots, is also great! Though I am not normally a fan of chilled soups, their Chilled Banana Soup with rum and toasted almonds is amazing! I also had a banana glazed fish! Wow! Great!

Another night, post touring the islands, the restaurant was packed, but the staff allowed us to have desert and wine on the hotel's comfortable veranda. We had the banana cheesecake. As you might guess, it was incredible!

Needless to say, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Tom F,

Engel will be so pleased to know that you eventually found the elusive frogs! Isn't it amazing how much noise such a small creature can make! Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I wholeheartedly agree with the accolades piled onto this wonderful little hotel by so many Tripadvisor members and this was the main reason for chosing the Royal Palms. We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing Easter break and it was clear from the moment we arrived to the moment we left that the staff sole aim was to offer tailor made hospitality to delight each individual guest. Having met the charming owners you could see why the staff love working here and feel impowered to be themselves, read their guests and go that extra mile to makes everyone feel special and valued. Looking a bit sun and windburnt one day the lovely Elysia spontaneously offered us some cooling gel and suggested we may pick some aloe Vera from their beautiful garden. She found out that our British Airways flight departure was in the evening and suggested that we kept out room until we were ready to depart, taxi arranged for a seamless departure. Our mini suite in the main house was freshly decorated in a traditional style inkeeping with the style and ambiance of the building and sparklingly clean..and beautifully prepared with fresh flowers for our arrival...the doors to any unoccupied rooms were left open, a lovely subtle touch which added to the airy, homely country house feel. A generous continental breakfast was offered every morning and John is there to welcome you with a warm smile, a funny tale and a suggestion on how you might wish to spend for your day. Sonia's vibrant personality left us smiling long after our departure and the lovely Bulgarian lady, sadly cannot recall her name, made us feel so comfortable and at home in the Just 24 restaurant. All the staff put their heart and soul into this very special place that there would be no better place to stay when visiting Hamilton .. we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloisw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear aloisw8,

It is such a pleasure to hear feedback from extremely satisfied guests as it is an encouragement for our whole team to keep on providing high levels of service. We are blown away with your awesome review, thank you so very much!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We just had a "quick trip" to Bermuda and our stay at the Royal Palms was great! It is a boutique-like city hotel. The staff is incredibly friendly (the entire island is very friendly!) and the location of the hotel is ideal for sightseeing/exploring - we could easily walk into Hamilton - and do things right there, or walk to the bus and ferry when we wanted to explore the island. The pool is a perfect way to end the day of sightseeing (note: it's not a resort hotel so the pool doesn't have that resort-y feel, but for a couple of hours of soaking up the sun it's great). Breakfast is included as is a "wine hour" at the end of the day. The restaurant attached to the hotel is ranked as one of the best in Bermuda and we enjoyed eating there one night - again, the service was terrific (and the food was very good too)! We walked into Hamilton for our other nights out. I'd highly recommend this hotel - ideal for a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASG1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Amanda G,

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next 'quick getaway trip' to Bermuda.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

There's an impressive attention to detail at this hotel. For example, when I arrived and gave my name, the woman at the front desk greeted me by wishing me a Happy Birthday. It's a 10 minute walk from the center of Hamilton, which means there's less noise. The rooms are lovely and well-maintained. Overall a great place to stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jack H,

We're so pleased you chose to spend your birthday with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Once again The Royal Palms surpassed our expectations from previous years.
It just seems to get better and better. No wonder it won the best hotel in the Caribbean
in relation to customer satisfaction.
Upon arrival to departure you always feel like you are royalty. The staff takes great pride
in their workplace and it shows.The front desk staff with Elysha,Kate and of course the manager
Theresa are first class and make you feel at home upon your arrival.The breakfast host
John starts off your day with a wee story to get you off on the right foot.
The hotel has two restaurants on site which are first class eateries. Angelo is always there to
greet you and Danny and Arnold are there at your service.
My wife and I are so impressed with The Royal Palms that we have already booked again
next year. We highly recommend The Royal Palms as the place to stay in Bermuda.

Room Tip: Book a mini-suite in the other building as they are very quiet and in a garden setting. Very beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgm792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear dgm792,

We're thrilled that you have already booked your 4th visit with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with our service and amenities and therefore very pleased to hear you were not disappointed.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
532 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
651 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,081 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,554 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Property: Royal Palms Hotel
Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing