We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway in Hamilton”
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are experienced travelers and would include The Royal Palms in any list of top hotels. Wonderful staff, lovely suite, good food and warmly welcoming all surrounded by gracious gardens in a quiet Pembroke location. This hotel surpassed all our expectations and deserves its many accolades

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faded-elegance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear faded-elegance,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have amazing staff that truly want every guest to have the best stay possible. We're honored that you would list us as a top hotel, and that we exceeded your expectations. We certainly hope that you will return one day!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff at the hotel is the friendliest I have witnessed in Bermuda. They are so helpful and kind. They really make you feel like you are part of the family and the hotel is your home away from home. The hotel grounds are Bermudaful! The gardens are amazing. The special garden court adjacent to your restaurant and bar is so special and inviting. It is nice that the hotel is spread out into different wings, so everyone has their own space. I particularly enjoyed the location of our room, in what was historically the stables of the original estate. It was fun being on the second floor with a patio overlooking the pool. It was very nice and quiet, too. The suites that have the full patios are great.

Food and beverage outlets and options are the most impressive I have ever seen in a boutique hotel. The award winning Ascots is fantastic. 24 and the bar with the patios are also great. Your continental breakfast is really a full breakfast, offering options of quiche, eggs and waffles! Again the setting with the windows, gardens, swings, open air are so charming and the food is delicious. Usually, I skip continental breakfasts at hotels. However, I looked forward to morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Amy VA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Amy VAN,

Thank you for your awesome review! We're pretty lucky to have a great team of colleagues who love what they do. We want all our guests to feel that this is their home when staying with us.

We certainly hope that you will visit us again!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Royal Palms and we have tried out a variety of room types there. This trip, we asked if we could move to another room after the first night (slight problem with a/c in original room). We very rarely do that. Our request was immediately addressed and everyone went out of their way to make the switch easy for us. They even let us use one of the empty rooms to shower in when we arrived back at the hotel early - before our "new" room was ready for us. We have nothing but good things to say about everyone here, whether front office, cleaning and maintenance, or breakfast staff. They are all friendly and customer service is clearly very important. There are many returning guests for a reason. The place is beautiful, extremely clean, a nice walk into the centre of Hamilton and several good restaurants if, like us, you spend your day exploring the island on mopeds, but want to be central in the evening and not limited to just one or two places to eat. We enjoyed drinks at the bar at Ascots after returning from dinner on most nights and met some interesting people there - locals and tourists.

They have added quiche and hard boiled eggs to the continental breakfast menu this year - nice addition especially if you don't want to bother boiling your own egg in the boiler provided. The breakfast is tasty and more than adequate (suggestion -- regular size mugs as well as the smaller cups would be nice).

This is not a place to stay if you are looking for a beach vacation, though you can access the beaches by moped or by using Bermuda's excellent bus system. Moped rental is available nearby (walkable), and taxis are always readily available.

Thank you everyone at RP for treating the "guests from hell" so well. It is easy to garner praise when everything goes well with someone's stay, but your graceful handling of our room change request really showed us how first rate you are! Hope to see you for our fifth visit soon!

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate building across the gardens or in the "mews" make the experience for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HobokenReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear HobokenReader,

It was lovely to have you stay with us again, and you were definitely not anywhere near as you described yourselves!!!
We've already noted your preferred area in your profile so there won't be any need for a room move on your next stay.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the additions to the breakfast buffet and thank you for your suggestion regarding the mugs.
Thank you for your awesome review of our property, we really do appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you on your 5th trip.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fabulous hotel so glad we chose the Royal Palms Hotel. All the staff were so friendly & helpful. Food was excellent we had dinner in the restaurant & breakfast every morning. Great place to stay 5 mins walk to the centre of Hamilton but set in a little haven of peace and tranquility. Gardens & pool area delightful.
Thank you for making our trip to Bermuda so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Suzy250,

Thank you for your kind review. It really makes us happy to know that we contributed to your memorable stay in Bermuda. We're so pleased you chose to stay with us, and truly hope you will return one day.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I were here on a double birthday and we had a blast, From Theresa and the entire staff they were all fabulous and offered to help us with anything we needed and made everything so easy and comfortable. Exceeded our expectations, Deifnitely will return. Just a beautiful property and the walk to town was easy and always fun. Tons to do locally! Would go back just to see the staff alone. Ken & Barbie

Room Tip: I would go with what the staff recommends as they are very accommodating. Just ask and I am sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Kenny L,

What a wonderful double celebration it was for you both. We loved having you stay with us and look forward to your return. Thank you so much for your kind review!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I originally went to Bermuda for work and we decided to have my husband come out and make a long weekend of it. Hotels in Bermuda are super expensive, and it made me nervous that Royal Palms seemed like such a good deal. I have to say, I was very pleasantly surprised. What a wonderful hotel. Definitely a B&B feel. It is not on the beach, so you have to take a cab or the bus to the beach which didn't bother us. It was a nice walk into town. The room was great, very spacious like a mini suite. It had a kitchenette which was useful. There is a grocery store near by to get snacks to stock the room which is also great as food in Bermuda is incredibly expensive. The room was very clean. The hotel has an upscale restaurant (we didn't eat there) but we did sit at the bar and have a drink which was nice. Staff was wonderful. Continental breakfast included in the price, also a nice perk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rauen611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear rauen611,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you were able to extend your business trip and enjoy our hotel with your husband. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you will get to enjoy Ascots Restaurant on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the downtown Hamilton and Ferry. We enjoyed breakfast every morning and the wine reception every evening. Gardens are gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loriek48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Ioriek48,

We're so happy to hear you had a fabulous time. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
544 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,072 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £234 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing