We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our high expectations...”
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 July 2013

While I may only be repeating what others have written, we were so pleased with our stay that I feel compelled to add another great review. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite for 4 nights. After a long and frustrating flight, a short 30 min. cab ride (about $30) from the airport brought us to the Kingston House. Harry warmly met us and even took us on a short 10 cent tour of the town (in his new electric car!) to get our bearings and show us where the grocery store is etc.

Our room was clean, bright and spacious. Complete with a terry robes, a large furnished balcony and lots of closet space.

While not a "hot" breakfast, breakfast is more than adequate with yogurt, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fresh baked scones and bread etc. Very good.

They really have made an effort to provide anything that you could possibly need. Such as small kitchenette area where each room has a shelf in the fridge, dishes, cultery, wine opener, coffee/tea, filtered water, umbrellas, beach mats, towels etc. These extras are really appreciated.

The walk into town is only about 5-10 min. I wouldn't say it is "dangerous" but there is no sidewalk. Just be alert. Most of the other guests were pleased with the bus system and ferries. My husband and I rented scooters for 3 days from Smatts. It was one of the highlights of our trip and we enjoyed the freedom it gave us. We covered the whole island in the time we were there. And found the locals to be very patient with us on the road.

One rainy evening a cab failed to show up to take us to dinner, and so Marlie insisted on driving us into town herself. Very nice!

This B&B is fantastic value in Bermuda. The proximity to town was very convenient. My only question is when can we come back?

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Palmetto Suite which has a large balcony (facing rear garden), and a sitting room/tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Marlie was a great host and spent time showing us everything when we arrived. Nice breakfast, 10 minute walk to town and a lot cheaper than hotels like the Princess (which is only a 5 minute walk away). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just finished a great week in Bermuda and the Kingston House B&B. Marlie's fruit plates and home made bread and granolas were superb! After hiking segments of thr Rail Trail, we relaxed nightly in the endless pool and the lovely garden. We plan to return soon to finish the Rail Trail and to stay at the Kingston House.

Bev & Larry (Prescott, AZ)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have just stayed at Kingston House and in many ways I concur with the glowing reports to be found on here about this property. I just feel some of them are a little exaggerated and therefore perhaps I was expecting a bit too much. Overall it is fine. It is cosy and clean and handily placed for Hamilton, although the 15 minute walk into town without a pavement is somewhat lethal. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the pool, although small, is a great temperature. The owner, Marlie, is lovely, very chatty and friendly. During my visit we had mainly just Marlie and the atmosphere in the house relaxed noticeably after her rather overbearing husband left for a trip to Canada.

Regarding negatives and changes I would make. It is not pointed out that this is a vegan establishment. That is fine and I have no problem with that lifestyle choice but I would probably not have chosen to stay there if I had known there wouldn't be any eggs or ham for breakfast. The choice is very limited and breakfast is very average. I was surprised to see the pastries cut in half to make it look more! It is good to offer free tea and biscuits all day but please also offer coffee without guests having to ask, not everyone wants tea. I think it would also be good to put a couple of sun loungers on the back terrace. When the sun disappears behind the house you lose it completely unless you go to the back terrace where it is still blazing but there is nowhere to sit. Finally I had to turn off my bathroom towel rail. I understand the problems of drying towels but these rails should be off in summertime - the bathroom was like a sauna.

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs. It is quite noisy in the mornings on the ground floor as everyone is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alysonclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marliepowell, Owner/Manager at Kingston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Clarification & Correction:
Breakfasts are not strictly vegan, even though Marlie is a raw vegan chef. Milk, cream, cottage cheese, hard cheeses, butter and a selection of plain and fruit yogurts have always been on the breakfast menu as well as the baked goods, fresh fruit, home-made granolas, etc.
Very large pastries are sometimes cut in half so guests can sample several different types without feeling overloaded. As breakfast is buffet style, one could eat both halves of many and no one would mind!
Our fresh roasted, fair-trade organic coffee left on the brew all day would not taste very nice so we keep keep instant in the guest fridge on the "house" shelf--we dashed out and bought another jar without checking to see that there was a full jar in plain view. We will put in a small coffee brewer in the guest galley, so folks can make their own fresh coffee in the afternoon if they like. Point well taken.
The large west terrace is a 'yoga deck'. It's tranquil and surrounded by flowers and vines wrapped around big columns with a large Buddha sculpture at one end. Yoga mats are provided but it is not furnished. There is nothing stopping from anyone from grabbing a mat and towel and sunbathing there rather than using it for yoga.
The heated towel racks are widely appreciated year-round. If unwanted, guests can switch them off, no problem. However, if one also chooses to switch off the air conditioning in the summer, the heat from the rail can make the bathroom too warm. Either way, guests have full control of the heating and cooling in their rooms.
Harry is a big guy, and hard not to notice but when he is away, guests miss out on his wonderful sense of humour, willingness to provide shuttle service back and forth to town for those who aren't comfortable with our narrow roads, and as his family dates back hundreds of years to the early settlers in Bermuda, he's always ready with some local folklore which most guests thoroughly enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

In April we stayed at the wonderful Kingston House B&B for the 3rd time. The rooms are charming and clean, breakfast is plentiful, the eat-in area is very handy and practical, the garden and pool area is inviting.
We knew a friend we made on our last visit, was also going to be there, along with 2 couples he was introducing to Bermuda for the first time. We filled up all 4 rooms! It was fun to chat at breakfast and meet up for drinks, lunch/dinner.
We have always been made to feel so welcome by Harry and Marlie who are terrific hosts and, go out of their way to help in any way possible. They truly feel like family.
Bermuda is a safe, friendly and beautiful island with lots to see and do. It has great transportation systems of buses and ferries making it easy and cheap to get around. After 4 visits we are still discovering new things to explore. We will be back!

Room Tip: The 2 rooms on the main floor are smaller but perfectly adequate. Upstairs, the suite is huge with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

As a business traveler, I appreciated being able to have a leisurely ten-minute walk to the downtown business area in the morning after breakfast. Getting a taxi on rainy days is easy if you want a ride to the downtown area or the main ferry dock that is also nearby.
The second floor room I had at the front had a nice balcony and the room was well appointed with chairs and a table to work on. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and spacious. An ample breakfast with a good variety of food is available.
The owner is quite approachable for any information you might need. I did not have time to 'hang around' and visit or lounge on the side deck, but it appeared that other tourists enjoyed the public space of this lovely B&B.
I will certainly use this B&B again for future business trips to Bermuda.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably a bit quieter than the rooms on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our first experience in a B&B and it most definitely did not disappoint. The owners of this B&B "get it"...from the time you arrive until the time you leave...you're at home. And, they are just wonderful people. Great place to stay, very clean, and warm. Breakfast's offered a great variety. Just an outstanding place to say. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,094 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,145 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aunt Nea's Inn
Aunt Nea's Inn
#1 of 1 in St. George's Parish
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: £86 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing