We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much to see here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paget Marsh

Paget Marsh
Ranked #14 of 18 things to do in Paget Parish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the unspoiled marshland of the Caribbean at this nature reserve.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not much to see here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was hoping for a more expansive view of Bermuda ecology when I visited this marsh. Though the marsh is large, the boardwalk itself is quite small -- perhaps 1/4 a mile end-to-end. There are a few interpretive signs along the boardwalk, but even scouring for birds and reading every sign won't take you more than 20 minutes. The scenic (and longer) Bermuda Railway trail is right nearby so you can walk on that for a while to get some more nature in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe next time...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stopped here on the way from the beach and although we read some of the reviews, we wanted to see for ourselves.
There were workers cutting some of the dead foliage from the boardwalk but it was open. It is interesting but it is small and because of the heavy foliage, there isn't a lot to see.
I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to see this but if you are in the area, it may be worth a look.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paget Marsh closed for maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband & I were excited to see this landlocked marsh. We hopped off the bus and promptly crossed the road & walked up the hill looking for Lover's Lane, thinking we had followed the sign by the bus stop. Oops. However, we did take a short walk on the Railway Trail & intend to try more of the trail elsewhere in the country. OK, so we went back down the hill and got directions. Once at the entrance to the marsh, walked down a laneway bordered by a magnificent hedge covered in flowers. We were excited to get into the marsh. Unfortunately, we found that the entrance to the boardwalk was closed. Apparently extensive work is underway. Perhaps next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WintergreenFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
853 reviews
394 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
“What a missed opportunity !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

This could be such a good place to visit and get a picture of what the natural Bermuda was like.
Unfortunately it's a neglected, uncared for spot that basically should be an embarrassment to the Bermudan tourist board and to the National Trust who apparently maintain it.
The much maligned board walk is now closed " for repairs" , although we didn't realise this until we had ducked under the piece of wood across the entrance as the sign saying it was closed had fallen down , presumably through neglect as well.
We did it anyway and at least got to see the ponds and the very good red mangrove trees beyond.
The boardwalk is closed for good reason and there was no sign of any "repairs" taking place and I suspect there is no plan for any in the future also.
The place was full of terrapins and frogs and the strange looking local cranes.
Fortunately we decided to visit after walking the Warwick and Pagent sections of the disused railway so were more disappointed at what this place could be rather than angry if we had made a special effort to specifically come here.
This place could be so good. Shame on you Bermuda National Trust.

Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hiking trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was a nice trail that was mostly flat in the area where we walked. There were joggers as well as bike riders and on a Sunday morning there were enough other people to feel safe. We probably wouldn't hike it at a slower time on the week due to being cautious people.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alphaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paget Marsh also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Paget Marsh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing