We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be improved upon-not quite to the standard of the rest of the property”
Review of Bacci

Bacci
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A taste of Tuscany on the South Shore, Bacci offers casual elegance, generous portions and reasonable prices in a friendly setting. Bacci's talented chefs prepare traditional Italian dishes with passion and authenticity. From handmade artisanal pastas to classic comfort foods, each plate is lovingly prepared using the freshest seasonal ingredients. Sweeping views of the ocean, our golf course, and Gibbs Hill Lighthouse provide the perfect backdrop for dinner with family and friends. It's Italian with a passion...Bravo Bacci!
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could be improved upon-not quite to the standard of the rest of the property”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Southampton Fairmont for our 25th anniversary and ate at Bacci our first night in. Having stayed here some years ago under the Princess banner, we wondered how the experience would stack up. The restaurant is on property, accessible by shuttle. The setting is pleasant and our waiter was attentive but businesslike, lacked the warmth of the other staff we enjoyed throughout virtually our whole stay. Our appetizers (delicious mussels for me, a tuna tartare for my husband) were actually fine but our entrees left something to be desired. I had a fish dish in a broth but the skin was left on and it was somewhat tasteless and the soggy skin did not enhance it either. My husband had an entrée which was like a seafood stew which was pretty good. Desserts were actually quite delicious (cheesecake and tiramisu) if conventional. No real complaints but no wows either. Both of us felt we would probably not return due to the abundance of great choices both on and off property. Fairmont has an opportunity for improvement here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank limsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    90
    56
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in Bermuda”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoy Italian food and she was exicited to eat a Bacci during our stay at the Fairmont Southampton. We started with the bruschetta. It was very fresh and quite tasty. I had the house special macaroni dish which was very good. The sausage was well flavored and not greasy which paired well with the homemade pasta and sauce. My wife enjoyed her chicken parmigiana. We did not have wine; however, they have an extensive wine list. The desserts were excellent as well. The cheesecake was very good. The mimosa cake was unique and so light and enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Currently staying for three nights at the Fairmont Southampton. On our first night, we ate dinner here. The food was amazing and the price is in sync with other places on the island. We loved it so much, we went back tonight for desserts. Most likely going to have dinner there tomorrow night.

Most of the waitors/waitresses are foreign and very nice/attentive. No pretensciousness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doshivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Takeaway was truly awful!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Fairmont in Southampton, Bermuda - a lovely hotel! But on our last night we decided to eat on our balcony and nstead of ordering room service, we ordered some food "to go" from this hotel restaurant. Big mistake!

Firstly, we couldn't have our first choice of pasta dish and they said we must have an old menu though we had been given it by the concierge only the day before. So we chose again and ordered one pizza, one pasta dish and a salad.

They advised us that the food would be ready in 20 minutes so we got there early to try to ensure that it was as hot as possible when we got it back to our room. When we got there we understood that it wasn't quite ready and were happy to wait.

The food was very disappointing. Despite our efforts, the pasta dish was stone cold and we left most of it. It may have been quite tasty but as we had no means of re-heating it, we couldn't find out. The pizza tasted as if salt had been sprinkled in handfuls over it, and in places it was so salty that it was also inedible. The only dish we finished was the salad and it really was only a side salad sized portion though this wasn't at all clear on the menu.

All in all, we definitely would not recommend this restaurant for takeaway food. It may be better if you eat in the restaurant where at least you would have the option of returning it or asking for it to be heated up. Certainly, the staff seemed very friendly. We certainly regretted our decision to eat on our balcony and we went to bed hungry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mocampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton in Bermuda (which is a great hotel for a family vacation). There are several restaurants on the resort, which we tried; however, we ended up going to Bacci three times during our 7 day stay. The food in general was pretty good. The meals that we enjoyed the most were the lobster risotto, meatballs, seafood taglitelle, linguine vongole and lobser ravioli...and the grilled salmon fingers for our 1 yr old son. What stood out most about the restaurant was the service. It's not easy to dine with a 1 yr old but the staff was great and made sure we were comfortable and that our son was also comfortable. Edwin was very friendly and made us feel like home. He even shared some pics of his children. Another one of the servers (Flor something), who wasn't our server kept our son entertained when he was on the verge of losing it. At one point I had to leave since our son was having a tantrum. We went out to the 18th green and soon after the manager (Vinit) came out with a glow-in-the-dark golf ball, which caught the attention of my son and soon we were back inside to enjoy our meal. As said in a previous review, good food but the service was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AT1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacci also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing