We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value in an expensive place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Value in an expensive place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel is normally a better deal than many of the others in Bermuda. As Bermuda is a really exclusive and expensive there are never many real "deals" to be had however this one normally has slightly better rates and so for that reason this is often a good hotel to go to. You get a great standard five star for the money with a wonderful bar and restaurant. Service is second to none and food is excellent.
One tip is this hotel is at the back of the airport so about an hour transfer from the airport and as Taxis are expensive so book an airport transport provider before coming out to save 25%.
If you have the ability to stretch to a club room you will get more space, a club lounge with breakfast and dinner nibbles included and tea and coffee. While the rooms cost more, the extras included do save you some money when you get there.
Grounds are beautiful, there is a great golf course for golf lovers. The beach is really lovely and there is a gorgeous beach restaurant and tennis courses down there but be prepared to get a trolley to these areas as it is a 5 minute trolley ride down a steep hill.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel tips here on TripAdvisor. There are lots of good bargains to be had, and I'm glad to hear you snagged one for your past vacation. The hotel is about 30-40 minutes away from the airport, but pre-arranged transport certainly can be arranged. I am glad to hear you enjoyed Fairmont Gold and the associated amenities and also the different property amenities. I hope you're able to make a return visit soon, thanks again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    1,088
    392
    177
    99
See reviews for
1,017
1,548
95
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I decided on bermuda because we took a cruise last summer and fell in love with the island. We had our 2 year old son with us and we had an amazing time.We stayed on the gold floor and I feel it made the trip that much better. They have an amazing breakfast that is included with your gold floor room, afternoon tea and scones, delicious appetizers before dinner, and cookies at night. The private concierge went out oftheir way to make everything exceptional.We ate at all of the restaurants and the food was amazing!! We took the ferry to Hamilton and loved the other fairmont as well. Bermuda is on the pricey side but I felt the quality of what you get made up for it. The three of us can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your stay on Fairmont Gold, the team up there are truly fabulous and I will certainly let them know how special they made your stay with the family. We look forward to having you back with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is indeed a most beautiful hotel on the most beautiful end of the island. I very much enjoyed my stay - great rooms with great views, great service. The cost, however, is massive. The rooms are pricey and so is the food - the food definitely not being worth it. The room also didn't completely bowl me over - very nice, but I've seen better for this price. You also need to be aware that this hotel is not directly at the beach. There is a shuttle to the hotel's private beach, which is a smallish enclosed area with some beginner level snorkeling and limited swimming. The hotel itself sits high on a hill, looking out over the water on all sides of the building. All in all, it was a wonderful stay, but I do wonder whether it was worth the incredible amount of money I spent for staying just three days.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter which side of the hotel you're on - the expensive ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne78_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid thoughts about your recent vacation. It sounds like you enjoyed the hotel property and the area. The cost of food in Bermuda is a reality of operating a business on an isolated island where all food must be imported. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experiences. You can walk down the hill to the beach in about 5-7 minutes, or catch the trolley every 3 minutes or so. The beach is about 1/2 a mile long, and is adjacent to Horseshoe Bay which connects to all the other South Shore beaches, giving you miles of beach to choose from. I hope you were able to experience that also. Thank you again for your review, and the gorgeous photo attached.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
705 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

While doing a island tour with a local cab drive from our cruise ship stopped here for a few minutes for our touring party to check this this pplaace out. The Fairmount hotel chain is world class in both its presentationn and how it trears it guests. In fact, I was at the Fairmount in downtown Vancouver, BC Canaada in 2006 for a international criminology conference. I was a member of the International Corrections & Prisons Association at that time and my dealing with them was rather exceptional. From what I saw this Fairmount hotel is no different than what I experienced here as well. Our knowledgeable and safe cab driver told us that locals fronm the island of Bermuda can stay here for a very reasonable rate. Nice to know for an island byult on tourism in my personal opinion but this is a good thing here!

Room Tip: Exceptional international world chain hotel that is in a class of all its own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have stayed at many Fairmont Hotels for both Business and Pleasure. We were all somewhat concerned here in Bermuda with the distance to the main city. We had very little time and wanted to experience some excellent island cuisine. There are many restaurant choices on property and to our DELIGHT we were impressed with the quality and services by most restaurants. We ate at most of the restaurants and on the last day discussed our favorites. The Ocean Club, incredible views, tasty seafood and OK service. The view is what made it incredible. It was a busy night and the sunset made everything perfect. The Pool menu was limited but had attentive service, Courtney was our server most of the time and she knew us by name and our drink order. The pool could certainly do with a make over. The delight of the pool was the cook like a chef's event where we all sat around, had a riot with the chefs, bartender and manager and got to try cocktails and mini burgers all for free. A big hit and tasty! I will say she was quite the Ambassador for your hotel She provided us with hotel dining tips (knowing most of the menu items),restaurant reviews, tour ideas and bermuda history. I do not remember her name but she should work in Sales-- as she could do very well for your hotel. We were most impressed with her walking around the pool- all in black- on a hot day promoting the event to all. The pub in the lobby, I think its new to the hotel, had great comfort food british style, but didnt have island cuisine we were hoping for, Maria provided exceptional service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such a memorable experience on TripAdvisor. Our Cook like a Chef events over the summer were a big hit, and I am so glad to hear you enjoyed one of them. It's great that you found most of the dining to be exceptional, although I am sad to hear you didn't find quite the local cuisine you were looking for. The sunset from the Ocean Club truly is remarkable, and it sounds like you had a fabulous visit this August. We look forward to hosting you in sunny Bermuda again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights over Halloween celebrating my birthday and it was a fabulous getaway. We were on the concierge/Gold 6th floor facing Great Sound and Hamilton and the view was spellbinding. The staff was consistently very friendly and professional and special kudos to our concierge, Robin, and Kim and Pasqual in the lounge area. We have vacationed several times in Bermuda, usually staying in smaller venues, but this time, we opted for a resort and we picked a great one. We will be back and with other couples.
Meals are pricey (but that's to be expected in Bermuda), though the quality was very good. We had a wonderful dinner on the deck at the Ocean Grill in balmy breezes. The shuttles to the beach and the Waterlot are very handy and timely. Make sure you take the hotel's ferry to Hamilton as it is a scenic ride across the harbor and through the islands. Also, bus service around the island is very reasonable and safe. You will find the Bermudians to be very friendly and courteous. We loved the hotel's private beach and the Cabana bar and grill is perfect for a tropical drink or lunch.
Our room was very nicely appointed and it was pristine in every way. The walk in closet was huge. The household staff was very helpful and attentive to every detail.

Room Tip: Consider the Gold (top floor) rooms, either ocean or bay views, for the best views and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The fairmont if definitely one of the nicest hotels in Bermuda. The room itself is very large and the bathroom is stunning. The view though was of the back of the hotel which was actually really gross. When they say obstructed view they mean it. The hotel itself was a little outdated but very large and pool was nice. Staff was not the friendliest but not the worst either. Make sure to check out the pool at night when it us open to non spa goers.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for sharing about your trip to Bermuda, I am glad you found the hotel beautiful. It is disappointing, however, to hear that you did not find our staff friendly or helpful, and I apologise for any inconvenience that caused. Our Moderate Rooms are no-view, while our Fairmont Rooms are partially obstructed views of roofs and building. There are room categories with better views available. I am heartened to hear that you enjoyed your evening swims in the Spa pool, and I hope that on your next visit you will find the service to have improved greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Destinology, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing