We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Southampton is Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Bermuda is my new favorite island nation. I've visited dozens of Caribbean islands, but Bermuda, located 700 miles east of North Carolina, has it all without the hassles and concerns for safety.
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel is its jewel property although it's older sister, the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, is very charming.
The Fairmont Southampton is not only outstanding for tourists looking for a great escape to someplace that offers beautiful private (and public) beaches, unique shopping, challenging golf courses and first-class dining.
The Fairmont Southampton is also an outstanding destination for meetings and conferences with its plentiful meeting space, golf course and first-class service. I highly recommend it.

A few helpful hints if you visit Bermuda...
1. You need a passport. But, it's so easy to clear Customs and Immigration... very friendly.
2. Plan to stay at least four nights. Spend two nights at the Fairmont Princess Hamilton, located on the main drag of Hamilton, the capital city. It's about a half mile from the center of town.... an easy walk to the shops, restaurants and bars.
2. The Fairmont Hamilton Princess (named after Queen Victoria's "wild child" daughter, who visited there with friends in the 1880s and thus gave Bermuda it's fun tourist reputation) has the most spectacular Gold Floor lounge I've ever seen at a Fairmont Hotel. It's worth every penny to upgrade to the Gold Floor just to use this ballroom-size lounge. Enjoy a full breakfast, high tea, cocktails, and desserts in the lounge. The new owners are putting millions into the Hamilton Princess, so it will have a fresh, new look after November 2014. By the way, if you're a Gold Floor guest at one of the two Fairmont Hotels in Bermuda, you can also use your Gold Floor privileges to access their sister property. This is really nice for day trippers who hop over to Southampton from Hamilton or vice versa.
2. Take the Fairmont's private ferry, located at the back of the hotel, across the sound to the Fairmont Southampton Hotel. It's free for guests. It's a very smooth ride (just in case you're worried about getting seasick -- no problems -- my wife did just fine). Because the ferry only makes the round-trip 3x a day, we opted to return to Hamilton by taxi. It's about $20. They love the American dollar and the exchange rate is 1:1, so don't worry about getting Bermuda currency.
3. When you arrive at the end of your 30-minute ferry ride from Hamilton to Southampton, you'll get off at the Waterlot Restaurant, which is one of the best restaurants on the island. Be sure to dine there for your special night out. It's expensive, but memorable, with the best staff and service I've ever experienced. The trolley bus to the Fairmont Southampton operates just down the street from the Waterlot restaurant. It runs every 15 minutes or so, and it's free. Don't try to walk unless you're a mountain climber! It's a one mile uphill hike to the hotel. Wait for the trolley. It's very reliable and free!
3. If you're just doing a day trip to the beach, you can take the same trolley down to the Fairmont's private beach, the Ocean Club. It has everything you need -- umbrellas, towels, a bar and restaurant (with very good food) and restrooms. Also, next door to the Fairmont's private beach is Horseshoe Beach, a separate, public beach that is absolutely beautiful. This is where you should take your photos. There's a small snorkeling ocean pool located at Horseshoe Beach, so bring your snorkeling gear. It's cool! The water temperature in late October was very pleasant.
4. Again, be sure to make dinner reservations at the Waterlot Restaurant. It's a short trolley ride from the Southampton hotel and well worth it! It will be one of the best steak or sea food dinners you've ever eaten! The building was constructed in 1670. Wow!
5. Be sure to treat yourself to the Fairmont Southampton Spa, Willow Stream. We had several treatments there and it was great. Also, make time to enjoy their indoor pool, jacuzzi, and locker facilities.

The Fairmont Southampton Hotel is 30 minutes by taxi from the airport. There are no rental cars on Bermuda, so taxis are the way to go. They are reasonably priced. You'll be pleasantly surprised because the taxi drivers own their vehicles (and pay a lot of money for their medallion) so they take great pride in their cars and they know everything about the island. They are great tour guides and very honest people. Given it's small population of 65,000 people, everyone knows everybody in Bermuda!

Also, you won't see any poverty in Bermuda. At least we didn't, and we covered the island from St. George's to Dockyard, where the cruise ships arrive. Bermuda does it right.

Finally, don't expect to see the typical American "Main Street" in Bermuda. It doesn't exist. There are no Starbucks, McDonald's or Wal-Marts in Bermuda. How nice! Every shop is one-of-a-kind and the prices are the same in the shops and the hotels, so you won't have to worry about paying a premium in the Fairmont Hotel stores. Also, the island goes quiet on Sundays, so plan to do your shopping any other day of the week.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Fairmont Southampton enjoy great views. Three choices: Ocean, golf course or the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you, Tom, for posting such a thorough review of both Fairmont hotels and also of Bermuda. You've said it all better than we could try to put into words, so thank you so much for sharing these tips for other travelers to look through. It is always so pleasing to hear when people fall in love with our little island in the sun, Bermuda. We can't wait to have you back with us in Bermuda, thank you again for all your notes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,415 - 2,421 of 4,015 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our travel agent chose this for us. Guests are treated very well. Curlene, concierge services, was fabulous. The shuttle services were so useful. The food and drinks wonderful. Not inexpensive!! The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is that it would be fun to stay in another region of the island. The island is beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Enjoyed the Veterans Day weekend at this fabulous resort. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Food was fantastic - enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the beautiful Waterlot Restaurant on property. This restaurant is a must if on island! The Spa experience was so relaxing - finished off the treatment with an afternoon on the outdoor patio off the indoor pool. Very peaceful. Overall great escape and highly recommend the island and this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, it is so nice to hear you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly. I agree - the Spa and the Waterlot Inn are must-visits during a vacation for a truly relaxing, decadent experience! We can't wait to have you back for another long weekend vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I jumped on a deal for a long weekend at the Fairmont . This is an outstanding hotel on an outstanding Island . Understand that this is an expensive island but they back it up with quality . There is nothing cheap or corners cut on the service they provide . The entire staff was friendly and professional.The only bummer was ,we were there at the very end of their season and the hotel wasn't full , we were given a room with absolutely the worst possible view . It was the back of a building . When I asked if it was possible to move to something a little better ,I was told that I got that room for the money I paid. I look forward to returning .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amagisnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I am pleased to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed the property on your special travel deal. Our rooms are all the same size and vary by view, with Moderate Rooms being no-view, Fairmont Rooms being partially obstructed views, and Deluxe Rooms having either an Ocean or a Harbour view. I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your room, hopefully on your next visit you will get a room with a view that you prefer. Thank you again for your kind words, and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great hotel, but about a $30 cab ride any time you wanted to go into Hamilton. There are no other options near the Fairmont for dining besides the hotel restaurants - which had painfully slow service. Awesome, comfy beds, and great private beach!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineSTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. The hotel does offer a complimentary ferry to Hamilton several times a day, and there are also public buses to use as transportation options instead of taking taxis. There are several restaurants near The Fairmont Southampton, as well as a multitude of restaurant options on-property. I am sorry to hear you felt limited by the location. Thank you again for reviewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went with another couple end of April 2013 as we where looking for a place with a short flight from New York. We stayed on the Gold Level, and we just had the best time. The room was immaculate, and the wait staff at the Gold Level where just wonderful, we enjoyed our breakfast every day, and wine/appetizers in the evening. The beach was beautiful, was very quiet the week we where there, we did take the ferry to Hamilton and walked around but found that we enjoyed just relaxing and enjoying walks around the hotel and vicinity. So glad we picked this place, wonderful place to enjoy with good friends! Everyone we met was just friendly and happy to answer questions and point out their favorite places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Fairmont Southampton on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had the perfect quick getaway to Bermuda, and Fairmont Gold is certainly the way to travel in style & comfort! I am so glad to hear you had such a relaxing and fun vacation and enjoyed the friendly service. We look forward to having you back for another vacation soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This resort is just great. I return every year. The customer service is superb. All the employees make it seem like a home away from home. Each and everyone is pleasant and helpful. Jane and Curline at the Concierge Desk are the best. They never fail to perform in that true make you feel at home Bermuda style. They always make the greatest suggestions for a great vacation. Chef Alley cooks up a storm at Jasmine and Chef Sumeet is great a The Waterlot. I say seeing is believing. So go on down to Bermuda and stay at the Fairmont Southampton. See you next year!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank GAP1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you so much for sharing about your repeat vacations - it is awesome to hear from guests that love to visit often! I am pleased to hear you find our Concierge team so helpful, and you're right that our Chefs are top-notch! We can't wait to have you back next year, thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
687 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,679 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: £187 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing