We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for Gold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go for Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were upgraded upon arrival to a beautiful ocean-view room on the Gold floor, which included complimentary breakfast, tea, dinner appetizers and dessert. There are many good things to say about the Fairmont Southampton, but our experience with the staff and the amenities on this Gold floor was what stood out the most. Rolly - one of the staff in the Gold lounge - was delightful. It would be worth coming back to this hotel just to see him again!

Other than the Gold floor, we spent our entire 4-day weekend on the resort grounds. The private beach was really nice (if a bit cold in November), where we enjoyed snorkeling with a school of neon blue parrot fish. Our 11-year-old daughter enjoyed the heated outdoor pool, then in the evening the three of us went for a swim in the indoor pool adjacent to the spa (my wife and I liked the ambiance, but my daughter found it a bit dark).

Restaurants were quite good. The Jasmine Lounge and the Newport Room gastropub both have great healthy-choice menus. However, it was the food in the Gold lounge that we enjoyed the most. The canapes at 5:30p are not to be missed!

Room Tip: Gold floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HNLYULCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for the glowing review, I am so glad you enjoyed your experience at Fairmont Gold. We agree, the staff there are fantasic and we will pass the kudos to Rolly and the rest of the team! It sounds like you had a great time swimming and relaxing, and that you enjoyed the dining. We hope that your family will visit with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    1,098
    397
    178
    99
See reviews for
1,029
1,560
96
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (972)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The property was large, well maintained for an ocean climate and the staff treated us well. Summer services were limited since we went in November but we expected that. The grounds of the property and the hotel beach are great and made for a really nice day away from all the stress of home. Breakfast was very good our meal at the Newport was the best we had during our 4 day stay. Its seclusion from cruise ships and the city are great but that will cost you in cab fare over the course of a stay but to us, it was worth it. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike21NJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and that the staff were friendly. I am glad you knew about our seasonal closures of some outlets and were still able to have a fantastic vacation. Thanks again for your review, and hopefully you will return for another long weekend soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Staff was great and really helpful. While the location is a little far west from the nightlife in Hamilton, cabs are readily available. Beds are extremely comfortable. Private beach was well maintained and spa is really nice.

Room Tip: Booking the club level is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickels500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the stay and found the accessibility of Hamilton's nightlife to be easy. We hope you'll return for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay over the weekend. the beach and resort were clean and well maintained, staff really pleasant and helpful. The doormen honestly were the nicest and most fun staff members we met! We got an upgrade to add to our celebration to a lovely room on the 4th floor. Our housekeeping staff, wait staff bringing room serve were all so very nice and fun.
Trolly to Waterlot and beach were fast and easy. We also purchased bus pass at the front desk, and the local buses were simple and convenient. We tried to walk to Gibbs Lighthouse upon being told it was close but wound up at golf resort where were were offered a ride to property line go get us there quickly. Again, staff was so very nice.

My only issue was being off season, the Cabana by the beach had limited food to sandwiches. I even checked with concierge to be sure they had food available before we headed there on Saturday. They didn't share however that they were pre-made and really really terrible. Seemed to have sat for quite a length of time and were totally inedible. The bread was stale, falling apart as we bit into it. The bar had limited stock to make requested drinks but what we had was fine.

We definitely come back and recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJM106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for writing about your weekend visit, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The doormen are great hotel ambassadors, I am glad you enjoyed their company! It sounds like you had a fun visit with lots of exploring. I am sorry that you weren't fully informed about the Cabanda's limited menu and apologise for the inconvenience. Thank you again for posting, and I hope you return to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for our honeymoon. We had been to Bermuda before, but stayed in a cottage time share - this definitely beat the time share, hands down! As soon as we got out of the taxi, Nick happily greeted us and helped us find our way. We checked in on the Gold floor (which is a nice added perk if you want the extra food and service) and everyone up there was so helpful and friendly. The room was clean, and the housekeeping was on top of changing the towels and everything else when we left each time. The Gold floor had its perks, and I think it definitely made our stay...hot breakfast every morning, great coffee and tea, canipes before dinner, and sweets in the evening. - the chef there was amazing! Food elsewhere on the island is mediocre at best - we definitely got some of our best food on our trip from the hotel lobby! The view is magnificent - it did not hurt we were on the 6th floor, but I'm sure the view is stunning no matter where you are, how could it not be on the beautiful island? The pool was relaxing, and the grounds were kept beautifully. The restaurants are just OK - I don't think Bermuda has the best food, but their service was good and friendly, especially at the bar in Jasmine. Overall we had a fantastic honeymoon and are glad we chose the Fairmont Southampton for our "home-base" on the island. I would definitely recommend the hotel if you are looking for class, cleanliness, friendliness, and a comfortable feel. Hopefully we can return in the near future!

Room Tip: You can choose a harbor view or ocean view - we had an ocean view and it was stunning from the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your honeymoon at The Fairmont Southampton, we loved hearing about your experience. Nick on the Front Door really is fantastic, and the Gold Floor really does make a great difference in the quality of your visit. I am so glad you enjoyed your room and view, but am sorry to hear you did not enjoy all of the dining. I am glad that we made your honeymoon so memorable and I hope that in the future you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Fairmont Southampton and had a wonderful time! The room was decorated nicely.... I stayed on the 6th floor with access to the Gold Club and I overlooked the ocean. Every staff person I ran in to was so nice and helpful! I ate at three of the on-property restaurants and all were excellent! Overall the hotel is beautiful, with old world charm, the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable and they have a wonderful private beach. I look forward to going back to Bermuda and staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Bermuda is my new favorite island nation. I've visited dozens of Caribbean islands, but Bermuda, located 700 miles east of North Carolina, has it all without the hassles and concerns for safety.
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel is its jewel property although it's older sister, the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, is very charming.
The Fairmont Southampton is not only outstanding for tourists looking for a great escape to someplace that offers beautiful private (and public) beaches, unique shopping, challenging golf courses and first-class dining.
The Fairmont Southampton is also an outstanding destination for meetings and conferences with its plentiful meeting space, golf course and first-class service. I highly recommend it.

A few helpful hints if you visit Bermuda...
1. You need a passport. But, it's so easy to clear Customs and Immigration... very friendly.
2. Plan to stay at least four nights. Spend two nights at the Fairmont Princess Hamilton, located on the main drag of Hamilton, the capital city. It's about a half mile from the center of town.... an easy walk to the shops, restaurants and bars.
2. The Fairmont Hamilton Princess (named after Queen Victoria's "wild child" daughter, who visited there with friends in the 1880s and thus gave Bermuda it's fun tourist reputation) has the most spectacular Gold Floor lounge I've ever seen at a Fairmont Hotel. It's worth every penny to upgrade to the Gold Floor just to use this ballroom-size lounge. Enjoy a full breakfast, high tea, cocktails, and desserts in the lounge. The new owners are putting millions into the Hamilton Princess, so it will have a fresh, new look after November 2014. By the way, if you're a Gold Floor guest at one of the two Fairmont Hotels in Bermuda, you can also use your Gold Floor privileges to access their sister property. This is really nice for day trippers who hop over to Southampton from Hamilton or vice versa.
2. Take the Fairmont's private ferry, located at the back of the hotel, across the sound to the Fairmont Southampton Hotel. It's free for guests. It's a very smooth ride (just in case you're worried about getting seasick -- no problems -- my wife did just fine). Because the ferry only makes the round-trip 3x a day, we opted to return to Hamilton by taxi. It's about $20. They love the American dollar and the exchange rate is 1:1, so don't worry about getting Bermuda currency.
3. When you arrive at the end of your 30-minute ferry ride from Hamilton to Southampton, you'll get off at the Waterlot Restaurant, which is one of the best restaurants on the island. Be sure to dine there for your special night out. It's expensive, but memorable, with the best staff and service I've ever experienced. The trolley bus to the Fairmont Southampton operates just down the street from the Waterlot restaurant. It runs every 15 minutes or so, and it's free. Don't try to walk unless you're a mountain climber! It's a one mile uphill hike to the hotel. Wait for the trolley. It's very reliable and free!
3. If you're just doing a day trip to the beach, you can take the same trolley down to the Fairmont's private beach, the Ocean Club. It has everything you need -- umbrellas, towels, a bar and restaurant (with very good food) and restrooms. Also, next door to the Fairmont's private beach is Horseshoe Beach, a separate, public beach that is absolutely beautiful. This is where you should take your photos. There's a small snorkeling ocean pool located at Horseshoe Beach, so bring your snorkeling gear. It's cool! The water temperature in late October was very pleasant.
4. Again, be sure to make dinner reservations at the Waterlot Restaurant. It's a short trolley ride from the Southampton hotel and well worth it! It will be one of the best steak or sea food dinners you've ever eaten! The building was constructed in 1670. Wow!
5. Be sure to treat yourself to the Fairmont Southampton Spa, Willow Stream. We had several treatments there and it was great. Also, make time to enjoy their indoor pool, jacuzzi, and locker facilities.

The Fairmont Southampton Hotel is 30 minutes by taxi from the airport. There are no rental cars on Bermuda, so taxis are the way to go. They are reasonably priced. You'll be pleasantly surprised because the taxi drivers own their vehicles (and pay a lot of money for their medallion) so they take great pride in their cars and they know everything about the island. They are great tour guides and very honest people. Given it's small population of 65,000 people, everyone knows everybody in Bermuda!

Also, you won't see any poverty in Bermuda. At least we didn't, and we covered the island from St. George's to Dockyard, where the cruise ships arrive. Bermuda does it right.

Finally, don't expect to see the typical American "Main Street" in Bermuda. It doesn't exist. There are no Starbucks, McDonald's or Wal-Marts in Bermuda. How nice! Every shop is one-of-a-kind and the prices are the same in the shops and the hotels, so you won't have to worry about paying a premium in the Fairmont Hotel stores. Also, the island goes quiet on Sundays, so plan to do your shopping any other day of the week.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Fairmont Southampton enjoy great views. Three choices: Ocean, golf course or the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you, Tom, for posting such a thorough review of both Fairmont hotels and also of Bermuda. You've said it all better than we could try to put into words, so thank you so much for sharing these tips for other travelers to look through. It is always so pleasing to hear when people fall in love with our little island in the sun, Bermuda. We can't wait to have you back with us in Bermuda, thank you again for all your notes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing