We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Memorial weekend getaway at the Fairmont SHP” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Memorial weekend getaway at the Fairmont SHP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a very nice long weekend at the Fairmont South Hampton. The rooms are well appointed and spacious.The staff are all knowledgeable and friendly with the exception of one older lady in concierge that was a bit abrupt and dismissive. We enjoyed the ferry ride over to the their sister property, The Fairmont Hamilton, but wish the ferry ran at least every hour, there are big time gaps. The shuttle buses that run along the grounds of the property were great and there is never a long wait for one. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: If you can go for the Gold Floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEELEE0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for sharing about your visit at the Fairmont Southampton. I'm glad that largely the staff were friendly and helpful, but apologize that you found one member of the concierge team to be abrupt, I have sent along your review to the leader of that department to review. I am glad you found the shuttle and ferry services convenient.

Thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bermuda again soon!

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    1,088
    392
    177
    99
See reviews for
1,015
1,548
95
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The perfect stay in Bermuda! We always stay at the Fairmont South Hampton when traveling to Bermuda and would highly recommend the Gold Floor to our friends and family. Waterlot has the best steaks on the Island!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I and the 3 kids (3,6,7) along with both sets of parents went here for a weeks break in May half term. We had a great time. All the staff were super helpful and friendly, they made the stay super special. They even let us keep the hotel room till 5pm at no extra charge as we had a late flight. I would say that the rooms could probably do with a face lift but were still nice - just nit quite up to the usual Fairmont standard.

There is a complimentary boat between the Hamilton and the Southampton with was a lovely added bonus. The complementary buses to the beach and dockside were so frequent, we rarely waited more than 5 minutes. The whole holiday was made so easy by the hotel and its staff.

We ate at Wickets (by the pool), mainly burgers but very nice food, also ate at the beach bar which was not as good but handy for lunch. Jasmine was a casual dining experience but lovely food and of course service.

There is a supermarket you can get to either by taxi or you can get the bus down to the dock side and take a 10 minute walk. Everything in bermuda is expensive but it is a lovely place to visit and has AMAZING beaches!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kidsstilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights for our honeymoon in September 2012 and is was fantastic. Loved the old time luxury feel of the resort. If you can afford it stay on the gold floor, we felt so special.

The beach was great and a trolley takes you right to it before you are escorted to your chairs. It was never over crowded. The location is great and you can walk next door to many beaches and endless coves that are so fun to explore.

At night my husband and I enjoyed listening to live music at the bar. We are not club people and this was just our speed.

We have been to A LOT of other islands and bermuda wins hands down. It is so clean and safe you can explore on your own. Almost feels like you are stepping back in time.

I can't wait to go back sometime in the near future. Perhaps for an anniversary?

Room Tip: Gold floor rooms were worth it. The rooms are not super up to date but are very clean and you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhuff0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent three nights at the Fairmont Southampton for a conference in early May and enjoyed my time there. Pluses: the staff is really outstanding, friendly and helpful; the private beach is not large but is a short shuttle ride from the hotel and is well staffed and set up for comfort; the food overall is excellent at the various restaurants and at the bar; and the location is great, elevated above the surrounding area with views in either direction. Negatives: none of significance--the common areas of the hotel are beautiful but the room decoration is nothing special, comfortable, though, and who wants to stay in your room in Bermuda anyway? The balcony more than made up for the room.

I especially liked the Ocean Club restaurant at the beach. As good as the view there was, the food was even better and the service outstanding. Try their version of a mojito.

Should I return to Bermuda, I know where I'll be staying. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPTVSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was just here and I must warm people to keep away.

From the start, the line to check in was as long an airport check in. After 20 minutes they finally gave us our room key, rudely. The room was nice (mini suite) however outdated and smelled. It was definitely not worth the price.

The beach was beautiful, but there were no freebies. You would think that after paying $500+ a night there would be something, but no. And there was at least $80 in extra charges for the management!? I asked for a mini fridge and was emailed that it would be waiting for us, of course it was not. They then charged us $25 for using the mini fridge that was already there!

Room service rudely awoke us at 8,9 and 10 am. They're always trying to restock the minibar and check what you took.

Overall, I would not suggest this place...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear dan c,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions on TripAdvisor. I’d like to apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience. Most of our guests do fly in at the same time, and while our front desk team does try to provide a quick and friendly check-in experience, I am disappointed to hear that was not the case. I am sending on this feedback to their team to review.

I am glad to hear you thought the beach was beautiful. The mini-fridge charge is for the team to unstock the mini-bar of the product and then restock it upon your departure, I am sorry this was not explained to you prior to you seeing the charge. I am not sure if you used the Do Not Disturb tags on your door handle, but I certainly apologise that you felt the housekeeping team continued to disrupt you in the mornings.

Thank you again for your review, I am sorry to hear your stay was such a disappointment, hopefully you will give the destination another shot.

Sincerely,

Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fantastic hotel with superb service and all done with a smile. Our room was on the fifth floor overlooking the harbor and the views were wonderful. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the sunset. The room was large and the beds and bedding great. My only negative is that there is only one small drawer for clothing. A big closet made up for it. We loved the Ocean Club for dinner and enjoyed Jasmine for a late night mini meal one night. I would never consider staying anywhere else after our time there. Thank you to all the staff from a couple who really needed a stress free vacation!

Room Tip: We saw the ocean view and it is nice but the harbor view, in our opinion, is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Destinology so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing