We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch View...with a slight hitch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I've recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip and the view of Bermuda's emerald-colored water from my room was just phenomenal. In most instances, the service was good, but I find that a lot things move very slowly. I'm assuming that because Bermudian law automatically includes 17% gratuity in all goods and services, so there's really no incentive for workers to go above the level of service they're required to provide. Even if they give lousy service, they still get the 17% gratuity. And this goes for all the places and dining establishments I went to in Bermuda. Otherwise, the island is stunning, but VERY expensive!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TheWalkaboutWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback of your business trip, I'm glad you enjoyed your room view and the island. While I'm glad service was largely good, I am sorry for any service anomalies you may have experienced. 17% gratuities is pretty standard across Bermuda and at The Fairmont Southampton is union-mandated. Our staff all genuinely care about our guests, and I am sorry if they did not provide the kind of high-quality service we pride ourselves on. That photo is gorgeous - wow! Thank you for sharing.

Best Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 4,017 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have been coming to the Southampton for 8 years and the service on the gold floor is impeccable. From the front desk to the waiters for breakfast, afternoon tea and appetizers (yes - lots of food) - the service is perfect. They even remembered us from last year! The gold floor is more expensive however I think it is well worth it. Resort provides a nice pool, great restaurants and a small game room for kids. And the key is that is extremely family friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacques A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Jacques A.,

Thanks for sharing your experience of Fairmont Gold, we're so glad that we can still impress you after 8 years of visits! I'm pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed another summer vacation with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for trip number 9!

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our fifth stay through the years. We enjoy this hotel very much and especially love the private beach with its outstanding facilities. Bermudians are special and we think this is one of the best places to go. Be advised, Bermuda has always been pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank mariabknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for sharing about your fifth vacation with us, I am glad each of them have been so wonderful. I am glad you find Bermuda and Bermudians to be so special, and we look forward to your next visit to our island in the sun.

Best Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Bermuda has become one of my favorite destinations. It is easy to get to from the East Coast, and, once you arrive, the island is beautiful and restful. My choice of places to stay is the Southampton Fairmont. I have come to love this property. It is self contained. I can arrive at the Fairmont and relax. I do not have to venture far for a beautiful beach, a clean and full service work out facility, a complete spa, and restaurants that should satisfy anyone's tastes (my favorite is the Water Lot Inn). What makes this property special is the attentive staff. They are kind and attentive. They will enhance they quality of your stay.
I would suggest that you book onto the "Gold" level floor. This allows for a private check-in and concierge. You will also receive a very nice breakfast in the morning, a relaxing Happy Hour in the evening and little treats and goodies through out the day. Again, that wonderful, attentive staff on the 6th floor just made my stay a superb holiday!
I have stayed at the Southampton Fairmont before and I will stay there again. Coming to Bermuda is my idea of a vacation and the Fairmont makes it so easy to enjoy the beauty of the Island and the warmth of its people. I feel that anyone can choose this property with the confidence that they will find a great base for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Gold Level rooms. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PITtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your favourite island destination. It's wonderful that you find The Fairmont Southampton to be so relaxing and that you enjoy the amenities and restaurants. I am glad our Fairmont Gold team made your stay so special. Thank you so much for the kudos, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The gold level was well worth the money. Great breakfast, tea service canapés and dessert service. Very friendly staff knew us by name within the day. Waterlot Restaurant was superb, as was Oceanfront. Beautiful pool grounds - lounge chairs with umbrellas were always available!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Caroleah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Caroleah R.,

Thank you so much for your review, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Fairmont Gold experience, particularly the friendly staff. I'm glad you had great dining experiences at Ocean Club & The Waterlot. Thank you for sharing and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Fairmont Southampton is showing its age and needs to be renovated. The best example is the bathtub/shower combo right next to toilet. Staff is very nice. Grounds are nice. Beach is nice but you have to take a shuttle. Food was good. Watch out for a multitude of added fees charged each night!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kcr618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We are currently undergoing a softgoods renovation on rooms and hallways to update the decor. It's lovely that you enjoyed the beach, grounds, and friendly staff. Taxes, gratuities, and resort levy are standard charges added to the room rate - this is clear on all of our booking channels. I am sorry to hear that you were not aware of them prior to your visit. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel and staff were outstanding. Gold floor is definitely the way to go. Provided flexibility in food options and you felt like you had access to your own personal concierge. Shopping and adventure options were great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear James M.,

Thank you for sharing about your family vacation with us, I am glad that you enjoyed staying on Fairmont Gold and found the personal concierge service was so helpful. We hope to welcome your family back to Bermuda again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carlita Lodge
Marketing & Communications Manager
The Fairmont Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
9.5 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
688 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,679 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: £189 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing