We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach - Good to Snorkel”
Review of Church Bay Beach

Church Bay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Strap on those flippers: the calm, sheltered waters of the bay make this beach a great place to snorkel.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Beach - Good to Snorkel”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Another great beach in Bermuda. Closer to the Dockyards. Great sand and beach and very good snorkelling there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    66
    24
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Snorkelling not so great beach”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Don't come here if you are looking to hang out on the beach, its small and lots of stairs to get to the beach. HOWEVER REALLY AWESOME snorkelling with a BEAUTIFUL school of blue parrot fish.. I snorkelled for a bit then headed over to Horseshoe for beach time

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ADP147255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Bermuda's best snorkling”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you are interested in snorkling and want a memorable experience while visiting Bermuda...HEAD TO CHURCH BAY BEACH. Schedule your visit during "lower" tides and when no ship is in. You stand a good chance of having the entire beach to yourself. Don't a) feel the need to swim far off shore...most of the fish are off the beach to the left in only a few feet of water, b) touch rocks and coral...it will cut you and b) enter the water without water shoes on...the sand can be hiding coral that will cut you and the rocks that you walk on to enter can and will be slippery. The only negative about the beach would be the bathroom facilities. Both the mens and womens were beyond nasty (two years in a row).

Church Bay is an absolute "Do Not Miss" Bermuda experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrettLoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Expected more.no facilities”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Nice beach but off the beaten track... No facilities, no shade. Snorkel is ok but current so rough that its took away the fun of it all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MafsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Snorkeling and Wonderful Tidal Pools for the Little Ones.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Church Bay is my favorite Beach in Bermuda. Our family enjoyed the better part of a day here. The adults and my 11 year old were able to snorkel for hours. My youngest was completely entertained playing with all the wonderous aquatic life to be found in the beaches tidal pools. There seemed to be a large volume of seaweed when we visited in June; however once you swam past this mass the ocean was clear as can be. We saw the most magestic fish and the largest variety here in Church Bay. Public Transporation is a breeze and it is very close to the Royal Dockyard for all of you cruisers. My boys even were able to find some pretty neat pieces of seaglass here. I certainly hope to return here someday to this most glorious of settings. Enjoy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church Bay Beach also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish
 
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Church Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing