We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class”
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Class”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Often you read reviews that show five stars and you wonder what is going on. The family-owned Pompano Beach Club has really earned its stripes. They value service and any traveler going for a vacation deserves it. The service is impeccable and friendly -- from the moment you arrive and are given a tour of the property, Your bags are in your room when the tour has ended. Our room was spotless and the property is cleaned daily. The beach is private and protected by a sandbar so the water is quite shallow as you walk out. You can snorkel from the beach or lounge at water's edge. The water is so clear that you can see the fish from your room. We ate on the meal plan and the food was excellent -- this coming from picky New Yorkers! Be sure to have an evening cocktail outside while the sun sets. This is a smaller property that caters to families, returning couples and friends, golfers, and honeymooners. My wife commented that there wasn't a bikini on the beach but I think the message here is that you can be yourself, enjoy yourself, and choose to make new friends or not -- it is low key and serene.That said, the bar can be lively and there is great entertainment some evenings. The management will take you right to the main road in a van so you can take a bus wherever you want. If you have the time to get out you should because the island is quite beautiful and public buses are a great way to see the sights. They are well-maintained and inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    218
    41
    37
    11
See reviews for
347
678
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our first time to Bermuda and cannot recommend Pompano Beach Club more highly. Everyone, and I mean Everyone at the hotel, was extremely nice and friendly and accommodating. You get a tour of the property when you first arrive, and your bags are in your room when you get back. We had the most gorgeous view-full front ocean view-completely unobstructed (Flying Fish -room 82). We could not ask for a better room. We did the MAP meal plan which is a good value. The best part of this resort is the gorgeous private beach...why head over to crowded Horseshoe Bay when you have perfection at your door step? Complete with Bar Service and lounge chairs too!

The staff will drop you off and pick you up at the end of the hotel road so you can easily catch the bus to anywhere for cheap $$...I was hesitant to try the bus at first, but it's fine and very easy to use and soooo much cheaper than Taxi. it will take you into Hamilton or the Dockyard and everywhere in between. Aside from the beauty of Bermuda, one of the things that sets it apart is the friendliness of the people and the cleanliness and safety-something you don't always find when traveling.

Will definitely be planning another trip to Bermuda and to the Pompano Beach Club!

Room Tip: Flying Fish or Angel Fish buildings are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrskjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our second trip to Pompano Beach Club. It was like coming home after a long absence. The small pristine beach nestled into the West side of the Island welcomes guests with lounge chairs lining the beach and invited us to lounge the whole day through. The water temperature in the mid 80's in early September ... you just walk right into the water and at low tide can walk to the float anchored about 1/4 mile out. Noodles and rafts are available for guest to use. Our ocean front room with private balcony (room 82) over looked the blue sea perfect for watching the sunset. The bathroom is huge, tub, walk-in shower and double sinks. All the meals are great and we don't take advantage of the Dine Around because the food is wonderful. I love in particular the dining room outdoor balcony for breakfast. We watched a huge school of bait fish reshaping their form as the moved by. We thought at first is was a cloud reflection on the ocean, but no it was a cloudless bright morning. There are plenty of water activities that one can explore. If you need a perfect place to relax and want to do nothing but enjoy nature at it's best this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ersl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our 5th year in a row in staying at the Pompano on business/romantic getaway. We love the accommodations with large rooms each having a clear view of the sunset.
The intimate beach is great to soak up some sun, soak down some drinks and meet travelers from around the world. The staff is geared to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We have never had to complain about any "attitude" or lack of first rate service. Larry (the owner) is on property quite a bit and is a perfect host to the PBC Swizzle (island drink) party every Monday night with live music. It is a thank you to the guests for coming to Bermuda and choosing the Pompano....lots of fun! This year (2013) they have added sea kayaks and paddle boards down on the beach to make your experience more enjoyable. Families/couples will also enjoy the pool & beach and the quiet time that everyone expects from a vacation. We look forward to next year's trip...it is always a treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just let me say we were very happy with our stay at this resort.
However,the dining options at this resort leave quite a bit to be desired.
With one exception,the dinner entrees were overcooked,which was very disappointing.
Otherwise,service was excellent,the beach was exquisite,and the rooms clean and in good repair.
At almost 900 dollars a night with taxes and drinks added in,there are many other locations in the Carribean that offer a far better value for your money.

Room Tip: All the deluxe rooms overlook the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nitroae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Pompano. The experience began before we arrived with both Larry and Tom helping us select the best room and some excursions we could enjoy. We got a warm feeling before we even arrived. This was our first time back after ten years and we intend to return. There were many things we enjoyed about this hotel. The beach is fabulous, clean and beautiful. We were lucky to have mostly good weather. Our room was a corner room in the Angel Fish which was nice with a large balcony and an ocean view. However some of the bushes to the right could have been trimmed. The bed was so comfortable we fell asleep instantly the minute we hit the pillow. We did have a problem with the screen door which had to be replaced and was done very quickly. The room had been updated since we were last there. We liked the decor and also the nice big bathroom with the double sinks. We did have a few small bugs and one large beetle in our bathroom. Not enough to keep us from coming back. We did notice however that when the rooms are cleaned the doors are left open which could allow bugs in. However all in all the housekeeping was pretty good. Liked the turn down service. We loved the outdoor seating in the Cedar room. People complain about the birds but they did not bother us. It bothered us when they pooped on the ledge and it was not cleaned. The food in both restaurants were good. We found however after 6 days and much of the same menu with very few specials that we were looking for more variety. The buffet breakfast could have pancakes, waffles and more fresh fruit. The omlet station was exceptional. Sometimes we were confused as to who was our waiter as they kept switching with each other and seemed disorganized. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice to be able to meet Tom who was just leaving the next day and to talk to Larry. Those employees that stand out in our minds especially are Cindy, Gregory, Glenda, Lynn, Cee Cee, Velda, Nick Kevin, Tim and Clay. The interns were helpful, Dan, TJ and a young lady from New Hampshire. Cindy was very helpful in finding us a Taxi Tour that was fabulous. That is Golden Pearl Taxi Service with Driver David Frost. He took us where we wanted to go not just the touristy places. We highly recommend him. We enjoyed the entertainment of Bubbles and his music videos from the past. It was a fun night. One thing that really impressed us was that many of the employees have worked for the Pompano for years. Obviously the Lambs are good to their employees and you can see they enjoy their work which makes a good experience for the guests. Just a few other things. We think that the hotel could provide water at no cost by putting 2 bottles a day in the refrig. Also I was afraid to walk to the watersports center as the path was in need of repair. Some of the railings need to be fixed for walking up and down the steps. Just some general maintenance around the property which would include cleaning the game room. As a summary this is a nice, casual relaxing environment with a beautiful beach and a very nice accomodating staff. We recommend this resort and although there are some small negatives like at most hotels, we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just a bit late on this review as we stayed over the labor day holiday and just getting around to it today.

What can we say about the Pompano that has not been said already, it's "THE BEST OF BERMUDA".

This was our 16th visit to Bermuda and our 6th time at Pompano and are planning next years stay and can't wait.(We have been to many other destinations) From the booking office in MA where all the people are great, Larry and Tom (owners) on sit to the entire staff at the hotel the welcoming whether your first stay or a repeat guest is first class and makes you feel like family. (Unlike any other resort)
They have made updates each year we have been and they are always looking for more ways to improve your experience. Besides the extremely great customer service, the views in which the Pompano provides due to it's location are like none that perhaps most people have ever encountered. (Thank you mother nature). The beach though small for some fine for us, offers swimmers or floaters (Pompano provides rafts and noodles) of all levels a great time. As stated the rooms are clean,, comfortable, spacious and all have ocean views with either a large balcony or terrace. We dine out quite a bit (From high end ($300-$500 for two) to basic pub type fare and find that the food and options to be very good. Although included (MAP) in the dine around program, we have not even opted to dine at the other hotels. (Been to them before on other trips) Nothing is better than spending a late afternoon at the pool bar with Velda and the other staff enjoying a cold rum swizzle or other concoctions she has come up with or perhaps a few (hahahha) Bud Lights. We have met many fine people at the Pompano over the years and have made a couple great friends (Darlene and Barry) who for the last three years have also vacationed at the same time. I have recommended the Pompano to many people and all that have gone have only rave reviews. I will end now as I could go on forever about our feelings about the Pompano and staff.

See you next year!!!

Tim and Anne

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9thtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
649 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
810 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,809 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,068 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Property: Pompano Beach Club
Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort
Pompano Beach Club Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing