We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vacation destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay. Everything about this visit was excellent. We enjoyed the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. The resort is very well run and maintained. The beach is lovely with good snorkeling and kayaking right from the beach. The food is very good and even though only one restaurant was open for dinner (still off season) we still had lots of choice. The overall location on the island is very good. Bus service is right outside the resort and very easy to use. A nice walk to the lighthouse -well worth the climb for a spectacular view of the island. A longer walk or short bus ride to Horseshoe Bay for some beach variety or to have a longer walk along the coast. Many of the rooms were being completely redecorated and outfitted with new bathrooms, all have an ocean view - can't imagine there being a bad room to have. The poolside rooms might be a bit busier with people walking by or noise but the infinity pool is beautiful and the view of the ocean from those rooms is still spectacular. On our last visit to Bermuda, which was also our first, we fell in love with Bermuda but we were not too happy with our resort. We hired a taxi to take us to several resorts to find out what was available. The Reefs was our choice for our next trip to the island. Now that we have stayed there we are looking forward to returning. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    195
    87
    25
    17
See reviews for
160
637
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Might seem to you that I am bias but imagine taking a little R & R at home. We are residents of Bermuda and The Reefs for me and my husband was the place to get away from it all. The bar staff, wait staff, impecable. As we decided to do this - off season - Only one restaurant was open at the time; the food was outstanding; their Chef has been featured in many articles; and the menu changed nightly. Every Sunday they prepared Brunch - best on the Island - majority Bermudian cuisine. As I am writing this review the Reefs are doing the best they can to keep their facilities up to its impecable standards - ongoing maintenance and restructuring. Accommodatoins at the Reefs consists of regular guest rooms and adjoining is their Resort which has one, two and three bedroom accommodations overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Go online and have a peak at all it has to offer. Also there is a Restaurant just a few minutes away, Henry VIII, excellent food and good entertainment. On Saturday nights you can have the pleasure of joining DJ Uncle with his oldie goldie mix and dance. We sure did. Always a fun crowd and if you want to mingle with the Bermudians a real find.

Room Tip: Majority of the rooms have water views so you can't possibly go wrong. Beach right there at you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5StarBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I have traveled to Bermuda twice now and stayed at the Reefs both times. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, families or couples. We saw several families but mostly couples. We highly recommend this for many reasons, the food was absolutely deliciious with a variety every evening and each dish we had we enjoyed and looked so forward to the next meal. They treat you like family there, they know your name, and greet each guest with a Rum Swizzle. They take care of your luggage, turn your beds down nightly with chocolates every day, we look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I (in our mid-fourties) visited April 2nd - 8th. It was wet and very windy on arrival so it was suggested that we dine and in the hope that the rain would pass. The staff in restaurant were professional and yet still full of character. The food was of the highest standard we have experienced. The quality of the red meats, the flavour of the vegetables and the perfect ripeness of every fruit has a delight. Our evening meals were a real highlight at the end of the day.

It was still raining a little when we had finished our meal so we were given a ride to our room. Unfortunately, the wind was so strong in the night that it made our door to the balcony vibrate loudly enough to wake us several times. We raised this issue in the morning and when we returned from our day out we were up-graded to a different and much more spacious suite.

During our time at the Reefs we always felt the staff were doing they very best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. There was some re-modelling going on but this didn't bother us at all.

We enjoy snorkelling but the wind had wiped the sea up too much until our last day. The visibility still wasn't great when i did try and the water is pretty cold in April. Still there were several big parrot fish just around the first rocks on the beach. On our last day we stopped at John Smith Bay, a beautiful crescent beach with rocks at both ends. The snorkelling around these rocks looked brilliant (a real shame we didn't have our masks with us).

If we visit Bermuda again we will definately stay at the Reefs.

Room Tip: We stayed in three types of room (Cliff room, Cliff suite & pool room) all were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidIanFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I returned to The Reefs for our 2nd visit and the trip was very good (3/25-3/31/12). The staff is excellent and the food is absolutely outstanding. There was remodeling activity going on in the original (pool/beach) section of the hotel. Unfortunately, we weren't assigned a newly remodeled room! If you are considering staying there within the next 30 days (4/12), it would be best to wait for this to be completed, or ensure with the front desk that you will not be impacted by the noise as we were. The Reefs is a classy place, and David Dodwell Jr handled this issue for us very nicely. I would highly recommend this location if you're looking for serenity and a great beach. Just try to avoid the construction.

Room Tip: If you are considering staying there within the next 30 days (4/12), it would be best to wait for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpav7985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I spent the third week of March in one of the newly remodeled rooms in the main part of the resort. Sunny and 70 for our 5 day stay. We used the pool and hot tub everyday. Private beach with kayaks, fins and snorkels, and the reefs are less than 150 feet from shore. It was off season so the restaurant on the beach and one of the other restaurants wasn't open, but the food and service at the Ocean Echo was great. Nice location on a bus line, but be prepared for a $40-45 cab ride from the airport. Hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NapperDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Over the years I've stayed at most of the hotels in Bermuda, some now sadly gone. But mercifully The Reefs is going strong and as good as ever. The views are among the best in Bermuda and they make a real effort to have a varied, imaginative menu. And there's nothing stuffy about The Reefs - it's always been a welcoming place including those of us who aren't the typical married couple. The management keeps the hotel fresh looking with understated luxury that doesn't feel intimidating or overdone. The international wait staff is first rate and very friendly.

Room Tip: We like the Point Suites for their privacy, quiet and view which takes in the little gem of a beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing