We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Bermuda”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Bermuda”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have not stayed at Tucker's Point, but I would definitely say that The Reefs was a solid experience. I don't think pictures do it justice. It's a stunning resort perched on cliffs overlooking the ocean. Check-in was efficient. The breakfast was efficient. The views are fantastic. The staff was mostly friendly. The pool is to die for. The hot tub is awesome. The beach laying out area is great. The concierge set us up with two good tee-times at Port Royal and Mid-Ocean club. Despite other comments here, I did not think the bathrooms were "tired."

Some tips: Do ask the concierge to make reservations in advance. We made the mistake of not doing this and ended up having to eat around 9pm each night.

A needed improvement: The Wi-Fi coverage is terrible. I had to go out to the pool to deal with e-mail...my room had essentially no Wi-Fi coverage. I found this frustrating given that I sort of rely on WiFi internationally over cellular data. At $600 a night, the WiFi should be flawless, no excuse.

Room Tip: Cannot imagine a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidgolfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    204
    91
    26
    17
See reviews for
167
656
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

In desperate need of a revamp but unfortunately you can see how this would escalate from one thing to another. Our room (320) had a brand new bathroom which unfortunately highlighted just how much the bedroom needed revamping. The mirror in the new bathroom had pencil lines around it from where they'd placed it for aligning hooks to hang it...these hadn't been erased or painted over. The cliffside room was very basically furnished & dark....no desk but stationary supplied but no writing utensils, only 3 sidelights & on one of these the on/off switch fell off (no main ceiling lighting) It was also impossible to have any decent lighting in the bathroom so as to apply make-up effectively & the sliding wardrobe doors needed full force. It wasn't luxury by any means but for our week of R&R, we were comfy.

The terrace was large with a fantastic unobscured view of the beach & sea plus we weren't overlooked by other rooms/balconies/terraces. It was exactly what we wanted. It had full sun from midday-ish and you could watch the sunset from there. The door leading from the bedroom to the terrace was warped and could only be opened by being forced with a knee.

The staff are completely approachable & The Reefs is clearly a place which prides itself on happy employees. The location is great....no flight path, we felt very safe & the housekeeping staff (when they did show up) proved themselves to be totally trustworthy. On the subject of h/keeping, they showed up only 3 nights of our 7. One of these times we had locked the door & put the "Do not disturb" sign out but the staff chose to unlock our door & walk in anyway! As a general rule, they tried to get into our room 6-6.30pm which was bad timing as that was when we were getting ready for the evening. They didn't return while our room was empty....a little communication or initiative would have told them maybe to look at their restaurant reservations, see when we would be vacating the room & then come in at an appropriate time.

Check-out time is officially 11am but h/keeping showed up at 10.20 while we were packing. Again, just a little communication from Front Desk & they'd have known this. We were given a room for the day as our flight wasn't til the evening.

The food throughout was incredibly good. Yes a fair amount of it is fried but there is a good choice of healthier alternatives too.

The spa is absolutely beautiful...not promoted highly enough at all. Like most of the facilities, they aren't signposted or advertised due to 90% of the guests being repeat clientele.

Wifi is available but do NOT rely on it. Out of a whole hour, we managed to have connection for just 3 minutes in total & this was patchy. If you need to do anything online without it timing out or losing it, you'll have to use the PC provided by The Reefs.

I would return again but make sure I had a newly refurbished room.

Room Tip: Make sure you've got one with a new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful trip to Bermuda staying at The Reefs. We loved the private beach that provided snorkel equipment /kayaks. If you like water sports and swimming it is heaven.
In particular we found the food excellent. Some servers were friendlier than others. At breakfast the servers are very busy and don't have much time to be overly friendly. Dinner meals are much more relaxed. The kitchen baked us a delicious cake for a celebration. We had a dinner exchange at The Cambridge Beach which had a lovely setting but the food/service was not very good.
The key to an excellent stay is your accommodation. The rooms with updated bathrooms are quite nice but the private club condos are superior. If you are going with several people definitely try to book the condos. You will have an excellent experience.
Our family was a challenge to the staff because we did request to have our rooms changed to the condos. The private club staff including David, Corrine, Rochelle and Mel was absolutely the best. They did everything they possibly could to accommodate us. It made the celebration of our mother's 90th birthday fabulous. We would definitely return to the Reefs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Throught my 15 year marriage, my wife and I have visited the Reefs as Newlyweds, with In-Laws, with Friends and with our kids as babies and tweens... Each trip has been special, each trip took on its own character and each time The Reefs has proven to be the best resort on the island.

When we first went to The Reefs, it was a quaint "Mom & Pop" "Flavor of the island" type resort. It has since grown into a "Best in Class" high end establishment with all the trimmings of a 5 Star resort. Yet they have never lost their roots and they still welcome their guests "Home" each and every time.

No matter what your reason for your visit to Bermuda, nothing beats The Reefs as the best Home away from Home for your visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Extremely overpriced... The property is old and needs a complete teardown or renovation. Most of the staff seems poorly trained or indifferent. Perhaps they are underpaid. Rosewood Tucker's Point seemed better in terms of the property and the service, based on one dinner at the Point, which is the main restaurant at that hotel. Bermuda doesn't seem to have options if you want to stay at a high end hotel with a spa and waterfront etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcd123393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear abcd123393,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing a great vacation experience for our guests, as evidenced by many of the reviews on this site, so we are disappointed to fall short in your eyes.

We focus a lot on training of our staff, and our most often heard comment is the personal attention and service that our staff provide to our guests, as the service is the most common heard reason why many guests return to us year after year. I will be forwarding your comments to our team here for them to investigate and ensure that we are consistently providing the high level of service and product that we have become known for.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it is vital for us in order to continue to work on maintaining the high standards we strive to achieve here at The Reefs. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Spent a week there for our honeymoon. As we married later in life we have seen a fair number of nice places. The Reefs is the only place I would go back to in Bermuda. Service is above anywhere else. Food is gourmet quality and the view and private beach are wonderful. Be sure to have a little Black Seal Rum while you are there!

Room Tip: We loved the room over the pool great views and close in to dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful trip to The Reefs. Everything from the staff to the food to the accommodations were top notch. It was the perfect place to relax and recharge. We are already thinking about our next visit. Thanks again!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bmgill2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
525 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,752 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing