We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & elegant, perfect for a honeymoon”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet & elegant, perfect for a honeymoon”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

For a 25th anniversary trip, the Reefs were lovely. The location is away from the main tourist parts of the island, but easy bus travel just outside the front door made the rest of the island accessible, while we were able to enjoy staying in a quieter spot.
The staff was very professional and mostly very friendly, as seems to be the general custom in Bermuda. They took the initiative to upgrade our reservation to the Point Suites (perhaps because we had booked off season), which was a lovely accommodation with a large, modern bathroom and beautiful main room with a gorgeous view.
The dining room was also sunny and lovely for breakfast, although when weather permitted (in November we had a few windy, cooler days), breakfasting on the outdoor patio offers another amazing view of the ocean.
For a family with children, I think the pool (while stunningly beautiful) was on the small side. Because of the season, we didn't take advantage of the beach, which looked large and attractive.
Only con for us: WiFi connectivity was weak from our suite

Room Tip: The Point Suites are beautiful for a honeymoon suite. The room and bathroom were both spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    204
    91
    26
    17
See reviews for
167
656
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shillington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our family trip to the Reefs was fabulous. We had our kids (16 and 20) with us and they loved the private pink sand beach!! Just a short walk down the cliffside. There are always lounge chairs and umbrellas available and the staff grooms and cleans the beach each morning to perfection. We all loved snorkeling around the rocks, paddle boarding, kayaking and jumping from the high rocks into the ocean. (and it was all included) So much fun!! Overheard some guests at a restaurant that were staying at the nearby Fairmont Southampton Princess that waited in long lines to catch the shuttle to their beach. Not here!!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and the view was second to none.(has to be one of the very best views on the island) The wall of my bedroom was floor to ceiling windows. I lay in bed every morning watching the longtails float on the breezes out over the waves. The condos are modern and spacious with beautiful kitchens, a glass walled and covered deck area with a private hot tub and the best bathroom ever. You can even open the sliding doors to the bathroom and shower with a view of the ocean before you. Stunning!!! I took tons of pictures of the bathroom for when I get to remodel someday.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful with lots of fresh fruit and the best waffles with seasonal berries and whipped cream. Afternoon tea was also lovely.

The spa was well appointed and my massage with Imani was one of the best I've ever had (and I work in a holistic health center). All of the staff throughout the entire property were friendly and professional. The concierge staff in the condos were extremely helpful in setting up dining reservations, arranging cab service and anything else you could possibly need. All done with a smile!

The only complaint I had was that the music at Coconuts on Saturday night was really loud until 11:30. But that was the only thing.

This establishment is quite pricey but so is everything else on Bermuda. The view and the beach are well worth the price.

Room Tip: Try the sushi at Henry the VIII's restaurant, just a short walk up the road, it is delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Rosie T,

We are thrilled that you and your family had a great stay with us for your vacation. One of the main things guest love about us is the warm and friendly service our staff aim to provide to our guests, as well as being able to get right onto the beach in seconds!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I came on a vacation to visit some family friends from England and we stayed in the reefs. Our room was the size of a rabbits hole in the ground. Wow spending 600 buckaroos for crap. The bed had stains and the floor. The only good thing I could say was Winfield and CAMI CAM best singer on the island. Oh and the reastaurants roystins I think it was called that was a GREASE hole it smelled like the back of mcdonalds. Wow overall SERIOUSLY. Next time I'm going to the princess.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rates133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Rates133,

I am very sorry to hear of your recent experience with us here at the The Reefs and that it did not meet your expectations. It is very surprising to hear, given our record of guest satisfaction from both our comment cards and from guest reviews on this site. I will pass along your feedback to our departments to investigate and address to ensure we are meeting the expectations of future customers. Royston's is an open kitchen concept, which many of our guests enjoy as they can see and smell the chefs cooking in front of them, so I am sorry that this was not to your liking. But I hope we have the opportunity to see you back at The Reefs sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 5 days and 4 nights in Bermuda at The Reefs. The hotel is in a beautiful location on the ocean and it has a great beach. Our room was ocean front with a nice view from two sides. Staff members from the doormen to office staff to servers were friendly, pleasant, and professional.

Our room was a nice size and the bathroom was modern. We had a wonderful view of the ocean from our room. (Unfortunately our large picture window had a large crack in the lower half.) Turn down service was done daily while we were out for dinner.

We had a buffet breakfast (included in our room rate) each morning in Ocean Echo and we ate dinner (additional cost) in all three restaurants – Ocean Echo, Coconuts, and Royston’s. The food was excellent as were staff members. The view from Coconuts at sunset was outstanding! Afternoon tea is very nice and is also included. We have nothing but compliments for the food and the service…excellent!

We had one issue with our stay, but we did not file a complaint at the time. On our last night at The Reefs, the hotel hosted a wedding that took place on the observation deck and in the Coconuts restaurant. Unfortunately, the music from the wedding reception’s DJ played loudly until midnight and sleep was impossible. Obviously a hotel/resort of this size caters to weddings as a portion of their business, but hotel guests, who are paying a premium rate, should not be neglected in cases such as this.

Room Tip: Ocean front is certainly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have not stayed at Tucker's Point, but I would definitely say that The Reefs was a solid experience. I don't think pictures do it justice. It's a stunning resort perched on cliffs overlooking the ocean. Check-in was efficient. The breakfast was efficient. The views are fantastic. The staff was mostly friendly. The pool is to die for. The hot tub is awesome. The beach laying out area is great. The concierge set us up with two good tee-times at Port Royal and Mid-Ocean club. Despite other comments here, I did not think the bathrooms were "tired."

Some tips: Do ask the concierge to make reservations in advance. We made the mistake of not doing this and ended up having to eat around 9pm each night.

A needed improvement: The Wi-Fi coverage is terrible. I had to go out to the pool to deal with e-mail...my room had essentially no Wi-Fi coverage. I found this frustrating given that I sort of rely on WiFi internationally over cellular data. At $600 a night, the WiFi should be flawless, no excuse.

Room Tip: Cannot imagine a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidgolfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

In desperate need of a revamp but unfortunately you can see how this would escalate from one thing to another. Our room (320) had a brand new bathroom which unfortunately highlighted just how much the bedroom needed revamping. The mirror in the new bathroom had pencil lines around it from where they'd placed it for aligning hooks to hang it...these hadn't been erased or painted over. The cliffside room was very basically furnished & dark....no desk but stationary supplied but no writing utensils, only 3 sidelights & on one of these the on/off switch fell off (no main ceiling lighting) It was also impossible to have any decent lighting in the bathroom so as to apply make-up effectively & the sliding wardrobe doors needed full force. It wasn't luxury by any means but for our week of R&R, we were comfy.

The terrace was large with a fantastic unobscured view of the beach & sea plus we weren't overlooked by other rooms/balconies/terraces. It was exactly what we wanted. It had full sun from midday-ish and you could watch the sunset from there. The door leading from the bedroom to the terrace was warped and could only be opened by being forced with a knee.

The staff are completely approachable & The Reefs is clearly a place which prides itself on happy employees. The location is great....no flight path, we felt very safe & the housekeeping staff (when they did show up) proved themselves to be totally trustworthy. On the subject of h/keeping, they showed up only 3 nights of our 7. One of these times we had locked the door & put the "Do not disturb" sign out but the staff chose to unlock our door & walk in anyway! As a general rule, they tried to get into our room 6-6.30pm which was bad timing as that was when we were getting ready for the evening. They didn't return while our room was empty....a little communication or initiative would have told them maybe to look at their restaurant reservations, see when we would be vacating the room & then come in at an appropriate time.

Check-out time is officially 11am but h/keeping showed up at 10.20 while we were packing. Again, just a little communication from Front Desk & they'd have known this. We were given a room for the day as our flight wasn't til the evening.

The food throughout was incredibly good. Yes a fair amount of it is fried but there is a good choice of healthier alternatives too.

The spa is absolutely beautiful...not promoted highly enough at all. Like most of the facilities, they aren't signposted or advertised due to 90% of the guests being repeat clientele.

Wifi is available but do NOT rely on it. Out of a whole hour, we managed to have connection for just 3 minutes in total & this was patchy. If you need to do anything online without it timing out or losing it, you'll have to use the PC provided by The Reefs.

I would return again but make sure I had a newly refurbished room.

Room Tip: Make sure you've got one with a new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful trip to Bermuda staying at The Reefs. We loved the private beach that provided snorkel equipment /kayaks. If you like water sports and swimming it is heaven.
In particular we found the food excellent. Some servers were friendlier than others. At breakfast the servers are very busy and don't have much time to be overly friendly. Dinner meals are much more relaxed. The kitchen baked us a delicious cake for a celebration. We had a dinner exchange at The Cambridge Beach which had a lovely setting but the food/service was not very good.
The key to an excellent stay is your accommodation. The rooms with updated bathrooms are quite nice but the private club condos are superior. If you are going with several people definitely try to book the condos. You will have an excellent experience.
Our family was a challenge to the staff because we did request to have our rooms changed to the condos. The private club staff including David, Corrine, Rochelle and Mel was absolutely the best. They did everything they possibly could to accommodate us. It made the celebration of our mother's 90th birthday fabulous. We would definitely return to the Reefs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
526 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,752 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing