We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Brunch!”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Brunch!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We didn't stay here, although the incredible view made me wish we were!
We went for Sunday Brunch, which was fantastic, an amazing array of all types of food - seafood/smoked salmon/sushi, omelette/waffle station (with sugar-free syrup which, being diabetic is very much appreciated), eggs benedict/usual breakfast items, roast chicken/ribs/pork/lamb/Yorkshire puddings, huge range of desserts including chocolate fountain.
At $48 plus service, not cheap but we thought well worth it. The wife had the 'endless bubbles' option with prosecco on tap, so she really enjoyed that!
Waiting staff couldn't have been friendlier and were very attentive.
The views of the ocean from the dining room are to die for.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkirktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    201
    91
    25
    17
See reviews for
166
651
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were just married at the Reefs and I have to say this is the best place on the island to do it. The views are like no other and amazing for pictures. The staff was amazing and Kathleen the wedding planner is the best on the island. She made planning a wedding so easy even though we live in NY. If you want the most amazing wedding and no headache planning it all then this is the place to do it. Thank you so much for everything you guys truly are the greatest at what you do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wglax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Never really had a desire to visit Bermuda, Wife pushed the idea and I am glad she did. A friend recommended The Reefs. She was spot on. The place was beautiful, pool small but big enough and dazzling. The beach at the resort was excellent and i feel it rivals Horseshoe down the road, however 1/10th the crowd and better snorkeling right at the hotel. Included breakfast left nothing out and the staff was amazing. Everyone form day 1 till checkout treated us like royalty. The everyday staff members were delightful in their greetings and demeanor. I believe we will return sooner rather than later

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, puts you closer to the action, and you get both the pool and ocean view in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our third stay at The Reefs was great! Spectacular views, upgraded rooms, excellent staff, each room a separate "building" so you don't hear the neighbors. Top notch food and location. Quiet if you want but plenty of activities nearby. Many hotels are gone but, luckily, The Reefs carries on!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My boyfriend and I spent weeks looking over all the hotels in Bermuda, deciding which one to stay at. We ended up choosing the Reefs because it seemed like it was the perfect place, luxury and all-inclusive. Let me start by saying we were prepared to pay whatever amount to get great service and a beautiful back drop.

The hotel itself it set in an absolutely gorgeous part of the island (the entire island is pretty fantastic). It is directly on the beach, and the water is breath taking. Make sure to get a "cliff side" room so that you will have the view we did, which was beach front. You can hear the waves coming into the shore at all hours, and it's quite relaxing.

Where the hotel goes wrong is customer service, or lack there of. There was NONE. We paid a pretty penny for this vacation, and expected to be treated well. It was definitely not worth the price. Every meal we had took forever. To get a glass of juice at breakfast took 20 min. The hotel staff was zero help when it came to deciding what to do on a rainy day, and no one could seem to come up with an answer to any of our questions. There is no room service (at least we were led to believe there was none) by asking several of the hotel employees. If you order a drink on the beach be prepared to wait at least 20 min, even though the bar is directly next to where you will sit. No one had a sense of urgency, and it seems the staff really doesn't care about how long something may take them to do, because there are no tips given to the staff (it's included in the reservation, they get 17% I think). I was absolutely appalled by the way we were treated for the money we spent.

I will go back to Bermuda, but not the The Reefs. It was not worth the money we spent at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Tara W,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you also for chatting with me on the phone the other day in reagrds to your visit to The Reefs. As mentioned in our discussion, it was very surprising to hear that we did not meet your expectations, as it is very unlike us, as evidenced by other reviews on this site.

We are known for our service to our guests and creating an inviting and comfortable experience, so I am once again sorry that this did not come through during your stay. I hope I was able to reassure you that this is far from a normal experience at The Reefs and that the overwhelming majority of our guests leave feeling that it was the personal and attentive service that really made their trip special.

We welcome the opportunity down the road to give you a true "Reefs" experience and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a family of 5 (3 adult children), we spent Memorial Day weekend at The Reefs. The service was outstanding, the Property very well-maintained. The staff at the hotel could not have done more to make this a very memorable vacation. We will certainly return and recommend this hotel with no hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, Ma.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed at the Reefs many times and always had the most exceptional experience. The staff are outstanding in their friendliness and the efficient way they all do their jobs. We have stayed in many rooms over the years and have always been happy with the appearance and cleanliness of the rooms. The pool area and beach area are the best. We love dining at the beach restaurant Coconuts and for a small extra fee you can dine on the beach, weather permitting. The main dining ( Ocean Echo) is also very pleasant with beautiful views of the ocean. The food is also very good. I highly recommend this hotel. But above all it is the staff that really makes a difference, and that the hotel has many repeat guests like ourselves

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view some limited but all have balconies. The pool rooms have all been ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,721 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing