We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here a week and loved all the beach front activities- kayaking, snorkeling, and paddle boarding. We also loved the chef's eight course tasting dinner paired with wines. Beautiful beach and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    198
    89
    25
    17
See reviews for
166
645
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I returned to The Reefs this past weekend for an anniversary celebration - just as we had done for our first stay one year ago.
The Reefs "stepped it up" even more-so than I last remember.
Easy check-in, lovely room over-looking the pool - but still with ocean views.
Staff so genuinely friendly, so very helpful.
Dinner and breakfast excellent.
Thank you once again to all who work at this fine establishment.
Tremendous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at The Reefs last October. It was gorgeous, but they did a bait and switch on the room so the first night we had an undesirable room. It was especially annoying because we were only there for 4 nights and we wasted half the next day moving to another room. Unfortunately, that was the only day the weather was good! We also had to pay a lot more for the new room so the trip became much more expensive than we had planned. They also added a service charge to the total bill that was not negotiable and not disclosed. Not good!
They had a lovely buffet breakfast and the service was good in there. However, the front desk service was abominable! It took an hour to check-in but we thought that was due to the room problem. We waited for half an hour to get bus information one day. The worst was that it took an hour and a half to check out!!! Naturally, the rain had stopped that day so the 3 hours I had for beach time became one and a half.
I've given them an "Average" rating because the location is beautiful, and certain things were excellent, but other things were poor. They need a concierge.

Room Tip: The "junior suites" overlooking the beach were the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Amy B,

I am sorry to hear that your experience at The Reefs did not meet your expectations. Being that your stay was over 8 months ago, it is difficult for me to know the exact details, however I would like to assure you that we would never engage in any type of bait and switch tactic. Our reputation is our most important value and we would never deliberately do anything to potentially damage it.

Once again, not knowing the details, I am assuming that when you arrived, the location of your room was not to your preference. All of our rooms have ocean views and have distinct locations around the property. Many guests have preferences in terms of the area of the property they like the most - some guests prefer upper versus lower level for example and what works for one, may not be the ideal for another. I am guessing that unfortunately we did not have any other rooms in that category available we could offer you and the only other option if you wanted to move would be a higher category, which would come with a rate difference. This is always a voluntary choice - we would never move a guest into a higher category and pay a higher rate without them choosing to do so, unless it was due to mechanical issues in the room for example, which caused that room to be put out of order, for which we would waive any upgrade fee of course.

We are also always very upfront about our daily service charge, which covers gratuities for your bellmen, housekeeping staff and wait staff for breakfast, and is standard practice in Bermuda. It is on every confirmation and is also described on our website so I apologize if there was a misunderstanding here.

I am sorry to hear of the delays in your interactions with our front desk staff. Since October, we have made many changes to our front desk, including the addition of a concierge now, but I will pass along your feedback for continued training.

Once again, I apologize for any frustration you encountered and I hope that despite these challenges, you still enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We didn't stay here, although the incredible view made me wish we were!
We went for Sunday Brunch, which was fantastic, an amazing array of all types of food - seafood/smoked salmon/sushi, omelette/waffle station (with sugar-free syrup which, being diabetic is very much appreciated), eggs benedict/usual breakfast items, roast chicken/ribs/pork/lamb/Yorkshire puddings, huge range of desserts including chocolate fountain.
At $48 plus service, not cheap but we thought well worth it. The wife had the 'endless bubbles' option with prosecco on tap, so she really enjoyed that!
Waiting staff couldn't have been friendlier and were very attentive.
The views of the ocean from the dining room are to die for.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkirktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were just married at the Reefs and I have to say this is the best place on the island to do it. The views are like no other and amazing for pictures. The staff was amazing and Kathleen the wedding planner is the best on the island. She made planning a wedding so easy even though we live in NY. If you want the most amazing wedding and no headache planning it all then this is the place to do it. Thank you so much for everything you guys truly are the greatest at what you do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wglax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Never really had a desire to visit Bermuda, Wife pushed the idea and I am glad she did. A friend recommended The Reefs. She was spot on. The place was beautiful, pool small but big enough and dazzling. The beach at the resort was excellent and i feel it rivals Horseshoe down the road, however 1/10th the crowd and better snorkeling right at the hotel. Included breakfast left nothing out and the staff was amazing. Everyone form day 1 till checkout treated us like royalty. The everyday staff members were delightful in their greetings and demeanor. I believe we will return sooner rather than later

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, puts you closer to the action, and you get both the pool and ocean view in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our third stay at The Reefs was great! Spectacular views, upgraded rooms, excellent staff, each room a separate "building" so you don't hear the neighbors. Top notch food and location. Quiet if you want but plenty of activities nearby. Many hotels are gone but, luckily, The Reefs carries on!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,689 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing