We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to the Reefs. Our first time since they added the time share units. We were pleasantly surprised they did not have a negative impact. We were a bit worried that the beach would be over crowded, but it was not even noticeable. We did notice more families rather then just couples.

A few things about the a Reefs.....
If you are going thinking it is the Four Seasons, it is not! It is a wonderful boutique hotel with small rooms, a phenomenal beach, and fantastic food! It is a place to sit back and relax. Wifi is spotty, and to tell you the truth, it was nice remembering the times without being connected to everyone. You are to be on vacation! Put the phone away and enjoy!!
Staff is always friendly and helpful. Our only negative comments... When I made our reservations for our 25th wedding anniversary in February, I specified we wanted to be as far out on the cliff in the cliffside rooms as possible. I was also told we were getting a room there. We arrived and got the worst cliffside room possible! Room 327 is terrible!! They should lower the rate on this horrible room. First, only the bathroom has been updated. You get the smell of Coconuts, and your view is blocked by a tree. The patio is also off to the side. Needless to say, we were moved the next morning to the wonderful 347 room. This room was completely renovated. How they charge the same rate is beyond me. Room 347 has a beautiful view, nicely renovated, and a patio in front. We will request it whenever we go back.

We also feel that management should be checking up on the staff more frequently. While on the beach one day, we overheard a female and male employee in the beach hut ( where towels and water sport items are given) arguing. They were noticeably load and we were surprised no one said anything. This is not what people like to experience when on vacation.
Even though we encountered a few glitches, we will return. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank J3CAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    195
    87
    25
    17
See reviews for
160
637
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful nine night holiday at The Reefs. It is the best hotel we have stayed in on the Island. Very good breakfast and afternoon tea. Coconuts beach restaurant is in a great location. The staff are very friendly. A lovely resort and we could not fault it. We upgraded to a cliff side room and had a great ocean view. We have a son in Bermuda and used the buses during the day and taxis in the evening. It costs about 27 Dollars from Hamilton. We would certainly return. B and R. Jersey UK

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent a spectacular weekat the Reefs, celebrating yet another anniversary.The staff, crew and all other employees really make customer service a priority in a country that depends on tourism, and positive reviews. From our lovely and large upgraded longtail suite, the location and treatment was spectacular. Their beach was the cleanest, with clear warm waters, that we have ever used. Food, is food...and the REEFS did not disapoint. Local bus service was convenient, and quick; Afternoon tea time, lovely as well. The Reefs is quiet, and serene, however, like most of Bermuda, does not offer much outstanding night life. Come here to relax, unwind, and enjoy the peaceful pace and leave your laptops, and wireless devices at home (especially since the wi-fi ebbs and flows like most of the waves of the ocean!). Fitness center is limited, and walking througout the resort many steps and staircases is definately not for the aerobically challenged! Forget your worries, and enjoy the vacation you so much deserve.

Room Tip: Rooms mid way poolside and beach are convenient. Ask for a complimentary upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at The Reefs for a few nights in mid-June. This was our 4th visit to this beautiful hotel and it certainly won't be our last!
They have renovated the hotel's rooms & are always making improvements. The location of The Reefs is THE BEST! It is a beautiful hotel with magnificent views from every room & every dining-room & lounge. It has a beautiful infinity pool & huge hot tub, again with the same jaw-dropping views! It's a very clean hotel everywhere everywhere you look: from its public areas to its guest rooms. Everything is kept in top shape!

But what sets The Reefs apart is its wonderful, caring staff. Everyone who works there had a smile & kind word to say to us at every opportunity! We were upgraded to a beautiful Point Suite with gorgeous views from its big balcony with a hot tub! Our room was kept very clean by
Valerie during the day & Alfreda in the evenings. Marlene, the housekeeping manager was always on hand too. The front desk staff were fantastic as well, from Ruthlyn & Cami to Tamika, the concierge.
We had wonderful breakfasts & afternoon tea included and they were both excellent with lots of choice & great service. A very special thanks to Alexandra, our waitress who provided excellent service, with a cheerful smile every time.
Both restaurants at The Reefs are just wonderful! Coconuts on the beach is where we enjoyed great lunches & the more formal Ocean Echo is where breakfast & dinner are served with so much to choose from!
Our thanks to the two great managers, Ms. Nagma Walker & Mr. Jeffrey Floyd who were always on hand to talk to guests & help if needed. You could tell that they were very caring people!
We've stayed in many places around Bermuda over the years but The Reefs is # 1 in our book
and we shall return! Our thanks to all at The Reefs!

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geniemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here a week and loved all the beach front activities- kayaking, snorkeling, and paddle boarding. We also loved the chef's eight course tasting dinner paired with wines. Beautiful beach and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I returned to The Reefs this past weekend for an anniversary celebration - just as we had done for our first stay one year ago.
The Reefs "stepped it up" even more-so than I last remember.
Easy check-in, lovely room over-looking the pool - but still with ocean views.
Staff so genuinely friendly, so very helpful.
Dinner and breakfast excellent.
Thank you once again to all who work at this fine establishment.
Tremendous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at The Reefs last October. It was gorgeous, but they did a bait and switch on the room so the first night we had an undesirable room. It was especially annoying because we were only there for 4 nights and we wasted half the next day moving to another room. Unfortunately, that was the only day the weather was good! We also had to pay a lot more for the new room so the trip became much more expensive than we had planned. They also added a service charge to the total bill that was not negotiable and not disclosed. Not good!
They had a lovely buffet breakfast and the service was good in there. However, the front desk service was abominable! It took an hour to check-in but we thought that was due to the room problem. We waited for half an hour to get bus information one day. The worst was that it took an hour and a half to check out!!! Naturally, the rain had stopped that day so the 3 hours I had for beach time became one and a half.
I've given them an "Average" rating because the location is beautiful, and certain things were excellent, but other things were poor. They need a concierge.

Room Tip: The "junior suites" overlooking the beach were the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Amy B,

I am sorry to hear that your experience at The Reefs did not meet your expectations. Being that your stay was over 8 months ago, it is difficult for me to know the exact details, however I would like to assure you that we would never engage in any type of bait and switch tactic. Our reputation is our most important value and we would never deliberately do anything to potentially damage it.

Once again, not knowing the details, I am assuming that when you arrived, the location of your room was not to your preference. All of our rooms have ocean views and have distinct locations around the property. Many guests have preferences in terms of the area of the property they like the most - some guests prefer upper versus lower level for example and what works for one, may not be the ideal for another. I am guessing that unfortunately we did not have any other rooms in that category available we could offer you and the only other option if you wanted to move would be a higher category, which would come with a rate difference. This is always a voluntary choice - we would never move a guest into a higher category and pay a higher rate without them choosing to do so, unless it was due to mechanical issues in the room for example, which caused that room to be put out of order, for which we would waive any upgrade fee of course.

We are also always very upfront about our daily service charge, which covers gratuities for your bellmen, housekeeping staff and wait staff for breakfast, and is standard practice in Bermuda. It is on every confirmation and is also described on our website so I apologize if there was a misunderstanding here.

I am sorry to hear of the delays in your interactions with our front desk staff. Since October, we have made many changes to our front desk, including the addition of a concierge now, but I will pass along your feedback for continued training.

Once again, I apologize for any frustration you encountered and I hope that despite these challenges, you still enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Destinology, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing