We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel of Bermuda -- a must for every bucket list!!”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Jewel of Bermuda -- a must for every bucket list!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Absolutely magical, wonderful experience. Returned to the Reefs with my husband and two teenagers after an 18 year absence. Felt as though we had never left and were treated as though we were family. My husband and I had been to the Reefs many times in the 1990's. We decided to return with our children and introduce them to the wonderful island and people of Bermuda. The hotel is beautiful, clean as a whistle and brimming with friendly staff. Our room was perfect, the food at each of the restaurants was outstanding and the location on the beach cannot be beat. I highly recommend it for couples or families. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We traveled with our children so we recommend the two bedroom suites at the Reefs Club, complete wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkbkck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    201
    91
    25
    17
See reviews for
166
651
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Reef several years ago and loved every minute and aspect of the hotel especially the beach. We are visiting the hotel again and contacted David (GM). He is very gracious and incredibly helpful. If you have any concern, he is the one that will make anything right.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I always feel welcome at The Reefs. The staff, the food, the ambiance, the beach, and the service in all aspects, are always excellent. The owners are always available, and make it very clear that they will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The beach is beautiful, and snorkeling is wonderful. What makes The Reefs special is proved by the high number of repeat guests. From the pre-arranged airport transfers, to the friendly and competent staff, you fell like you are part of The Reefs family from the minute you step off the plane in Bermuda. The staff has an uncanny way of remembering and addressing you by name!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong by choosing by your budget. All but the very few cottages by the tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syzygycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I recently returned to The Reefs for our anniversary. We were married there 10 years ago. We received the same "over the top" service we experienced 10 years ago. Both our experiences there have been different from other resorts we have visited. The staff are all very friendly, professional, willing to help, and seem very sincere. Everyone makes you feel important. The food is excellent and the rooms are very cheery and clean. There are so many smal things the staff do to make your stay feel extra-special. This resort is well worth considering for your next special occassion trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine except I would stay away from rooms that overlook the infinity pool. Better to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful stay at this resort in Bermuda, and we are thoroughly impressed! This was only our second visit to the island. We reserved the Romance Package, with a 5 night stay in a Junior Suite, with breakfast and dinner included. The location is absolutely stunning (pictures don't really do it justice), the food at both restaurants of top quality, and the staff extremely nice and accommodating. Read previous reviews on this site that complained about the service, but we cannot agree. The entire staff seems genuinely proud of their resort, and they know what service with a smile means! You can relax and do absolutely nothing, or take advantage of some of the activities on hand. And there is a bus stop close by if you want to venture to Hamilton or other points of interest. We love Bermuda and now have found the perfect spot in the Reefs. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else on this beautiful island paradise.

Room Tip: Junior Suites along the cliffside have great views towards the west, for tremendous sunset viewing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip back to Bermuda since our Honeymoon 40 years ago and our first stay at The Reefs. On the positive side, the view is spectacular. Our room was on the Cliffside and was clean and renovated. Since this is a small boutique resort, there was never a problem getting a lounge at the private beach or at the pool. We found most of the staff to be friendly and tried to accommodate our needs. There are two restaurants on the grounds and the hotel offers a meal plan as an add-on. If you plan to eat at the hotel, it's worth the $50.00 per person per day. The plan is flexible in the sense that you only need to take a minimum of 3 days. The menus do not change with the exception of a special. We did that, and ate at other resorts the remainder of our stay.
Entertainment is limited and seems to repeat weekly.
On the negative side, there were several issues. We pre-ordered a taxi from the airport and it was not there (note: the manager gave us a $50 credit for the inconvenience). When we checked in, we were given the wrong keys (yes, they still use actual keys). It took three tries to get the correct ones. The facility boasts "free wi-if" but service is spotty at best. It seemed to be a common complaint from guests. They have a computer available, but it too had log on issues. The front desk actually allowed us to use their computer to print our boarding passes.
Recommendations: fix your wi-fi; provide more frequent bar and food service at the pool; change your menu items throughout the week to offer more variety.
Overall, we were pleased with our stay at The Reefs, but can't say for sure if we would go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nsl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in April for my birthday treat. The hotel was lovely though only one of the three restaurants was open in the evening, I think we were just outside the main holiday period. It did not matter though as the main restaurant was very good (though it was the same menu throughout the week there was plenty of choices). Luckily there was a restaurant up the road (Henry VIII) which we alternated with. I recommend the Sunday brunch at the hotel which is extensive and very popular with the tourists and locals alike. The puds are amazing! The beach restaurant opened for lunch the second day we were there and we had a couple of lovely meals overlooking the beautiful private beach.
The room was very spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the beach (we paid for a Cliffside room and it was worth the extra cost).
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Bermuda is a stunning place from top to bottom with extremely friendly people, beautiful beaches and walks (recommend the rail trail) we truly felt we were in paradise.

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms have amazing views of the private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,715 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing