We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Expected”
Review of The Reefs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reefs
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Everything We Expected”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Reefs is a bit of heaven on earth. The location, overlooking the ocean with a private beach, is just lovely. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are clean and modern. The views from the room more than make up for the lack of luxury.
The resort amenities are plentiful: Good restaurants, beautiful pool, bar with entertainment, food & drink service on the beach, complimentary use of kayaks and SUPs.
The staff is friendly, attentive, and eager to please.
We had an upper level poolside room. It was nice. Next time we will likely reserve a room closer to the ocean, further away from the pool, just for a change of view.
We look forward to our next visit to Bermuda and the Reefs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    202
    91
    25
    17
See reviews for
166
652
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Reefs has expanded a great deal since we stayed there last, they built a Reefs Club but despite that expansion they closed one of the three restaurants (Roystons) which used to be their fine dining restaurant. Ocean Echo (elevated restaurant with inside seating with big glass windows facing the ocean as well as outdoor terrace seating) and Coconuts (all outdoor seating right over the beach) remain. There is nothing like eating at Coconuts sitting on the Travel & Leisure Terrace where the waves are washing against the rocks at your feet. But even the upper deck is magical with sweeping views of the cove and the setting sun. The food is very good, but after a few days you do wish they had more of a variation in the menu, perhaps more than one special per night. At breakfast you can no longer order from a menu, you have to have the buffet. And every day the offerings at the buffet were exactly the same. And they had one guy making the omelettes and belgian waffles, so it took a long time. The rooms are small but nice, the beds comfortable, and there is a couch and chair and ottomans. No minibar, and no room service menu. They did arrange salads for us the night we arrived (after 9pm) but we had to carry them to our room ourselves when the bellman brought us in the golf cart with the luggage. There are a lot of stairs and whereas you used to be able to call a bellman to pick you up in a cart if you didn't feel like the hike, now they are so short staffed that we called for one and he never came. The housekeeping leaves something to be desired. I spilled some ginger beer on the floor in front of the mini fridge one night and cleaned it up with a wet rag. In the morning you could see the sticky swirl was still visible so I left a note for the housekeeper and explained, asking to wash the floor. They did not do so until 3 days later, and then she must have just swirled the mop over the floor because the dried ginger beer was still clearly visible. You could not get a wash cloth to save your life. One day we came back to the room and there were not only no washcloths but no hand towels and only 1 bath towel for 2 people. We had to ask for more shampoo and body wash because after 3 days it was never replenished. When we stayed at the Reefs last time we remarked on how everyone on the staff was a long-time employee. That was not true this time. There were a lot of young, inexperienced people, especially as busboys. At breakfast we had to stop people and ask for water, coffee refills. I actually had to go up to the serving station and ask for butter and when it never appeared, went back up and asked the same kid a second time. His response? I didn't know where you went. Seriously, the dining room is so small that you have eyeshot of every table from where he was standing. He just didn't care. That was the experience a lot of the time with the new young staff members. Happily the waiters at lunch and dinner were not like that, though they are really understaffed. We poured our own wine every night at dinner. There was one day when they only had one bellman. On the beach, the umbrellas were faded and one was broken. Unlike last time, the beach was full of seaweed. Last time the crack maintenance team had it all cleared up before most of the guests even finished breakfast. This time two guys started at 11:00am and spent time creating piles with pitchforks which is a backbreaking and horrendous job. However,we realized they only did it for like 20 minutes and then took a 2 hour break, during one of which the tide came in and took half the piles back out to sea. The rest of it they load into a steam shovel and drive it across the beach, making guests move out of the way so they could pile it on the far side of the beach--another opportunity for it to end up right back in the water. Job security? They will only have to gather it all up again tomorrow. It isn't conducive to a peaceful experience to have all that going in 10 feet from you. Now having said all of that I still will go back to the Reefs. Here's why: The majority of the staff from the waiters to the concierge and front desk really want you to have a good time there, and were kind and thoughtful. The food in the restaurants is very good. And, it is stunningly, utterly beautiful. The cliffs, the protected cove, the turquoise water, the pink sands. The balcony of our hotel room looked out across the entire cove. After dinner every night we sat out there and drank red wide and listened to the tree frogs and the waves. It is peaceful and restful and beautiful and I love it there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceFromBayRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefs-Management, Manager at The Reefs, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear JaniceFromBayRidge,

Thank you very much for your review and we are are very happy to hear that overall you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back!

I sincerely appreciate the feedback on the couple areas that we can perhaps improve on and I have passed along your comments to our department managers. Feedback is critical to helping us continue to provide a great experience for our guests. Our staffing levels are on average about the same as previous years but we do have some new staff that have recently been hired, particularly in the dining room, so we will continue to work on their training to ensure they are giving the highest level of service.

I also wanted to clarify that we do still have our a la carte menu for breakfast. Our guests have a choice between a la carte menu or the buffet so I am sorry if this was not communicated to you. And we did have a few days of heavier than normal seaweed level recently - our team will typically clear it in the morning but every once in a rare while, they may have to do it in the afternoon also. But they always do their best to have the beach as pristine as possible!

Once again, very happy to hear you had a great trip and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Reefs soon!

Sincerely,
David Dodwell Jr
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at The Reefs over Fourth of July and had a really lovely time. The beach is amazing. The water is gorgeous. It really is a beautiful setting. The hotel itself is a bit dated but that did not diminish the trip. Our room was great and had a beautiful view of the beach. My only real disappointment was the food. All in all, it was a great getaway.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bcjarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a great resort. We got to visit many rooms during our visits and here is our feedback on rooms.
Cliff Jr Suites are large and have amazing rooms BUT your neighbors can hear everything you do from a cough to a phone ring. The reason for this is the rooms can be sold so you and your friends/family can have a door to go back and forth between rooms. If you are not using the rooms as shared the doors are locked but sounds escape underneath the door. The balconies are large with amazing breathtaking views.
We said in a cliffside regular room and the views were great and included a bit of the beach as well as the ocean so that was an active view and you could see if there were beach chairs open.
Poolside rooms are loudish-people are directly outside your room playing in the pool and tanning so there is not privacy BUT it is so close to everything the resort has to offer so it is a super convenient room.
The resort offers a meal plan which I got the breakfast and tea plan but only made it to breakfast 2 times so it wasnt worth it for me. The offer things at night for entertainment like piano player, dj on the deck, mojito night etc.....
The people that work at the resort are amazing and so accommodating. I had an emergency with my bridesmaids dress being a total wrinkled mess and they had a steamer at my room in 10 minutes to fix the problem.
The only issue I had was it rained 6 days straight but the resort had no control over that.
All in all it was a great resort and more lively then other resorts I have stayed at.

Room Tip: See my advise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angellike5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our daughter and her fiance was married at the Reefs. THe wedding planner did a fantastic job. About 80 family and friends attended. THe food and bar service lacked nothing. Ceromony took place at 5.00 pm and the reception ended at midnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Vacationing at The Reefs is a magical experience. From the moment you arrive there is a
feeling of tranquility that cannot be measured. The staff headed by David Dodwell Jr. is warm, friendly, and knowledgeable, the rooms are lovely, and there are spectacular views in every direction the eye can see. The service is impeccable, the food delicious with a delightful
breakfast buffet including omelets and waffles made just for you. A rum swizzle starts off
your visit as you check in, high tea includes, among other delights, delicious scones with clotted cream. Be sure to dine at Coconuts which overlooks the beach ( you can eat at a table
on the beach for a small additional charge) or Ocean Echo which is either outdoors or inside
with a gorgeous view. The menus are varied and delicious from the Seafood Mariscada at Coconuts to the warm chocolate dessert at Ocean Echo. Our compliments to the chef. The beach set in a pink sand cove and infiniti pool overlooking the beach are nothing short
of eye candy. We just returned for our eleventh vacation and are looking forward to many
more!



ice cream or the chocolate dessert with a warm center and ice cream.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaSmith154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The best part of The Reefs is its amazing setting - the rooms and restaurants are "carved" into a rocky, curved cliff overlooking a gorgeous beach and blue ocean. Some other thoughts: my husband and I purchased the breakfast plan, but was a bit disappointed that the buffet offerings were exactly the same every day. Our dinner in the main restaurant, Ocean Echo, was fabulous. Travel into Hamilton was a bit challenging - the only way to get into town reasonably is to take a bus. (cabs are very expensive). I would recommend this hotel to other couples!

Room Tip: Cliff side has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
10.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reefs

Property: The Reefs
Address: 56 South Shore Rd., SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reefs 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Widely recognized as the best hotel in Bermuda, this award-winning and intimate hotel offers spectacular ocean views from every room. Perched along limestone cliffs overlooking its own private beach you'll enjoy legendary Bermudian hospitality and gourmet dining at three different restaurants. The Reefs is one place where you will feel perfectly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Hotel Southampton
Reefs Resort Southampton
The Reefs Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Reefs Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing