We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, unpretentious, and delicious”
Review of Island Cusine

Island Cusine
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple, unpretentious, and delicious”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were planning to go grocery shopping and dressed as such t-shirts, shorts, and sneakers. We spotted the resto and stopped in to have a look at the menu. What we saw and smelled made our mouths water so after checking that our clothes didn't offend and being reassured that "ma'am doesn't have a dress code - we stayed for dinner. We got a seat under the window overlooking the dock and enjoyed the view as much as the cuisine. Big thumbs up for the braised pork with mashed pumpkin and garden veggies and for the jerked chicken (delicious take on traditional jerk spices). If you're in the mood for really good Bermudian food in a comfortable setting, go here. We'll definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GalleyCookNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    36
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice place and clean. Has local food and the food it great. Can be a bit on the expensive side. But conveniently located. The staff are very helpful. Ask about their local food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Acegirl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food lover”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent quality wherever we ate with service to match ,where nothing was to much trouble 1stclass all round.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandad7241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great mom and pop stop”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect stop for breakfast. Cute and friendly are a good description for decor and staff alike. Also a great place to mingle with locals to get a true feel for the culture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thanks to everyone who reviewed it. It was great.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

It's not in any of the guide books, so we'd have never known about it if it weren't for the reviews. It was excellent, especially at the price. I really have nothing add from the earlier reviews except that it's next the local grocery store so if you are heading there to stock up for a week in Bermuda, eat you're first meal here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1994Wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cusine also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Island Cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing