We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame this place is not fully open....”
Review of Graeme Hall Swamp

Ranked #121 of 208 things to do in Barbados
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll down the boardwalk and observe tropical wildlife and migrating birds in their natural habitat at this wildlife reserve.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Such a shame this place is not fully open....”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

At the moment all you can do is get something from the cafe and sit on the terrace overlooking the lake, you can feed the large fish and spot dragon flies and monkeys, it seems there is some legal wrangling with the government to overcome before this place can be fully re-opened, such a shame as it's a beautiful quiet spot protected from all the surrounding development. If you want to see animals you will need to go up north to the wildlife reserve but if you just want to sit somewhere peaceful with a drink and watch for birds and monkeys it's lovely .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wavingatclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    11
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Still Closed - Why?”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visit this every time we are in Barbados with the hope that it might just be reopened. Yet every time the signs at the entrance get more and more faded. The cafe is open - just - but running it must be soul destroying - there are no visitors. This time the girl in the cafe insisted that we bought something more than just a coffee - just to visit the outer gardens.

Sadly the inner gardens and lakeside paths are all well closed. The aviary is still nailed shut - how do the staff get in to clean it out - perhaps they don't - perhaps there are no staff? And the Barbados Free Press now reports that the mains water supply has been cut off completely.

We also hear that the incredibly rare nearly extinct St. Vincent parrots there - the national bird of St. Vincent - are no longer breeding and have been raided by thieves with one being killed. Also too the large fish in the Lake are being poached with no-one stopping this.

The other issue is that the sluice gate that could allow sea water to replenish the lake and mangrove swamps have been kept closed and damned meaning that with pollution run-off and rainwater the lake and swamps are getting more 'fresh' effectively killing the mangroves and all the wildlife that they support.

This is all a tragedy for an important Internationally recognised nature reserve.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still closed but worth a visit.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have been visiting Graeme Hall each year for about 10 years, so did manage to see it in it's full glory. It was a wonderful nature sanctuary and very peaceful to walk around. We do still visit as the garden is very relaxing to sit in - an iced coffee goes down a treat. We have been entertained by a whole family of green monkeys on the lawn as well as watching the fish in the lake. It is still worth a visit but it would be wonderful for Graeme Hall to be fully open once more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's still closed”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The signs say open, the cafe is open and they say entry is free if you buy from the cafe, fair enough, purchased coffee and cake and then went into the reserve, ha ha ha, what a joke ! It is closed to the public and when we went back into the cafe to ask why everything says NO ENTRY, she said there's a legal battle with the Barbados government , so I asked why did she say it was open if we buy from the cafe she just shrugged her shoulders and smiled. Dont fall for it, it is ClOSED, You will purchase over priced food and drinks and to be honest there is a nice small garden to sit in but hats it. it is tragic as what you can see looks like an oasis of paradise but you can't enter. Tragic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Was just out walking along the Boardwalk then kept going , and came along this garden sanctuary , I said to my husband lets go and see. At first I found it hard to find an entrance , then headed to the cafe /house , lovely people working there , please just make a purchase and then look around the grounds although they made it clear that half the sanctuary is closed to the public. So lovely coffee seated out in the garden area , the waitress in her Xmas antlers , lovely , then a half dozen or so monkeys all run out onto the lawn , playing around , this was around 11am. It was lovely to watch . Id bought my fish food , so when the monkeys had disappeared went down to the lake and the amount of fish , huge carps I think they are , and lots and lots of tiny babies. Spoke to an interesting Canadian couple who told us the background of the sanctuary and how our donations help to keep it presently running. It is such a shame to let the place go , the Barbados Tourism should be investing in the maintenance of this place , it would be amazing to see it in full. Then went to look through a fence at the amount of flamingos , they were so bright orange , it was a wonderful scene , there were about a hundred of them. it was beautiful. So enjoyed it , the tranquillity is amazing , had to have another walk and enjoy another morning coffee and we read the local papers which were so interesting .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamencolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Graeme Hall Swamp also viewed

Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Graeme Hall Swamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing