We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for history buffs”

Barbados Museum & Historical Society
Ranked #16 of 91 things to do in Bridgetown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An engaging glimpse into the history of Barbados.
Hastings UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not just for history buffs”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Not your run of the mill dull and dusty museum lots of well presented artefacts from the islands colourful history and a little gospel music from the curators radio to help you round. It does get extremely hot in there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scleverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    99
    42
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No air condition and QR Codes”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited the Barbados Museum on a Saturday in August 2013. The best part about visiting the museum is that it is housed in what was once a Military Prison. The entrance fee is $7.50 U.S. per adult and we got a 10% discount if we presented page 87 out of the "Barbados in a Nutshell" guide. We entered through an air conditioned store which sold souvenirs, books and snacks. Upon leaving the store we went out in the open air to a courtyard. The washrooms were noticeably smelly from the walkway. We then entered the museum which was hot, dark and dingy and had no seats. There were QR codes on all the displays and as we did not have an Iphone we could not access the information for the displays. We had a silent walk through on our own just reading about the displays. The Whale display was in a separate room where the air condition was beyond icy. There was a visitor book in that room where children drew dirty pictures. Not sure when last staff checked that room or the book. Then we went back out into the courtyard where we had to view dispslays of antiques and other displays through a window. There was a box for children to stand on to peek in to see the display. A super turn off. I was quite happy with two displays, the Chattel Houses which were used by plantation workers, and the most recent famous Barbadian, Rihanna's Umbrella. The courtyard was very picturesque. The museum needs a cleaning and a curator. It looks neglected.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ecogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get to know Barbados”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It was great to see Barbados through the ages with lots to see but we did find it very hot inside as fans were turned off ! But still well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank g0hwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing, could do better...”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

One of us last visited this attraction 18 years ago, and the main exhibitions have not changed much. We noted the review from June saying that the fans are not working - at the end of August this is still true, or at least they weren't switched on. On a very humid, rainy day, this meant that we too rushed around the exhibits. The content probably merits more time, but the dark and unventilated environment makes it too humid and unpleasant to stay. On the positive side, parking is easy.

The staff didn't seem very interested in us (even though there were only 2 other visitors), other than to make the point that photography was banned, and didn't even look up from their conversation to say goodbye. However entrance is only 15BDS so this should give some indication of what to expect.

There is no cafe, or even an opportunity to buy a drink, and you are not near anything else.

For a better understanding of the political history of Barbados, visit the museum of government at the Parliament Building. For insight into social history, Arlington House in Speightstown is much better. Both of these are much better museums, with more engaged staff.



Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J-and-M-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small museum”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A small museum with a few interesting artifacts. Unfortunately there was not much seating near the displays and halls were narrow (where the displays were located) so my children wanted to rush to get outside. I found that my children (3 and 6) did not find any thing of interest and wanted to get out quickly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank doctorwho2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbados Museum & Historical Society also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 

Been to Barbados Museum & Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing