We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and were more than happy with it for the money. The food was great and the rooms clean and spacious. Beds large and comfy, The staff are always happy to help and the cocktails are great! The pool is small but perfect to cool down in. Only gripes which are very small was no umbrella's at the pool and the towels are not big enough for the sunbeds so you burn your feet as they are black and attract the heat - but very small niggles. I would recommend this hotel for sure. The beach is seconds away and beautiful. we loved it and Barbados is Amazing.

Room Tip: pool rooms are bigger but not really better, nice and quiet the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nadine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    155
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
356
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Simply the best holiday we've had in years. From the minute we arrived until the end of the holiday we were looked after by the fabulous staff.
It's a small and intimate hotel with only having 24 rooms. The room we had was a garden view. It was ample in size for two. The restaurant was just past the bar and the meals were fantastic. Always something to suit everyones tastes. First all inclusive hotel I've been that you pick your meal from a menu. The bar was small but your always served quick and with a smile especially from earl the barman. He is a star. International brands as well.
The hotel isn't on the beach but its only a minute stroll to the beach.but be warned you have to pay for the sunbeds as its a public beach.for two beds, an umbrella and two mattresses it costs £15 British pounds.
We hired a car for three days. It's the best way to see the island. Very affordable and great fun.
The lobby area is small but comfortable as is all the hotel.
All the staff were fab. They did everything possible to make sure that your holiday was perfect. Sharon on reception was the best.her smile lightened up the room.
To sum up it up it was the best hotel ever.
Will definitely be back.
Thanks all at the island inn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank grahame f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt so at ease the staff are very friendly and efficient nothing is too much trouble, the room was lovely to say the least,the bed was enormous a selection of toiletries was provided along with tea and coffee, Every meal was delicious and the service outstanding ( the staff work extremely hard to make your stay a good one ) if you choose to go to this hotel you will be wanting a chill holiday and that's exactly what this hotel and area delivers. It is situated in an historic area so do not miss out on the history around you (after all the hotel itself was the rum store for the British army back in the 1800s .) Presumably in choosing this hotel you will have read the reviews if you go you will meet some like minded people to yourselves and have a very agreeable stay . I am sure that if you really look hard enough you may find fault don't look just enjoy. They say that barbados is paradise if that is true then the Bajan people must be the angels looking after it , it is them that make your stay special. We will definitely rerun to this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our visit to the Island Inn last December was our 4th and I can’t wait for our 5th (September 2014). It’s such a lovely, friendly little hotel probably my favourite anywhere. We always meets such lovely people and have a great time socialising in the courtyard, it’s such a lovely setting. All the staff are so friendly and I can’t wait for my welcome hugs from Sharon and Cyrilene.
We had a few problems last year with the air-conditioning and lack of water in the room (a pipe exploded outside) but not enough to put us off. Most of the guests are Brits with a fair mixture of ages. The bar did run out of a few drinks but luckily not my Gin and Tonics, the wine was quite drinkable as well. Eating in the Boardwalk restaurant is a pleasure, a la carte in the evenings, lunchtime varies .
Yes the pool is on the small size but we only ever use it for cooling down and the beach is only a minutes’ walk away. Our standard garden room was perfectly adequate just a few seconds walk from the bar. I’m not really into the evening entertainment so I won’t comment apart from it wasn’t too loud but we loved the BBQ especially Vanessa’s hot spicey sauce.
If you’re a diver like me, Rogers Scuba Shack is close by and he does pickup from the hotel and return though I usually walk to get back in time for lunch. If you’re lucky you might see the monkeys; previously they came through the hotel grounds every day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from 12 nights at the island inn and have got to say this is the best hotel we have stayed in! On arrival we mentioned that it was our first wedding anniversary that week and the staff kindly arranged a surprise bottle of bubbly in our room on the day! The hotel is very small which is why we loved it and we were lucky enough to meet some great people, in particular the bbq night was awesome!! It felt like our own private party! The food was great with a english breakfasts, three course lunches and three course dinners! We never had the same thing twice! The bar staff were good and would make any cocktail you wanted even if it wasn't on the list. Ahmal was our favourite barman and really made our stay special! The beach is a minutes walk away and in our opinion the best beach in barbados! Overall we could not fault the hotel or location - perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank robertandlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Returned a fort night ago to dreary old England! Me and my wife spent 12 nights in this hotel for our first wedding anniversary and can honestly say we had such an amazing time, the staff were friendly and helpful (I wanted to book a rum tour at St nicholas abbey. Sharon at reception called her dad a taxi driver and within minutes he was at the hotel giving us an intenary for the day and what a day it was). Amal, Earl and Renauld all brilliant barmen knocking up lovely cocktails. We were definitely the youngest couple there but we had such a lovely time with "The Oldies" dancing away at the cocktail party and generally just drinking a lot every night and sharing good stories. Thora a brilliant manageress!! Thank you to all the staff/Oldies that made our first wedding anniversary so memorable!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We returned to the island inn this May having visited last May for my 21st. Last year was great but this time was amazing. Everybody made you feel like you were at home. All the staff remembered us. I would never go anywhere else. This place is perfect in every way :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Samkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
12.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing