We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff .... Apartments a little dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nautilus Beach Apartments
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely staff .... Apartments a little dated!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

It's very hard to write this review, when we first were shown into our apartment we were a little shocked! It was very dated - think 1950's to 1970's!
Very old furniture & fittings we had to laugh really, it was funny! But and it is a big but ... The apartment was very clean & had everything we needed, a hot shower, loads of clean towels, a fridge/freezer, aircon in the bedroom, a safe, a balcony overlooking the beautiful beach (over the car park) with comfy beds & sofa.
The staff were lovely, they all went out of their way to make us welcome & were very helpful.
At first we thought we would look for another place to stay but then decided as we were there only a few nights we would stick it out, I'm glad we did, for the price it was well situated - right on the beach, it was safe (security guard at night) and it was very clean.
If only the owners would spruce it up with a lick of paint and update the furniture & fittings it would be a cracking place but then I suppose the price would be higher.
We had a lovely holiday, I'm not sure we would come back to the Nautilus Beach Apartments but that is only because we like to try other places but its one place I will always remember ...... For the right reasons!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Hermangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hi, we stayed at the nautilus in May 2013 as a family of 6,hiring out three apartments. What can I say apart from the service,amenities,cleanliness and friendliness of staff would make me want to stay here again.
The apartments are fully furnished and adequate enough to compliment the beautiful scenery of Carlisle bay. It is a little haven tucked away from the city centre but within reach if you need to take a stroll daily.
Betty,Erin and Tony made sure we had a lovely carribean experience and even the children,15,14 and 10 agreed we had a top time.
Give it a go ................................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zahrah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a very good place to stay on the beautiful Island of Barbados. But it is not ideal for everyone. If you are looking to save a few bucks and still be on the beach and close to a lot of interesting places then this could work out well.

My girlfriend and I stayed here in April of this year and at first we were a little turned off. The place is old but relatively clean and the people are friendly and helpful. It also rained more than we expected at first, but no days were ever rained out completely. We were on a tight budget so we walked quite a bit and took advantage of the bus system (public and private - and only a buck each way...that's 2 bucks Barbados). We were expecting a little less of the 3rd world impression the infrastructure gives you, but we never felt threatened or fearful in any way. Walking along Barbados' dark streets at night with run down shacks that serve as bars or even restaurants and the shabby streets seems intimidating at first. But we always felt safe and had no incidents to take away from our memorable stay.

After a couple of days, my girlfriend was saying she definitely wanted to come back to the island and also to Nautilus. We did have a problem with the refrigerator as it did not work and the freezer was only cold (not quite able to make ice). We reported it and the staff got a repairman there in short order. Unfortunately, he did not fix the problem even after replacing a part and de-icing the evaporator. But, we just kept perishables in the freezer and made do. We are not your typical complainers. As we checked out, we let them know the repairman owes them a completed job.

The location, again is excellent. You could go to other beaches on Barbados but you don't need to. Carlisle Bay has a super beach and you can snorkel right from your room. The walk to Bridgetown is long but doable and if you like to exercise, recommended. And the Oistins Fish Fry is a short bus ride down the road. You can't miss this event on Friday nights!

I would also make sure you take the tours of the Agapey Chocolate Factory (small but impressive) and the Mount Gay Rum bottling plant. These help you get a feel for the Barbados experience and are loads of fun.

We definitely want to return to Barbados and would seriously consider staying at Nautilus again.

Room Tip: Not sure of the room numbers, but ask for a room that faces the ocean. If it's too expensive or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had the most wonderful time at this apartment. The beach was amazing and the service excellent. I definitely would recommend Nautilus to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind thats close enough to all the shopping and nightlife areas in Barbados!!!! Looking forward to my next trip already!!!! Only thing missing was a pool which the beach more than made up for. Big ups to Angie my housekeeper and all rounder Tony. Ms. Betty runs the place very well

Room Tip: Stayed in room 208, best view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I will be honest, it is old but clean. Being in Barbados, my favorite Caribbean island and feeling like being in paradise, I don't mind as long as it is clean (but my daughter who is 15 prefers more modern facilities). First room was very old having not much renovation since the 70', three days later, we changed room and this one was much better. You can not beat the price and the location. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Arrived Jan 2/2012 Love,love, love the view of the sea as we got out of the Taxi and there to meet us was Wanda, it was like comming home. This year we had a upstairs Apt. and the view was breathtaking. I would sit on the deck for hours and thought ," how luckley we are to be able to visit this wonderful place" The rooms have been here for almost 40 years and are on the beach, they are very clean and have everything you need to do your own cooking. The office staff is the best, they always have time for a chat and a smile. The room maids and Louis get a 10 plus. they all do a great job. Our room was spotless ( I checked and I was in this business for 26 years, so I know a clean room ) Some say the rooms are dated but so am I so for us ( 70 - 72 ) they are perfect. We are going back in Dec. for a month and if our health holds out we will be going back to ,The Nautilus for many more years to come. We can't improve on " Perfect "

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mgmz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This accomodation has the best location on the island in my opinion, Carlisle (Brown) Beach. It is dated but everything is in working condition. Excellent staff. Place is very clean. This time, I was by myself (husband and daughter had to stay home) and the only unit available was the room 201. It is not the best room, the patio is almost in the parking lot and it is very dark. But I was there only to wash and sleep. Another room would be better but there is a lot of repeated guests booking year after year so it is difficult to have availability. I loved it so much that I am returning with my family in December but I book another room.

Room Tip: You can walk to Bridgetown. Avoid room 201 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Island Inn Hotel
Island Inn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bridgetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
1.0 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Beach Apartments

Property: Nautilus Beach Apartments
Address: Bay Street | St. Michael, Bridgetown BB11090, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nautilus Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nautilus Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Beach Apartments Hotel Bridgetown
Nautilus Beach Apartments Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing