We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nautilus Beach Apartments
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently stayed in room 208. The view and close proximity to the beach is what is best about Nautilus. The beach here is beautiful with relatively calm waters which are crystal clear. Our room on the second floor was maybe 10 feet from the sand of the beach!! We saw beautiful sunsets from 1 of our 2 balconies. There were sun loungers to take to the beach but no umbrellas and the sun is so hot in Barbados that one really needs shade. You can rent chairs and umbrellas down the beach at Harbour Lights or the Boatyard but it would be a huge improvement if umbrellas were provided here at the apartments. There was a gas station about 3 minutes away which had snacks/drinks available. Cuz's Fish Shack and Brown Sugar Restaurant were nearby and the bus stop is handy but there seems to be no schedule for them.
The apartment was large, almost too large for the two of us. The full kitchen has all you will need to prepare basic meals. The stove is a gas range that needs to be lit with a match so if you are not used to a gas stove it might make you nervous. It is dated in terms of furnishings but kept very clean by Tony who is a great housekeeper!
The staff at the front desk were very pleasant when they were there, although many times there was nobody there. Suggestions for improvement that would not cost much are the beach umbrellas and signs for the doors (do not disturb/please make up room). We were disturbed twice by staff wanting to make up the room in the mid morning. A simple sign would avoid this inconvenience. A lick of paint wouldn't hurt and It would also be great if you could purchase light snacks and cold drinks in the lobby!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoriK555428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nautilus Beach Apartments are rather dated, but the oceanfront view made up for it. You are steps away from Carlisle Bay, and it is great to sit out on the balcony and appreciate the wonderful view (and sunset!) or go for a long walk along the beach. Swimming was wonderful, the water is calm and oh so warm. They provide beach chairs, but providing umbrellas as well would've made it better. It is usually too warm in Barbados to go lay out in the sun for very long without some form of shade. There are umbrellas and chairs up by the apartments, but beach umbrellas would've been a nice addition.
This place is very circumstantial, depending on what you want to do in Barbados. This would be a better place if you were looking to either stay in / make your own meals or up for a lot of travelling via bus. There isn't much within walking distance as far as restaurants and shopping go. If you want somewhere thats central with lots of close proximity restaurants, convenience stores, banks, etc... I would recommend Worthing Court Apartments.
The staff were nice and kept the place clean, although there wasn't always someone at the front desk.
Renovating the apartments would be a good idea, overall though I was content with my stay. There were just some points to be improved upon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's very hard to write this review, when we first were shown into our apartment we were a little shocked! It was very dated - think 1950's to 1970's!
Very old furniture & fittings we had to laugh really, it was funny! But and it is a big but ... The apartment was very clean & had everything we needed, a hot shower, loads of clean towels, a fridge/freezer, aircon in the bedroom, a safe, a balcony overlooking the beautiful beach (over the car park) with comfy beds & sofa.
The staff were lovely, they all went out of their way to make us welcome & were very helpful.
At first we thought we would look for another place to stay but then decided as we were there only a few nights we would stick it out, I'm glad we did, for the price it was well situated - right on the beach, it was safe (security guard at night) and it was very clean.
If only the owners would spruce it up with a lick of paint and update the furniture & fittings it would be a cracking place but then I suppose the price would be higher.
We had a lovely holiday, I'm not sure we would come back to the Nautilus Beach Apartments but that is only because we like to try other places but its one place I will always remember ...... For the right reasons!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Hermangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hi, we stayed at the nautilus in May 2013 as a family of 6,hiring out three apartments. What can I say apart from the service,amenities,cleanliness and friendliness of staff would make me want to stay here again.
The apartments are fully furnished and adequate enough to compliment the beautiful scenery of Carlisle bay. It is a little haven tucked away from the city centre but within reach if you need to take a stroll daily.
Betty,Erin and Tony made sure we had a lovely carribean experience and even the children,15,14 and 10 agreed we had a top time.
Give it a go ................................

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zahrah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a very good place to stay on the beautiful Island of Barbados. But it is not ideal for everyone. If you are looking to save a few bucks and still be on the beach and close to a lot of interesting places then this could work out well.

My girlfriend and I stayed here in April of this year and at first we were a little turned off. The place is old but relatively clean and the people are friendly and helpful. It also rained more than we expected at first, but no days were ever rained out completely. We were on a tight budget so we walked quite a bit and took advantage of the bus system (public and private - and only a buck each way...that's 2 bucks Barbados). We were expecting a little less of the 3rd world impression the infrastructure gives you, but we never felt threatened or fearful in any way. Walking along Barbados' dark streets at night with run down shacks that serve as bars or even restaurants and the shabby streets seems intimidating at first. But we always felt safe and had no incidents to take away from our memorable stay.

After a couple of days, my girlfriend was saying she definitely wanted to come back to the island and also to Nautilus. We did have a problem with the refrigerator as it did not work and the freezer was only cold (not quite able to make ice). We reported it and the staff got a repairman there in short order. Unfortunately, he did not fix the problem even after replacing a part and de-icing the evaporator. But, we just kept perishables in the freezer and made do. We are not your typical complainers. As we checked out, we let them know the repairman owes them a completed job.

The location, again is excellent. You could go to other beaches on Barbados but you don't need to. Carlisle Bay has a super beach and you can snorkel right from your room. The walk to Bridgetown is long but doable and if you like to exercise, recommended. And the Oistins Fish Fry is a short bus ride down the road. You can't miss this event on Friday nights!

I would also make sure you take the tours of the Agapey Chocolate Factory (small but impressive) and the Mount Gay Rum bottling plant. These help you get a feel for the Barbados experience and are loads of fun.

We definitely want to return to Barbados and would seriously consider staying at Nautilus again.

Room Tip: Not sure of the room numbers, but ask for a room that faces the ocean. If it's too expensive or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had the most wonderful time at this apartment. The beach was amazing and the service excellent. I definitely would recommend Nautilus to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind thats close enough to all the shopping and nightlife areas in Barbados!!!! Looking forward to my next trip already!!!! Only thing missing was a pool which the beach more than made up for. Big ups to Angie my housekeeper and all rounder Tony. Ms. Betty runs the place very well

Room Tip: Stayed in room 208, best view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I will be honest, it is old but clean. Being in Barbados, my favorite Caribbean island and feeling like being in paradise, I don't mind as long as it is clean (but my daughter who is 15 prefers more modern facilities). First room was very old having not much renovation since the 70', three days later, we changed room and this one was much better. You can not beat the price and the location. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,927 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados
0.2 mi away
Island Inn Hotel
Island Inn Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bridgetown
594 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Beach Apartments

Address: Bay Street | St. Michael, Bridgetown BB11090, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bridgetown
Price Range: £65 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nautilus Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nautilus Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Beach Apartments Hotel Bridgetown
Nautilus Beach Apartments Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing