We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Brown Sugar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Service was slow and without a smile. I went with 3 others and we waited 50 minutes for our food. There was no ambience. The scenery is ok, but atmosphere is lacking. Would benefit from some music. Tables were small and cluttered. The food was mediocre at best. All in all, a terrible dining experience. The worst I have experienced anywhere. Certainly will not visit again or recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Safo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    367
    203
    57
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another little gem in Barbados”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great Bajan food, fantastic atmosphere and attentive service. You're only likely to find this place if you happen to be staying at one of the nearby resorts... the Hilton or I think, the Radisson. Dined here twice as the food at the Hilton wasn't great. And if you're feeling too lazy to go into town, this place won't disappoint as its a 5-minute walk down the road from the Hilton just short of the main road. Great menu, all the traditional dishes cooked to perfection. Go crazy with the grilled prawns and the mahi-mahi fish. Dinner is a-la-carte, but they have a great buffet for lunch, certainly on weekends which is perfect so if you're unfamiliar with the food, you can try lots of different things so you know what you'll really like when ordering off the menu here or at another Bajan restaurant in town. Loved this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eponymousym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cute little restaurant”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Brown sugar was within walking distance of our hotel the Hilton so we came here for lunch one day. The garden that the restaurant is in is just so cute. I loved it. Its buffet style so you can try all the local dishes. My boyfriend got some mystery meat that he was trying to feed me. I asked our waitress what it was and she said pork. I tried it and it had a funny taste. While I was inside I spoke with a man who worked there and asked what this meat was and it was pigs feet!! I almost died. Besides for that the food was delicious. Make sure to check when they are open. When we visited at the end of June they were only open for lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brown Sugar a Bajan Staple”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you go anywhere you must go to a Sunday brunch at Brown Sugar, however anytime is a good time.Typical Bajan at it's best and the saltfish "bol jal" is the best I ever had.Big nights at Brown Sugar lots of fun and food food food

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sevelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place food was ok. ”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The decor of the restaurant is nice. Nice water feature and shrubbery around the place. Busy place as you can expect from a buffet restaurant The food was not bad. Nice taste to certain dishes but Could have had a few more choices to be honest. Slow to respond to emails about reservations too.

Helpful?
Thank TheMysteriousOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Sugar Restaurant also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Brown Sugar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing